We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portofino

The Historic Quay Maritime Avenue | Maritime Avenue, Hartlepool TS24 0XF, England
+44 1429 266166
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good16%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (72 reviews)
“potato skins” (46 reviews)
“chicken” (61 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Historic Quay Maritime Avenue | Maritime Avenue, Hartlepool TS24 0XF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

The food was hot & plentiful .& tasty. Lots of vegetables & roasties. Really good value as well . Plus prompt service. The only negative....the tables are very close together.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Pauline T
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal at Portofino with family.It was a Saturday night,busy with a good atmosphere and the staff were friendly and attentive while also leaving us to enjoy our evening and food.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank I1649UPianf
Noel_Stamp, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear l1649UPianf Thank you for a lovely review of Portofino. Im so happy you dined with us on one of our busy Saturday nights and enjoyed the food and atmosphere to go with it. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks from all...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

Another faultless Sunday lunch. The service was very efficient and quick. Our meal was on the table within about 5 minutes. The Yorkshire puddings were huge and the gravy hot. The vegetables were spot on and the roast lamb was really tasty and plentiful. The...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ct29142018
Noel_Stamp, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear ct29142018 Thank you for a great review of Portofinos Sunday lunch we are so happy that you enjoyed it they are starting to get really popular with customers new and old. Thanks from all the team, Regards Noel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very impressed with the food we had tonight. Fast, friendly service, generous portions and delicious food. The penne carbonara was amazing!!!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Nomad47820263296
Noel_Stamp, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Nomad47820263296 Thank you very much for a lovely review of Portofino, we are so happy that you enjoyed everything especially the penne carbonara. Thanks from all the team, Regards Noel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely staff, great food. Very good prices for a family meal out. Good menu choices. Food came out together, hot and well cooked. Affordable and a pleasant atmosphere too

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Companion09045859725
Noel_Stamp, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Companion09045859725 Thank you for your review of Portofino, We are so happy you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks from all the team, Regards Noel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took my sister and niece who were visiting from Cyprus. They thoroughly enjoyed their experience. Food and service is excellent. Already planned a return visit for her when she comes over again in May.We have been many times, but that was her first visit.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Freedom17482117202
Noel_Stamp, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Freedom17482117202 Thank you for choosing to dine with us at Portofino and leaving us a wonderful review. We are so happy you find us excellent and we look forward to seeing you in May or sooner. Thanks from all the team, Regards Noel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been many times and never disappointed. .had sunday lunch for first time and was gorgeous definately worth it..only critique would be that if having two courses think should be a starter or dessert not just a starter.....

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: November 2018
Thank sallyd727
Noel_Stamp, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear sallyd727 Thank you for another lovely review of Portofino, Thank you for your feed back and we will look forward to seeing you again soon, Regards Noel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Meal was excellent .tha staff very friendly always make you welcome..pleanty places to park .will be back .

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Culture67520329925
Noel_Stamp, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Culture67520329925 Thank you for a lovely review of Portofino, We are very lucky to have so much free parking for our customers, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks from all the team, regards Noel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

4 people all had a great meal in a relaxing environment, 2 tasty courses. staff were very attentive, will return.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ray b
Noel_Stamp, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear ray b Thank you for your review of Portofino, we are so happy that you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to seeing you again soom, Thanks from all the team, Regards Noel

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Once again we went to Portofinos for Sunday Lunch and once again we were not disappointed.Everything was freshly cooked, hot and well presented. My husband decided to have salmon for a change and he said it was cooked to perfection and very tasty. I had...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Dot D
Noel_Stamp, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Dot D Thank you for another review of Portofino. We are over the moon that you love our restaurant and we love having you as customers. Thank you so much for your kind words which i will pass on to the staff. See you...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Hartlepool
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
465 reviews
.34 km away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
1,040 reviews
.36 km away
Hillcarter Hotel
154 reviews
.52 km away
Best Western Grand Hotel
540 reviews
.65 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Sambuca
703 reviews
.47 km away
Baan Thai Restaurant
214 reviews
.47 km away
Thai Village Restaurant
236 reviews
.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
National Museum of the Royal Navy Hartlepool
519 reviews
.25 km away
Hartlepool Quay
275 reviews
.17 km away
Museum of Hartlepool
260 reviews
.05 km away
Island Gems
19 reviews
1.61 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Peter B
July 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Noel_Stamp | Property representative |
Hi Peter unfortunately there is no lift in place at present moment. Having just taken over I have brought the subject up with the landlord and council as to how we go forward as I obviously want access in the future for... More
2
Votes
jackslater1
July 12, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Noel_Stamp | Property representative |
Unfortunately dogs are not allowed unless they are guide dogs. Kind regards Noel
0
Votes
brian s
January 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Krimos | Property representative |
Yes, we do. Happy hour from 5 to 6.30. Check our website.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$31
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 1:45 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 1:45 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 1:45 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 1:45 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 1:45 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Historic Quay Maritime Avenue | Maritime Avenue, Hartlepool TS24 0XF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Hartlepool
  • Phone Number: +44 1429 266166
  • E-mail
Description
Portofino is a bistro-pizzeria on the Historic Quay. It overlooks Hartlepool's most famous attraction, HMS Trincomalee. Surrounded by free car parks, it is the ideal venue for lazy lunchtimes, fast teatime treats and party nights.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing