We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Irish, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
34
8
1
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
34
8
1
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 12, 2020

If you want to relive the heyday of high teas, you should book one at the Royal Hotel, Cookstown. Our party of 7 was treated to an old-style dining experience, in bright and tastefully decorated surroundings, thanks to our excellent waitress. Roslyn's attention to detail...and to our dining needs were exceptional. We had what seemed to be three bottomless tea pots on the go; delicious sandwich fingers with an assortment of tasty savoury fillings; scones, jam and cream; muffins and a variety of exquisite slices all placed on three towering cake plates - a veritable cornucopia. At regular intervals Roslyn and her staff checked if we needed refills, that we were comfortable, provided boxes for us to take home excess goodies, and even demonstrated her excellent skills as a photographer, ably capturing our reunion of Northern Irish and Australian cousins for posterity. At all times Roslyn was professional, unobtrusive, polite, friendly, and caring - reminding us of days gone by when dining out was an absolute pleasure thanks to excellent cuisine served by staff who provided outstanding and friendly service.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 26, 2020 via mobile

This is a restaurant I always rave about and would have it in my top 5 favourite places to eat.. We were in on Saturday evening and left really disappointed by a few things,firstly after ordering our meal and drinks it took about half an...hour for our drinks to come,after waiting for approximately 20 minutes I went into the bar to see what was happening and there was only one young girl serving drinks herself and she was very busy so I just went and sat back down... When we went into get our meal after waiting almost an hour it was very poor,my steak was meant to be rare but was cooked well done and was very fatty and hard to cut even with the steak knife also my champ was really dry and had obviously been under a heat lamp too long,my wife was also not impressed,her chicken was ok but soggy onion rings and her diane sauce was far too thick,the service wasn’t great either which is unusual,not one asked if everything was ok for us.... Hopefully this was a one off as it’s somewhere we love to dine.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 14, 2019

A lovely surround, with good staff, excellent menu choice and great tasting generous portions of food.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 10, 2019 via mobile

Was at a function in the hotel on Saturday night. Myself and a group of friends decided to go for something to eat in the restraunt, food was fab and our waiter was very attentive. However we then placed a drinks order which we had...to ask for twice and only arrived when we were finished our meal, the young fella who brought our drinks to the table was wearing white gloves when some of my party made a passing joke about the gloves the staff member told him to "f**k of" and as we walked of from the table pretended to scratch his head but actually gave us the fingers, our waiter who obviously over heard this advised us that he has a skin condition and needs to wear gloves. I found this very offensive and rude and have never been spoken to in such a manner before, think if this young fella is going to work with customers he needs to learn how to communicate to customers in a more appropriate way and needs retrained in people skills. Will never be back in this establishment again, extremely disappointing experience that ruined a good evening catching up with friends!!More

Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 22, 2018

Although I did not stay in the hotel what I did see of it was beautiful. The toilets were of a high standard and the carvery was delicious with around 6 different meats to pick from. The interior is very classy and modern.

Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

We were very pleased by the kind service and generous portions served at lunchtime. Definitely a favourite with the local seniors and families. As my daughter is a picky eater, they put together requested items off the menu to serve as a meal and I...think we ordered some lunch specials that were definitely under 10 GBP and very filling. On menu were steaks, salads, burgers, soups, sandwiches and lighter fare. Separate gluten-free menu. Cloth tablecloths, carpeted floors, clean WCs, waitstaff very pleasant and patient. It's all good. Great value for money. We recommend!More

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Windsor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Dear Canucksontheloose, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. We are delighted to see that you were pleased with your lunch and we really appreciate your kind comments about our menu, staff and food. We hope to have the...More

Reviewed September 21, 2017

Have to say it's my favourite restaurant and I go to many different restaurants to try different menus but this is the best,excellent food all the time and service is the best I've seen nothing is too much trouble and I'm a really fussy eater....I always choose of the menu and change wee bits of it to suit my liking never any problems and always done with a smile so well done to all the staff the Lennox familyMore

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Windsor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Dear Mandy, Thank you so much for your review. It is wonderful to see that The Royal Hotel is your favourite place to eat and we really appreciate your kind comments about our food and service. I'll certainly pass your remarks on to our staff...More

Reviewed August 24, 2017

I've stayed here three times before .The hotel overall is very good , staff are extremely friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and spacious, the beer is also very good but the food is excellent !!!More

Date of visit: August 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Windsor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Dear Kevin, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. It's great to see that you enjoyed your experience at The Royal Hotel. We really appreciate your kind comments and hope to welcome you back for a fourth visit in the...More

Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed. We ordered our meal just as Sunday carvery was finishing and I honestly think our chips were the leftovers just reheated. Steak was overcooked and not very tasty! This used to be our favourite restaurant but I wouldn't be in a hurry back....Staff are always pleasant and attentive tho.More

Date of visit: June 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Windsor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Dear EmLou101, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your meal at The Windsor Restaurant and for your kind remarks about our staff. Please accept my apologies that you were dissatisfied with your food. We pride ourselves on our consistently high standards...More

Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

Just moved back to cookstown and honestly I like the Royal hotel. It's family friendly. Staff are pretty good and the place is laid back. The menu has recently changed and on both occasions I ordered the t bone steak. The first time I put...it down to being overcooked but after the second time and requesting medium I think the quality of the steak is very very poor. Poor cut and dry. The chicken stir fry was fine but honestly I would prefer if these country places would concentrate less on portion sizes that no normal person could or should comfortably eat and focus on quality. My last visit was a Monday night. The bar area was completely empty and we sat down and the table beside was dirty. The chairs had food items. Also the menus , if you are goin to invest in nice new menus then it is wasted when they are covered in finger prints and food stains. Come on please owner sit down in your restaurant and look around. You have such a potential as the food in cookstown is poor beyond belief and unfortunately you have failed with this new food relaunch. Go and visit some nice restaurants around Belfast or anywhere and order some of your food and compare. Basically it's cheap, massive portions , which may have worked 15 years ago but things have changed albeit not in cookstown and the Royal is not the only place. I will go again and try other things on the menu. I mean 10 quid for a stir fry that would feed 2 with an extra side, great if your standards aren't so high. Very happy to update my review when and if things improve. I'd be happy to pay more for the steak and get a decent cut. Who wants to pay 21 quid for a steak with no flavour. I'd rather pay the typical 32 for a t bone and have a big juicy thick steak. I appreciate the clientele may be price conscious but I suppose it's a bit like Gordon Ramsey's kitchen nightmares, the people you will gain by serving great food will more than make up for regulars you will lose. Just my suggestions and take what you like and what you don't. However I see another review here mentioned the dirtiness and he questioned the integrity of the reviews. Staff are verbally attentive but when doing nothing instead of talking they could be cleaning. Whilst I won't do that I was very surprised so little bad reviews were present :) Best wishes.More

Date of visit: July 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Windsor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Dear Rob8012, Many thanks for your review and welcome back to Cookstown. Firstly, thank you for your kind comments about our staff and our family friendly approach. It's always our goal to make every customer feel welcomed and valued. We really appreciate your feedback regarding...More

Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile

Today myself and 3 friends had afternoon tea. I was blown away by the large spread of food we were given and how fresh and beautiful it all was. There were loads of different sandwiches and scones traybakes etc and even a dinky funky little...soup which was fab. I cannot recommend it enough and service was brilliant such friendly helpful girls. I visit often for food and am never disappointed by the large tasty portions of fresh fabulous food. Keep up the good work Royal Hotel CookstownMore

Date of visit: June 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Windsor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Dear Lulabell695, Thank you very much for posting feedback following Afternoon Tea at The Royal Hotel. We're delighted to see that you were pleased with the food and service you received and we really appreciate your kind recommendation! Thanks especially for mentioning our wonderful staff...More

Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

I went to his hotel for a family evening meal This place is unbelievable and the tripadvisor review are truely unbelievable Dining room dirty with numerous flies Food well below standard - a mobile catering van is more appealing On going loud work in reception...Toilets were absolutely discussing and dirty I would not like to see the kitchen if the front of house is so bad This place is terrible / avoid One for the Hotel Inspector or Ramsays Hotel Hells Even they would leaveMore

Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Windsor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

Dear Philip C Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We’re very sorry to see that you were dissatisfied with your experience at Windsor Restaurant. We do sincerely apologise that the current renovations disrupted your meal. Our team are working hard to...More

Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

This is a restaurant we visit regularly and never be disappointed,the food is always to perfection even at larger functions "weddings,parties etc" we are never disappointed. We as a family eat out regularly throughout the province and have to say the Royal is our favourite...and the friendliness of the staff is a bonusMore

Date of visit: June 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Windsor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Kenny, Thanks very much for leaving feedback following your recent visit to The Windsor Restaurant @ The Royal Hotel. We're so pleased to see that you have consistently enjoyed your dining experiences with us and we really appreciate your kind comments about our staff....More

Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

After fantastic evening meals at this restaurant it was disappointing to find the breakfast wasn't to the same standard. My scrambled egg was overdone and there were no options of mushrooms or beans to my knowledge. Staff however continued to shine.More

Date of visit: June 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Windsor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2016

Dear Laurenzo33, Thanks very much for your review. We're glad you have previously enjoyed meals at The Windsor Restaurant and we're sorry that you felt breakfast wasn't up to scratch on this occasion. We do indeed offer mushrooms and beans and would have been only...More

Reviewed June 8, 2016

I ate here with my wife as we have on several occasions before(including our wedding) and as always the food was excellent, well cooked, well presented,with good sized portions and a great choice from the menu, especially the steak The staff were excellent as usual...with nothing too much trouble and always on hand to ensure we had another great dining experience. If you are ever in the Cookstown area please call at the Royal Hotel where you will receive a warm welcome and great food any time of the day or night.More

Date of visit: June 2016
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Windsor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

Dear Brian S, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're so pleased to see that you are a repeat customer of ours and we're delighted that you have found our food and service to your liking. We really appreciate your recommendation...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Royal Hotel
367 reviews
.09 km away
Greenvale Hotel
173 reviews
1.67 km away
Glenavon House Hotel
598 reviews
1.73 km away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
347 reviews
6.29 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Villa Vinci
189 reviews
.62 km away
The Courtyard
70 reviews
.20 km away
Time Cookstown
124 reviews
.35 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Drum Manor Forest Park
113 reviews
1.50 km away
Tommy's kitchen
24 reviews
1.52 km away
Burnavon Arts and Cultural Centre
23 reviews
.36 km away
Cookstown Library
8 reviews
.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Windsor Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

WINDSOR RESTAURANT, Cookstown - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Windsor Restaurant

Windsor Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5