We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oxford Arms

Troy Lane | 10 Mins From Bicester Shopping Village, Kirtlington OX5 3HA, England
+44 1869 350208
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good22%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
European, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Troy Lane | 10 Mins From Bicester Shopping Village, Kirtlington OX5 3HA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2018

We met friends here for dinner - generally, a well prepared and delivered meal - we were, slightly puzzled by the potted shrimps - as they arrived 'unpotted' - a deconstructed form of presentation that was different! The game salad was almost a meal in...More

Thank Resurgam20
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We came here for lunch after a walk along the Oxford canal - and what a good lunch we had. The food was excellent. I chose the confit of duck, which came with a beautifully crisp skin and succulent flesh, and was one of the...More

3  Thank WardenRon
Save your favourites!Keep track of your top restaurant finds.
Save now
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

First off the Oxford Arms deserves our thanks for being the only place nearby open on a Monday night in January. But the Oxford Arms far exceeded our expectations. Cozy ambience, extensive menu choices, good wine list and beer selection, attentive service. The food itself...More

4  Thank Mark16
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We all had amazing food at the Oxford Arms and served by happy friendly staff even the Chef came and spoke to us afterwards. We loved the atmosphere and the log burner was so welcome on a cold night. I think for a village pub...More

1  Thank Gwynethofglos
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Not many places locally even offer a Christmas Day lunch so I was not surprised to find the Oxford Arms fully booked for the occasion. We have had a very poor Christmas Day lunch in Standlake some years ago, so I was very pleased last...More

1  Thank FinnladyOxford
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Very highly overpriced. For example- £15 for what was described as a large plate of smoked salmon with bread- was in fact just a starter portion, with a couple of crusts. What made it worse was the waitress saying it was large when she served...More

4  Thank CulinaryGem
TheOxfordArms, Owner at The Oxford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

What a strange review... We do not serve smoked salmon with ‘crusts’, and our portions are rarely complained about. However, as you have indicated, we are a friendly lot here and would have been pleased to give you more or swap for another dish if...More

Reviewed 20 December 2017

Had not been to the Oxford Arms for a few years, went on Monday for a Christmas catch up with a small group. Was delighted to find that not much had changed, it still have great charm, great staff and excellent food. We were not...More

3  Thank RobandDavina
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Push the curtain at the entrance to one side. Don't let the heat from the log fire escape. But feel the warmth of the staff and the locals as we strangers are greeted by all. A drink or two. Then into the menu. The home-made...More

3  Thank Peter J
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Have visited the oxford arms for lunch with a group of friends and have to say for a “gastro pub” was a little disappointed especially after the good reviews on trip advisor. The food did not live up to expectations although the waitress was very...More

7  Thank smmitp
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Oxfordshire has a lot of pubs - real country pubs with limited menus, and attractive gastropubs with little or no local atmosphere. The Oxford Arms combines the authenticity of a local, with the menu of a gastropub. Set in the delightful village of Kirtlington, a...More

2  Thank The Format Doct... D
Nearby HotelsSee all Kirtlington Hotels
The Dashwood Hotel
237 reviews
.19 km away
The Manor
670 reviews
3.66 km away
Best Western The Jersey Arms Hotel
35 reviews
5.32 km away
Bicester Hotel Golf and Spa
984 reviews
5.67 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Batch
28 reviews
2.11 km away
Gardiner Arms
12 reviews
2.29 km away
The Milk Shed
285 reviews
3.95 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kirtlington Golf Club
16 reviews
2.18 km away
Willowbrook Farm
22 reviews
3.19 km away
The Old FlightHouse
19 reviews
3.23 km away
Rousham House & Garden
119 reviews
5.29 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
5 April 2017|
Response from Bryn J | Property representative |
Dear LME37, Yes, if your dog is well behaved and on a lead. Have you booked a table? Thanks, The Oxford Arms
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$11 - US$49
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 8:45 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 8:45 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 8:45 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:30 p.m. - 8:45 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Troy Lane | 10 Mins From Bicester Shopping Village, Kirtlington OX5 3HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Kirtlington
  • Phone Number: +44 1869 350208
  • E-mail
The Oxford Arms is an award-winning dining pub in Oxfordshire run by Chef Patron Bryn Jones since 2003. We are situated 10 mins from Bicester Shopping Village. Reservations are highly recommended. Gluten free and vegetarian menus available.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing