We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tavern at Tansley

Nottingham Road, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5FR, England
+44 1629 57735
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
3 days ago
“Love pub and great home cooked food”
6 days ago
“Very good well presented food”
Closed Now
All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
$$ - $$$
Nottingham Road, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5FR, England
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Where do I start. 4 of us went for Sunday lunch. They set a table for 3. 3 beef dinners and 1 lamb ordered. They got mixed up and we had to send them back. The miserable curly haired waitress with fake eyebrows was leaning...More

Thank mickmand
Reviewed 3 days ago

You could not ask for better food lovely home cooked food everything fresh and lots of it ,the price is good not over expensive a price to fit anyone's pocket . You must give it a try .

Thank kevinweir
Reviewed 6 days ago

My Wife and I eat here whilst on holiday. Food very good, good value and well presented with the extra little touches that make it just that bit more interesting. Who would normally think on a rectangular desert plate of putting four Malteasers on the...More

Thank TravellerClif
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's the second time I've visited the tavern and it never fails to disappoint, the staff are so friendly and attentive. The meals were again superb. We will definitely be back

Thank Sean B
Reviewed 1 week ago

This pub was recommended to us by the owners of the cottage we were staying in. We booked a table for early evening and were delighted with the standard of food on offer. The menu did not disappoint, and the portions were more than adequate....More

1  Thank Barbara048
simon w, Owner at The Tavern at Tansley, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review,we are glad you enjoyed your visit,and hope to see you agin soon👍

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited there this Sunday lunchtime. A lot of money was spent refurbishing this pub a couple of years ago so it seems all the more surprising that the customer service today was very mediocre. We entered the pub and although there were staff behind...More

Thank TheGoodsons
simon w, Owner at The Tavern at Tansley, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had to wait a whole 3 minutes to be served,but as you can appreciate we was very busy,,with regards to me not saying good afternoon sir ,how can I help you I find a little bit arrogant and stuck up,if someone said...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were regulars however at xmas a voucher was purchased for us as a gift for a £60 meal, by family members as we enjoyed it in there however this voucher was misplaced over the xmas excitement so I called to see if we could...More

Thank Lefty B
simon w, Owner at The Tavern at Tansley, responded to this review

First of all we did call you and speak to you with regards to this,it seems the vouchers in the name purchased have been used,now unsure if you are trying it on or someone else has used them,but we are not prepared to give a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed a birthday celebration meal with the family at the weekend. The staff were so helpful and the food was amazing. We pre-booked the food and everything was perfect and nothing too much trouble.A big thank you to all the staff.

Thank CheshireWrinklies
simon w, Owner at The Tavern at Tansley, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments,we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had driven by on several occasions but never called in, but on this occasion we were pleasantly surprised. We had a little bit of a wait but it was worth while the food was cooked to order and the quality was very good. The...More

Thank Julie W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Please give our thanks to the manager and waitress that looked after us during our visit. Exceptional service from start to finish. My friends and I were greeted at the door by a polite young man named Liam. It was so refreshing to be looked...More

Thank Cm0128
Nearby Restaurants
The Gate Inn
385 reviews
.68 km away
Matlock Gurkha Inn
110 reviews
.21 km away
Highlands Cafe & Restaurant
83 reviews
1.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Scotland Nurseries Garden Centre Gift Shop
84 reviews
1.60 km away
Lea Green Development Centre
7 reviews
2.17 km away
Heights of Abraham
2,289 reviews
2.74 km away
The Tavern At Tansley
43 reviews
.01 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Hello Simon w., I noticed your response to my negative posting regarding the very poor service we experience in you pub/ restaurant on Friday. I think you may have been misinformed by your staff, if indeed they provided you with any feedback. In think this posting is the first really negative posting I have given in the many years I have used Tripadvisor, I do not criticise lightly. The facts were. We arrived before 12.45 and order two drinks, a TT Landlord and a lager. I asked the barman if sandwiches were avaiable as most patrons were eating hot meals. I was told they were available but I could expect a wait of 10 or 15 minutes as the same kitchen staff prepared all food. I said we would wait as we were not in a hurry, and we sat at the table set for four between the fire and the window. There were no objections from your staff as to our choice, infact there were a number of empty tables including the long table set for 6 or people under the large wall map. A few minutes later your waitress came over, whilst giving a nearby party's dog a plate of biscuits (the other long table under the wall map) She said it would be at least 20 or 30 minutes before she could give us a menu. We were still unconcerned by this length of delay. At no time was it mentioned by her, or the Barman that any tables had been prebooked, or our choice of table was premature or inappropriate. I then logged onto you free wifi at 12.52 according to my phone log, accessed your website and checked out your menu. We proposed to order a Posh Fish finger sandwich, and a Tavern Club sandwich when your waitress was ready. Just after 1.00pm my wife went to the toilet, which was down at the opposite end of the bar to the right. As she went through the narrow bar area the young family arrived and sat at the tall rough table opposite the till. I went to the toilet, ten minutes later and passed the young family who were still sat at the rough table. We continued to nurse our drinks, and watch the other diners eat. At 1.30 give or take five minutes, your waitress went into the bar area and invited the young family to the empty long table under the map wall buy the fire and gave them a menu. At that point we decided to leave, I was driving and had no wish to order a further beer with a sandwich, given we had been overlooked and still had not been offered a menu. I could have accepted the situation had we been told that service would be difficult because of prebookings. We would not have taken a table had we been asked to sit in the bar area (as I presume the young family were). The restaurant did not seem especially busy, and during our visit a number of tables were empty and remained so. Looking at your responses given to others who have attempted to offer critisism, you feel you receive a number of false/fictitious negative postings and are sometimes dismissive of others. I urge you to welcome all postings, especially from regular users of Tripadviser such as myself, it can only make you stronger and dare I say identify weaknesses in your business. Regards Bob
5 March 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from JUDITH W | Reviewed this property |
Yes, this man does not take criticism well! You only have to look at the car park where two spaces are assigned to "Directors" to see what sort of a total ****** he is. Like you, I rarely criticise on TA and always look for... More
Ann M
Are dogs allowed in the bar? 😃
19 August 2016|
Answer Show all 9 answers
Response from simon w | Property representative |
Yes that are allowed in the bar area🐶
Heather T
We have been frequent visitors to the Tavern at Tansley prior to the new Management and are very impressed with the stylish refurbishment and atmosphere of the new Tavern. The food is good quality and plentiful and the staff quite friendly and attentive. The one complaint my husband and myself have is that on the last couple of visits we have found it difficult to hold a conversation due to the quite loud and intrusive 'background' music (what could only be described as a kind of Motown Funk of that era) and probably on a loop as it persisted for the hour and a half we were there. Might I suggest a more appropriate choice may be something more up to date and gentler on the ear or at least more variety, as most of the clientele are possibly either local or of more mature years. Even younger people would not relate to that kind of music. Instead of coming away feeling satisfied with the food and relaxed, it was something to endure and not enjoy. Hoping the Management will take this on board as it might certainly defer us from coming so frequently or bringing guests to such a lovely Tavern.
6 May 2015|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$7 - US$26
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 00:00
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Nottingham Road, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5FR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Matlock  >  Tansley
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 57735
  • E-mail