We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pier House Restaurant

Charlestown Road | Harbour Front, Charlestown, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
+44 1726 67955
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good31%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“seafood pancake” (22 reviews)
“jambalaya” (10 reviews)
“curry” (12 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Charlestown Road | Harbour Front, Charlestown, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017

We visited here a couple of days ago, whilst staying,and were really pleasantly surprised by the friendly, knowledgeable and very professional attitude from the bar man on duty that evening. Unfortunately we didn't get his name, but he made our trip ! From advising on...More

Thank Suzi197
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Many thanks for your review. Please be assured we will pass the message onto the barman that served you. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Reviewed 18 October 2017

The food was excellent, well cooked, very tasty and beautifully presented. The vegetables were obviously freshly cooked. Good choiice of wine. The only disappointment was the limited choise of sweets. A very enjoyable evening served by very pleasant staff

Thank Hilary D
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Many thanks for the 5* feedback provided following recent visit, it is always pleasing to receive positive feedback regarding the customer service provided. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your in Charlestown.

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Great looking and lovely outside area but too Windy for us on the day of our visit. Bar is cozy and friendly and menu looked fab but had no time to try - jambalaya looked to be top favourite listening to locals giving recommendations to...More

Thank Jintyfyfe88
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, we do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

What a fabulous place to have lunch, sat outside in the autumn sun with good well kept beer, a delicious piping hot lasagne and an incredible view of the tall ships in the harbour. Friendly staff too, can’t wait to return.

1  Thank Lee K
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Many thanks for your lovely lunch review, we are pleased you were able to sit outside and enjoy the view with us! We are looking forward to your return.

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We visited Charlestown to see the tall ships and go to the heritage centre. Decided to have some lunch whilst there. This lovely pub is perfectly situated on the edge of the harbour with beautiful views. The food was absolutely delicious with possibly the best...More

Thank candicefarr
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Many thanks for the feedback provided following recent visit. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding the customer service and we are also so glad you like the new interior. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

I came here for dinner as the restaurant where I was staying was closed. The food was delicious and plentiful; it was a pity I couldn’t manage it all. The staff were very friendly. I would come back here.

Thank Alison F
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Reviewed 30 September 2017

We ate here last week in the restaurant and I cant fault any thing that came to our table it was all delicious our starters were the seafood cocktail with crab x2 and the muscles both lovely couldnt choose between them . mains 2x serloin...More

Thank louSouthYorks
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thank you for you 5* review, it is always pleasing to read such positive feedback regarding all aspects of your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 30 September 2017

Havn`t eaten there since last year, my god what a deterioration the food was very poor x2 scampi and chips, both over cooked chips like bullets ,x1 lasagne very dry, and seafood pancake which was tastless and chips over cooked, by 7pm they had already...More

1  Thank Tracey450
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We booked for a family group evening meal but choose the restaurant in the Hotel and ended up in the more expensive one but saying that if the food is as good in the other areas your in for a treat. The service as you...More

Thank cheapo2
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. We do hope to see you back here very soon!

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Shot in hear mainly to get out of a rain storm,glad we did. Very friendly staff may be a bit cramped at some tables but not a problem we had a great chat with 3 American ladies.sharing our table.We had sandwiches with a side of...More

1  Thank pedro4pedro
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for you 5* review, it is always pleasing to read such positive feedback regarding all aspects of your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Longstore Steaks & Seafood
353 reviews
.08 km away
Old Kerrow Farm Park
5 reviews
1.00 km away
Charlie's Coffee House
283 reviews
.31 km away
Wreckers
1,322 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Charlestown Shipwreck & Heritage Centre
1,109 reviews
.18 km away
Roche Rock & Hermitage
30 reviews
1.00 km away
The Harbourside Inn
59 reviews
.03 km away
Atishoo Gallery
19 reviews
.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mrsbeckiboo
6 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from hadleigh47 | Reviewed this property |
I am sure that dogs are let in to the public bar area. The public bar is very pleasant and cosy by the way with lovely views of harbour and coast.
0
Votes
niceone2
27 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Bodelva | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, not sure. You would be best ringing the Pier house for exact information. Good luck Richard
1
Vote
Tim7P
14 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Elizabeth F | Reviewed this property |
No dogs inside, but ok in the outside area. The harbour side, next door and same owner, allow dogs inside.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Charlestown Road | Harbour Front, Charlestown, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Austell  >  Charlestown
  • Phone Number: +44 1726 67955
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The Pier House Hotel
Description
The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant in St Austell Cornwall is situated on the picturesque harbour of Charlestown with stunning views of the port and coastline of St Austell bay.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing