We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart

Rye Road, Newenden TN18 5PN, England
+44 1797 252166
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (14 reviews)
“egg chips” (2 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
British, Pub, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Rye Road, Newenden TN18 5PN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pass this pub every day and never stopped but on Saturday myself and my wife did and we are pleased to have stopped great little pub very friendly from walking in to leaving good selection of beer and larger And the food was out of...More

Thank John R
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your glowing review, we hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was on a Beer Festival day, and so as a avid Ale drinker 'I'm in' The kegs is the garden were wonderful, as was the entertainment, but as this is a restaurant review. Well, just wished id listened to the wife, (we had a...More

Thank Andrew F
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It was our Beer & Music Festival weekend and it's good to hear you enjoyed the real ales on offer. Disappointed to read your review of the food. We are well known for our Sunday Roast for quality, portion size and price. The cod was...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The pub is very nicely decorated inside (it got a full make over after a flood earlier this year), but on a sunny day, we were out in the spacious garden. The Sunday lunch menu (served all day, good value) had the usual roasts (very...More

1  Thank Neil C
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we hope to welcome you back soon!

Reviewed 14 July 2017

After deciding to cancel a pre chosen pub, we thought we would give the White Hart a try again as the menu looked interesting. The previous experience some years ago was good. However, this time was very different. My wife chose a Haddock and Prawn...More

Thank Peeddoor
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am obviously disappointed to read your review. I have addressed the issue regarding the telephone number which is now at the top of the home page and will ensure that it has a more prominent position on all other pages. I did absolutely all...More

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

This is an excellent pub and my grandparents come here a lot as they're local. Our family stayed over and had a wonderful time - great food. The rooms are ok, clean and nicely presented. Some rooms don't have towel rails and they would also...More

Thank seanchapman
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent family celebrations here. I feel I do have to defend our breakfast though! We offer guests cereals and juice, then they are asked to choose from our breakfast menu. One of the choices is the Full English...More

Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

This was our third visit over the past couple of years and as usual the food was good pub grub, if not spectacular. We had the cheese and leek quiche and the bacon and cheese burger which were both well cooked and well presented. However...More

Thank Howard W
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I am sorry for the delay in service but my team were courteous and communicative from the very beginning. I'm glad you found your food to be well cooked and well presented. I really do hope that you will come...More

Reviewed 4 June 2017

We vivted this restaurant on speck when we were staying in the area and it turned out to be a good choise.We were welcomed without an appointment and as we entered the locals spoke to us and made us feel at home. The restaurant was...More

Thank poyz533
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Lovely to hear that you were glad you dropped in whilst in the area and enjoyed a pleasant night out. We pride ourselves on being a proper village pub and our locals are very friendly and welcoming, something that we love and is often commented...More

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

We visited over the May bank holiday. Which maybe the reason for our lack lustre experience. Highlights. Location and Garden. Beer was great and the couple of wines we tried were good quality and enjoyable. It was the food that let down the experience. Number...More

2  Thank Peter_Cambridge
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you for your review, good to hear that you found our location, large garden, beer and wines to your liking. The bank holiday was incredibly busy and at the time of your visit some items had unfortunately sold out. I wonder if you brought...More

Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Came here for dinner with friends. The pub is a nice country pub with a lovely garden. That's the niceties done! The young male waiters are lack lustre and clearly do not want to be there. Before ordering our food we were told that there...More

2  Thank familyford123
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Firstly, thank you for your opening comments, we pride ourselves on being a traditional village inn and as you point out have a fabulous garden (soon to be made even better by the arrival of new children's play equipment) which is the perfect venue for...More

Reviewed 11 May 2017

Went here recently for an evening meal with friends. Great food! Recommend the scotch egg starter.. delicious. Not bad value too. Bonus! Only small niggle was service a bit hit and miss, expected early in the evening when busy but didn't really improve as it...More

1  Thank Paula L
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it's great to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your evening. I will of course look into your comments regarding service as we always aim to provide warm, friendly and efficient service. Thanks again...More

Nearby Restaurants
Lime Wharf Cafe
117 reviews
.23 km away
Sahebs Indian Restaurant
134 reviews
1.49 km away
Rose & Crown
9 reviews
3.76 km away
The Bull Inn
238 reviews
4.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bodiam Boating Station
151 reviews
.26 km away
Great Dixter House & Gardens
453 reviews
2.58 km away
Oxney Organic Estate
12 reviews
3.69 km away
Bodiam Castle
1,454 reviews
5.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Dave W | Reviewed this property |
Dog friendly with big garden as well no dogs in dinning room though
Ruth G
20 February 2017|
Response from Paul V | Reviewed this property |
Apparently they had a burst water main flood and had to close temporarily. Suggest you call them to find out latest info 01797252166
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Drinks, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
12:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rye Road, Newenden TN18 5PN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Newenden
  • Phone Number: +44 1797 252166
A traditional village inn situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing