We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

) #6 of 17 Restaurants in Welwyn $$ - $$$ , British,
Digswell Hill, Welwyn AL6 9AJ, England
+44 1707 299342
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“duck salad” (7 reviews)
“ham” (7 reviews)
“pie” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Digswell Hill, Welwyn AL6 9AJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Visit this bar to meet up with friends and family. +: Delicious and fresh food. Nice drink. Nice ambience. Huge back garden. You can bring along your dog. Price for drinks i would say cheap. Price for food, it's fair with the quality. -: If...More

Thank Pua K
Reviewed 6 days ago

Have visited the Red Lion an special occasions Birthdays, Anniversary's and Christmas meal. On every visit we have had the best service from all the staff. The food has always been what we expected and great value for money considering the location and service that...More

Thank Dennis W
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dennis, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Red Lion, Welwyn! It was a pleasure to make your wife's birthday a memorable experience. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. The Red Lion Management Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We returned after experiencing one exciting freshly cooked lunch a few months ago and our expectations were fully fulfilled once again. Excellent menu selection and variety of ingredients used - got an excellent vote from all 6 of us. The service was pleasant and helpful...More

Thank mikehorne2017
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mike, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! We cant wait to welcome you back soon. The Red Lion Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Over priced not brilliant service food not very hot, staff makes silly excuses when moaned about the Guinness been a landlord for 10 years i know a bit about the perfect Guinness will not be going back

1  Thank inness
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Inness, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Brought the wrong opened bottle of wine three times (how much must that have cost them?). Just shoved in the ice bucket each time and never poured. Overcooked lamb instead of rare. We were in a cut off seating area and hardly saw any staff....More

1  Thank AliMar24
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. This certainly not the experience we wanted you to have, we encourage our guests to tell us if they are dissatisfied in any way so we...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and i visited today for lunch today. Lovely decorated pub and restaurant but disappointed to say the least. I ordered the fish finger sandwich,which turned out to be 3 small pieces of fish in batter on ciabatta bread. This came with a small...More

1  Thank joe and claire m
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Joe And Claire M, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. we were extremely busy this lunchtime as our garden was full, we are sorry you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It is clear that substantial investment has been made to the interior of the Red Lion, unfortunately the same can not be said for the garden. Despite the adjacent A1 and subsequent noise, no effort has been made to make the garden inviting. The grass...More

1  Thank Julian C
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Julian C, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. We are in the process of restyling our garden but this takes time, we hope you see an improvement in...More

Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Went there on 10. June at 15:00h The pub was busy, but not many staff. Those present were friendly and tried their best. The food tasted good, but in comparison to the price the amount one got was not right. e.g. Two 5*2 cm slices...More

2  Thank 4hendricks
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. unfortunately there is not much that can be done about the motorway noise. we are happy to hear you found our team...More

Reviewed 10 June 2017

Had lunch here today, the guy who served us (probably older than my mum!) made light of the fact that he was relatively new; I liked him.... Food was OK, but I'd have expected better for the price. Service was as expected for a sunny...More

1  Thank tadghambrose59
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Hello, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! Tim is new to us so I shall pass on your kind comments to him. hope to welcome you back soon. The Red Lion Management

Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

On arrival today at lunchtime my friend & I stood waiting to be greeted & seated The front of house manager could see us & left is standing longer than we needed. It wasn't until we said hello she said she be with us in...More

1  Thank Tpollen
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Tpollen, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. We would ;like the opportunity to discuss your experience further and hopefully rectify the situation. We would like you to call Jennifer or Carly at your earliest convenience on 01707299342 ....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Red Indian Restaurant
80 reviews
1.77 km away
Bill’s Welwyn restaurant
523 reviews
1.82 km away
Cote
250 reviews
1.70 km away
Auberge du Lac
588 reviews
1.73 km away
Nearby Attractions
Welwyn Roman Baths
84 reviews
2.04 km away
Stanborough Park
179 reviews
2.90 km away
CW Entertainment
81 reviews
1.45 km away
Cat Survival Trust
44 reviews
2.94 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Vanesa M
19 December 2016|
Answer
Response from alyson.johnson-smith_123 | Reviewed this property |
I do know that they can cater for Gulten Free and Dairy Free but I would phone them to check what the options are
1
Vote
Terry H
19 December 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Derek S | Reviewed this property |
Hi Terry yes they do as you can see. They can be bought by e mail or text up to £250
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Digswell Hill, Welwyn AL6 9AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn
  • Phone Number: +44 1707 299342
Description
An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings,The Red Lion - Welwyn serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing