We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Church Road, Dodleston CH4 9NG, England
+44 1244 661636
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 248: English reviews
Deeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived early our mothers day meal. On the off chance we could be squeezed in (there were only two of us) asked at the bar only to be told we would have to wait for our slot which was fair enough. Some twenty minutes after our slot had came and gone I went to the bar, which was a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Getsabout2013
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Red Lion, Dodleston and we hope to see you again soon. If you wish, you can book online via our website which will avoid further disappointment or you can call us if you prefer 01244661636 More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I like Vintage Inns and 3 of us called for lunch. I choose the fixed 2 course lunch and the Pub menu says Ham & Eggs, but my food turned up with one egg. I queried this and was told the small portion has one egg. If that was so why put eggs on the menu? I looked at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin D
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Colin, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

A group of 9 of us visited on Friday evening. The setting is nice enough, although we felt it was slightly cramped. Because we were such a big group, we felt we were placed in a corner, and that meant getting in and out of the table for half of the group meant disturbing other diners, which is slightly uncomfortable.... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and I will discuss with my team as we are passionate about keeping children happy. Hopefully next time you visit we can be restore your faith in us and you have not just a good visit but a great visit. Regards, Sue General Manager More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Table of 8 booked for a birthday meal. Arrived at 7:30, food didn't arrive until 9pm. The restaurant was Not full. The food arrived at various times. I had finished my meal before some meals had arrived. 2 friends ordered the chicken and portobello mushroom pizza. They had sold out of the tomato base so we were offered garlic and... More 

Helpful?
Thank christophhhhhhh
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Hi Christopher, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Red Lion, Dodleston take our reviews very seriously. We all tried to rectify the issues you had and are disappointed you left unhappy as this is not usually the case. The team had worked extremely hard that night as every table was booked out and walk... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

My mum and i were passing at tea time as we live not far from there and decided to pop in. Have been here before many years ago though!! Once in there it had a makeover since we were last there and it has been done out nice, and gave a great feel of being warm and cosy to, as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Jenny. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Red Lion, Dodleston. Please call in again soon, Sue & The Red Lion Team look forward to seeing you. More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great food. Really good value and the best cheese and onion I've ever had. Reasonable prizes and very good food

Helpful?
Thank Carole K
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Carole K. We hope to see you again soon Regards, Sue & Team Red More 

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good atmosphere,nice meal friendly staff visited on a Saturday night so took a little longer but to be expected. Will go again.

Helpful?
Thank grahamharris52
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback and for understanding service times vary. Please call again soon, Sue & The Red Lion Team More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visiting friends in the area and needed a place to eat. What a find, good and welcoming staff, excellent food and service. Lots of special deals and promotions, well worth a visiting.

Helpful?
Thank john68130
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, John. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Red Lion, Dodleston. The team are a credit to us. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Sue Hughes, General Manager More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

First ever visit. Smashing little pub with excellent service. Polite, attentive waiter and fab choice of food and wines. Between us two of us had scampi and one of us opted for ham, egg and chips. Super generous portion of thick cut ham,absolutely delicious all round! Can't understand the negative reviews we loved it!!

Helpful?
Thank lindsay f
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Lindsay. We hope to see you and many more like you again soon. Kind regards from the The Red Lion Team More 

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2017

Had a fabulous fillet steak, sticky duck salad was superb and service was excellent. Why would you go anywhere else!

Helpful?
Thank Paula_Ledsham
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Paula. See you again soon Sue & all the Red Lion Team More 

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

 
Higher Kinnerton, Flintshire
 
Rossett, Wrexham
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Road, Dodleston CH4 9NG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Dodleston
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 661636
Description
Take an off the beaten track location in Dodleston, a menu bursting with fresh seasonal dishes and a cellar full of real ales and fine wines and you have the ingredients for the perfect country pub and restaurant. It's a winning formula of traditional mixed with a few contemporary touches that makes The Red Lion a special place to visit.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Red Lion and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Chester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Red Lion staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?