We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Penhelig Arms

) #3 of 11 Restaurants in Aberdovey $$ - $$$ , British,
27-29 Terrace Road, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
+44 1654 767215
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good24%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“venison” (7 reviews)
“mussels” (14 reviews)
“sea bass” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
27-29 Terrace Road, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from staying a couple of nights at the Penhelig Arms, this is our third time staying here and as usual we thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed in room 3 which we hadn't stayed in before and WOW we loved it. Beautifully decorated and...More

Thank Jill A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here on our second night in Aberdovey and it was a fabulous meal with great service. We had terrible Service at the sea breeze in Aberdovey, so this was a welcome experience. Great choice on the menu. I would definitely recommend and would...More

Thank Hodgepodge16
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Glad to hear that you had a great time with us, it's great to hear the team looked after you so well. We hope to welcome you back soon. Nicola & the team!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've eaten here a few times before, really love this place... Sunday lunch was excellent, nicely cooked and the service warm, friendly and prompt, even though the place was rammed due to the good weather. Looking forward to our next visit.

Thank Letslaminate
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Great to hear that you love the Pen' and had a fantastic visit. We hope to welcome you back soon. Nicola and the Team!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has a bar and a restaurant. We had a relaxed enjoyable dinner in the restaurant. Service was good and the food cooked perfectly except for the vegetables that were overlooked. We both had steaks - my wife like hers "blue" and I medium...More

Thank EAhmad
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Many thanks for your feedback, it's great to hear that you had a enjoyable evening with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate here and we can't say we were over impressed. The service was patchy, the Moroccan lamb cakes were dry and the buttermilk chicken is on a par with a chicken nugget. This place used to be great but is rapidly going down the...More

Thank blueandwhitehoops
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Many thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry that on this occasion we didn't quite get it right. We have recently introduced a new Spring/Summer menu and feedback is gratefully appreciated and passed onto our development team. If you could possibly provide further detail at...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had lunch here outside as the sun was shining. Firstly we struggled putting up the umbrella as both suffering with back problems, on the hottest day so far this year and it being midday it would have bee. good if someone had put up...More

Thank discerningdi
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, Many Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit. I can reassure you that our fishcakes are homemade but will be speaking with the kitchen team regarding your missing items. Our team are...More

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

We turned up without booking early evening on a Wednesday. Most tables were booked but we got one in the bar. Food was good quality and reasonably priced. Staff were friendly and working together well.

Thank Malcolm O
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for your lovely feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us here at the Penhelig. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Reviewed 23 May 2017

Converted fishermen' s cottages so quaint yet smallish rooms. I think there are larger rooms but they were booked up. We are tall so could have done with a larger bed but all in all it was good. The car park is small but you...More

Thank MainStreetMusic
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, Many thanks for your lovely feedback, it's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us at the Penhelig. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Reviewed 20 May 2017

Called in to the penhalig on a lovely evening feeling peckish after a long walk. I was made to feel very welcome and a table in the bar area was found for me and my dog to relax at. I chose a starter and a...More

Thank Jackie C
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for your lovely feedback, It's lovely to hear you both had a relaxing time with us. We hope to welcome you and Oscar back soon!

Reviewed 2 May 2017

We popped into the Penhelig Arms recently and was impressed by the menu and the location, so we decided to book a table for the following day. When we returned the next day, the person who took our booking told us we had booked for...More

1  Thank chrisD2858HZ
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Medina Coffee House
180 reviews
.65 km away
Sea Breeze
355 reviews
.74 km away
The Sweet Shop
104 reviews
.55 km away
Pharoah's Cellar Bar
224 reviews
.65 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aberdovey Golf Club
74 reviews
1.97 km away
Talyllyn Railway
480 reviews
5.53 km away
ArtWorks Aberdyfi
12 reviews
.52 km away
Halo Factory Shop
142 reviews
5.63 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
SusanKor
Hi, We will be visiting Aberdovey in April with friends who have a small poodle! Please could you tell me if dogs are allowed in your restaurant. Regards, Susan.
16 February 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Dianne7342 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, definitely in bar area. Enjoy!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27-29 Terrace Road, Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Snowdonia National Park  >  Aberdovey
  • Phone Number: +44 1654 767215
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing