We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Canadian, Bar, Pub, Soups
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
View all details
features, about
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
24
9
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
24
9
2
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed September 26, 2023

Spotless! Friendly. Amazing chowder filled with many kinds of seafood served with a delicious bun baked on the premises.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 24, 2021

I drove 40 km over a dark, moose-infested highway to get a meal because I was travelling and this was the only restaurant that was apparently open. Guess what? They weren't. They were closed hours before their posted closing time (both the bar AND the...restaurant). I called the next day to ask why and was told it was because they changed their hours and didn't update the information online. Gee, thanks. Just glad I didn't hit one of the two moose I encountered trying to get supper at this place.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 1, 2020

Had a great meal. Food was fantastic, great service, clean resturant and beautiful drive along the coast of NL.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lindalc2018, Owner at In Da Loop, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2020

Thank you for dropping into da loop! It was our pleasure to serve you!

Reviewed August 16, 2020

Wife and I stopped for lunch. We both had the bowl of chowder with a roll which was very tasty. Decided we were still a bit hungry and ordered the Loop burger. For a good price it was fresh and home made. Did not have...enough room for the home cut fries unfortunately or tempting dessert list. Pleasant clean atmosphereMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lindalc2018, Owner at In Da Loop, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2020

Thank you! Please come again! It is our pleasure to serve you!

Reviewed September 22, 2019

Can't judge a book by it's cover --- entered this place and was so surprised by the lovely interior! Really a nice layout - bar area with pool tables in the ample front room and restaurant in the back room. We had a delicious meal...here!! Will most definitely go back to In Da Loop when back in the area!!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda L C, Owner at In Da Loop, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2019

Thank you for your comment! We aim to please and welcome your return!

Reviewed September 15, 2019

We were on a weekend getaway and dropped in to In The Loop for a bite to eat.We ordered chicken and taters and it was the best that I have eaten.Sad thing is that now I want it again and it's so far away.I think...they should set up another restaurant on the south coast!More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

The fries were homemade,with homemade gravy were hot and fresh, the burger, tasty and juicy, not dry and the apple pie was homemade and had the best, flakiest crust!!!!

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda L C, Owner at In Da Loop, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to comment ! It means so much to us!

Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch on our way back towards St. John's after a night in Trepassey. GREAT SPOT! Linda, an owner and builder of this restautant, has a terrific establishment serving up wonderfully fresh and locally sourced meals. I had a delicious bowl of chowder...and a chicken ceasar salad and others in our party had the fish. Well, everyone LOVED the pan fried cod and said it tasted like it had been caught not more than a few hours prior. If you're travelling along the Irish Loop in Newfoundland, doesn't matter which direction, be sure to add a stop in Fermusse for a meal at In Da Loop. You won't be disappointed!More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda L C, Owner at In Da Loop, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

Thank you for your kind remarks and recommendations! It is our pleasure to serve nice people such as yourself!

Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

We were touring along the coast when we spotted In Da Loop and decided to stop in for lunch. I have to say we were quite surprised at how large it was inside. Lots of seating and I would guess a hopping spot from time...to time. My husband had a hot turkey dinner, his cousin a hot turkey sandwich, his cousins a wife a clubhouse and I had a grilled cheese. It was all delicious! Service was excellent and she was more that willing to tell us a little about the place when we asked. Great spot!More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda L C, Owner at In Da Loop, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Thank you! We appreciate the opportunity to serve you!

Reviewed July 19, 2019

Had the pan fried seafood platter, with cod scallops and shrimp. Everything was cooked to perfection. Nothing fancy, but the flavour of fresh seafood, properly cooked, spoke for itself. Service was very good.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda L C, Owner at In Da Loop, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

Thank you! Very much appreciated!

Reviewed June 1, 2019

While in Bay Bulls, a nice women suggested that while on our way to Trepassey (Irish Loop) we stop by In Da Loop for a chowder. Bang on, me missus. First, we met the owners Linda and Denise who made us feel so welcome. Then,...we had a bowl of the best chowder you may ever eat, and fish and chips with dressing and gravy. How do I drive after this? So good, best fish after 3 feeds on the Rock. Also met Harold the cook who is retired after 35 yrs in the service. What a find for the owners. We started our trip again, but turned back and the place was full when we drove by. Missed the jiggs dinner by one day, I bet its excellent. This place is worth the drive from St John's no matter how much of the Irish Loop you choose to do. Lunch for 2, coffee. tip 32$ Wow.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda L C, Owner at In Da Loop, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Thank you! It is always our pleasure to serve nice people!!

Reviewed March 30, 2019 via mobile

My sister & I did the Irish loop on a whim, we decided to stop in to In Da Loop for a look at the menu & possible stay for supper. When walked into the front of the building which is the bar area as...we didn’t realize there was a separate entrance for the restaurant. We were the only ones there at the time but it started to fill up as we were leaving. The building itself is lovely, you can tell it was very well cared for. Exceptionally clean. I had seafood chowder, it was good, could be a little meatier but was satisfying. The roll served with seemed like it wasn’t fresh, maybe frozen & thawed. I had the wings made with in house batter & found them good. My sister had the burger & fries. She enjoyed both. She ordered a side of gravy but neither of us enjoyed the gravy. If in the area would definitely go back & try more things.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda L C, Owner at In Da Loop, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

Thank you! If you come back and don’t enjoy your gravy let us know! We appreciate constructive criticism.

Reviewed August 23, 2018

Friendly atmosphere good food, excellent service and good price Clean and comfortable place to sit and relax and chat with local peoples

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda L C, Owner at In Da Loop, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

Thank you! It’s our pleasure to serve you good, fresh food! I will thank our staff!

Reviewed August 22, 2018

We had a very good typical Newfoundland meal at this restaurant and because it was raining so hard, we decided to move into the bar area. They had live entertainment and dancing and a great opportunity to win at Chase the Ace. Nice to find...a place with so much to offer in an area where there weren't many options. Loved it.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Seafood Chowder was basically milk and fish stock thickened with flour (dare i say there was some cream in there too? ) with some bits of cod skin, a few smaller bits of grey cod flesh, and flecks of carrot. Buns had been removed from...freezer and heated up in microwave, making them tough and tasteless. Had indigestion for hours. Staff most pleasant though. Nice cold lemon water served. Too bad.....because a good restaurant is needed along this strip.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda L C, Owner at In Da Loop, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Thank you for your comments regarding our Seafood Chowder. We are somewhat dismayed by your review because firstly , we use no milk in our chowder and our stock is made up of combination of crab, shrimp, scallops, and filleted / de-boned cod from a...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Celtic Rendezvous Cottages
54 reviews
8.03 km away
Bears Cove Inn
66 reviews
35.92 km away
The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites
112 reviews
38.22 km away
Edge Of The Avalon Inn
238 reviews
40.55 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ferryland Picnics
76 reviews
9.13 km away
Riverside Restaurant & Lounge
13 reviews
13.09 km away
Fork
69 reviews
30.89 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
MerryMeeting
6 reviews
6.13 km away
Lighthouse Picnics
225 reviews
9.05 km away
A Wilder Experience
25 reviews
12.58 km away
La Manche Provincial Park
49 reviews
27.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Barbara N
August 20, 2017|
Answer
Response from Pam B | Reviewed this property |
According to their website: Sunday through Wednesday, 10:00 AM until 9:00 PM; Thursday through Saturday, 10:00 AM until 10:00 PM.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

IN DA LOOP, Fermeuse - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about In Da Loop

Yes, In Da Loop offers takeaway services.

In Da Loop is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5