We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cock and Pheasant

Bollington Cross 15 Bollington Road, Macclesfield SK10 5EJ, England
+44 1625 573289
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“ham hock” (7 reviews)
“parsnips” (5 reviews)
“roast dinner” (6 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bollington Cross 15 Bollington Road, Macclesfield SK10 5EJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice food although have skulls of dead animals on the wall, being a vegetarian I wasn’t very impressed

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank Cruiser12925666686
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Cruiser Thanks for the review and kind comments about the food. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Carl and the team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A family day out which took us to The Cock and Pheasant the pub didn’t appear too busy and the menu looked pretty good. Unfortunately,the garlic flatbread was over done, dry and burnt , calamari was cold. Mains , again dry and overdone , (probably...More

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank kerryjc73
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kerry We're sorry that your recent visit was not up to our usual high standards. I would like to assure you that we take all feedback constructively and I will certainty look into the points you have raised. If you would like to discuss...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from a really lovely night spent at this pub. Nice, clean, modern interior, great menu, friendly, efficient service and tasty food. Couldn't fault anything and will definitely visit again and recommend.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank AngeLP999_12
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Angel Thanks for the recommendation and it's good to hear you had an enjoyable evening with us. I'll be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards Carl and the team

Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch here today and was not impressed with the service at all , a 3 course dinner with an hour between courses and not all dishes came out at the same time , 3 hours is not acceptable and to top it off...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank SWH1962
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Hi there Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry your experience with us was not a positive one. We pride ourselves on the quality of our guests experience and I would like to assure you that we take all feedback constructively and I will...More

Reviewed October 8, 2018

This is a lovely pub and the food is excellent - although a little on the pricey side for what is still a pub.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank hibbfam
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Hello hibbfam, Thank you for leaving this review, we are pleased you had a pleasant experience with us. We hope you’ll visit us again very soon. Kind regards Loren Coleman Assistant Manager

Reviewed October 3, 2018

It is such a shame that so many country pubs are part of a chain. Every one has the same menu but varies in quality. When you see the name of the Brewery you know what the the menu is likely to be, there is...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Carriearl
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Hi Carriearl, Firsty I would like to apologise that your recent visit to us wasn’t to your satisfaction. I want you to know we take all comments and complaints very seriously and they are dealt with within the team. I hope you will visit again...More

Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

The wife and I came for Sunday lunch. I had the Wagyu burger and she had the turkey roast. Greeted on way in and seated at table. Service was fine and food was good. No complaints and a decent choice.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank knighs0
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Hi knighs0 Thanks for the review and kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your experience. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Carl and the team

Reviewed September 20, 2018

Me and my partner found this place 2 years ago and we really enjoyed the intrinsically classy pub food and kept going back, however on our last couple of visits the food has really gone downhill in quality i.e Hunters chicken: dry flavorless and served...More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Barbara R
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Hi Barbara I'm sorry to hear that you haven't enjoyed your recent experiences with us as we take great pride in our food quality and in offering the characteristics for which you have been returning to us over the past 2 years. Please be assured...More

Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Like it here, especially in the summer time... nice food seating areas inside and out. And it can be a little pricey for none alcoholic drinks even. But urgent attention needs to be payed to the play frame for the kids... looking tired... if it...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Andreya8823
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2018

Hi Andreya Thanks for the review and feedback. We're glad you enjoy visiting and we will certainly pay some attention to the play area before next summer, especially as we are now one of the only pubs in the area with this facility for families....More

Reviewed September 6, 2018

We came here with 2 4 year olds due to the playground (it was raining though) Have to say the food was far better than I expected. Had a really bad meal here about 4 years ago, I think it was owned by a different...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Dion S
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Hi Dion Thanks for the review and great comments. Indeed we are under different ownership since your last visit and I'm glad we have regained your confidence. Hopefully next time the weather will be on your side to. Look forward to seeing you again soon....More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Macclesfield
Premier Inn Macclesfield North Hotel
539 reviews
.77 km away
Hollin Hall Hotel
474 reviews
1.39 km away
The Bridge Hotel
379 reviews
1.98 km away
Legh Arms
222 reviews
2.04 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Lord Clyde
290 reviews
.79 km away
The Vale Inn
250 reviews
1.45 km away
Butley Ash
632 reviews
1.27 km away
The Sweet Kitchen Cafe
9 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
White Nancy
73 reviews
.61 km away
Bollington Boats and Bikes
11 reviews
1.01 km away
Bollington Arts Centre
7 reviews
1.41 km away
Bollington Brewing Co. Ltd
6 reviews
1.33 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GavinR168
March 7, 2018|
Answer
Response from RodneyGrandForks | Reviewed this property |
I'm dog friendly, not sure about restaurant, call them and ask !
-1
Votes
honestyrules
September 12, 2015|
Answer
Response from GeneralManagerD1 | Property representative |
Yes we do cater for intolerance and allergies. We have extensive allergen menu's, just ask one of our friendly team.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bollington Cross 15 Bollington Road, Macclesfield SK10 5EJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Macclesfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1625 573289
  • E-mail
Description
Cock & Pheasant in Macclesfield is a country pub oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing