We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Heart

) #3 of 11 Restaurants in Winterbourne $$ - $$$ , British,
Down Road | Winterbourne Down, Winterbourne BS36 1AU, England
+44 1454 774392
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible12%
2 days ago
“A lovely relaxed girly lunch.”
4 weeks ago
“Cracking Sunday Lunch!”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Down Road | Winterbourne Down, Winterbourne BS36 1AU, England
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We have visited the Golden Heart before and we enjoyed this lunch too. I had booked for 5 adults and 3 babies and a large table with high chairs was ready for us. The staff were all friendly and efficient. We all had the 2...More

Thank Sheilambutcher
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took family from overseas to the Golden Heart after their first day in Bristol. We were pleasantly surprised by the changes made in the pub since a previous visit. Though the pub always had a good reputation we were introduced to the pub landlord who...More

Thank Tasha S
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Tasha, thank you for the high star rating! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place was so good but has deteriorated drastically in the past few months. We were frequent visitors here at one point but won't be returning. Service is incredibly slow, they clearly take too many booking, So much so they can't deal with all the...More

Thank sharon c
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sharon C, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. Kind Regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently refurbished the decor and general feel to the place is great. The food was really good, recommend the chocolate ball desert that you pour hot toffee sauce into. Not cheap but you're paying for quality.

Thank James B
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

James B, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited this pub last week, car park was full ( a good sign) Staff friendly, nice atmosphere and a very nicely cooked Sunday lunch. Not many places do justice to our national dish, but this one does. Give the carvery a miss and try this...More

Thank JH1_11
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Golden Heart! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We visited The Golden Heart on advice or people that live in the area, it was a Sunday and the restaurant was fully booked - though during our time there were quite a few seats/tables empty. We had to sit in the bar area, which...More

Thank Wayne E
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wayne E, we work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience.

Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

We had dinner here on Saturday night. I'm not sure if the place was short staffed but service was very slow. The car park was only half full and the waitress was friendly and helpful, she just seemed to have an awful lot to do....More

Thank MarcusHurley
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the positive review!

Reviewed 6 May 2017

Nice pub and staff, but food quality and quantity has dropped since we last visited. Very long wait for order to be taken and waits between courses. Shame food standards have dropped hence we have to give it a poor rating. Hope things improve as...More

Thank greenmodelmonkey
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one.

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Went here last night for my husbands birthday. 3rd visit. 4 of us. VERY busy but not enough staff so very slow service. Food wasn't the best either. I had a rib-eye steak which was over cooked and my sons starter (crab/lobster dish wasn't nice....More

Thank kacj70
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve.

Reviewed 29 April 2017

Living locally, we have been to The Golden Heart several times in recent years and before it was modernised and refurbished. However, in our last 2 visits, we have had such slow service it has taken the pleasure away from the event and detracted from...More

Thank Karen B
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Hi Karen, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Thank you for leaving feedback. .

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The White Horse
80 reviews
1.68 km away
Avenue Cafe
107 reviews
2.42 km away
The Swan Inn
77 reviews
2.06 km away
The Rising Sun Frampton Cotterell
68 reviews
2.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
Viaduct Animal Sanctuary
5 reviews
1.06 km away
The Rising Sun
32 reviews
2.31 km away
Pirate Bay Adventure Golf
69 reviews
3.10 km away
Acton Court
6 reviews
4.65 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Golden Heart staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Down Road | Winterbourne Down, Winterbourne BS36 1AU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Winterbourne
  • Phone Number: +44 1454 774392
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing