We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

55 Degrees North

1 Causeway Street, Portrush BT56 8AB, Northern Ireland
+44 28 7082 2811
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good22%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (30 reviews)
“pudding” (22 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Irish, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Causeway Street, Portrush BT56 8AB, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 440 of 1,896 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2016

My family and I have been here several times over the past few years for lunch and have never been disappointed. Food is great, good value and the staff are lovely. During our most recent trip though we gave it a try for dinner instead...More

1  Thank mdollBelfast
A TripAdvisor Member
1920
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Don't know what all the hype is about been here a few times food is ok nothing special slow service took ages from course to courses.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Peter K, General Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Hi, Thanks so much for your review. I am sorry that you found the service slow. We are always looking for ways to improve, and if you could have stated more specifics, I would have been happy to address the issue. Best Wishes P. Kane

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Top class affordable food With even better service :) Staff very witty and refreshing ( Aimee) Couldn't ask for better 100% will be back!

1  Thank Joshua H
Peter K, General Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Hi Guys! WoW, WoW & WoW! Thank you so much for the 5 Stars. I am really glad you enjoyed your time with us, and I will pass your comments onto the staff(especially Aimee). They will be thrilled! Best Wishes, P. Kane

Reviewed 28 August 2016

We visited last night and was to say the least disappointed. .It took 65 min for our main coarse to arrive and when it did my daughters was wrong,rare to medium steak with garlic fries,tobaco onions and a boat of gravy,well,the only thing right was...More

Thank junemcmullin
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We visited the Bistro on Tuesday 23rd August around 6pm. Every person in our party of 3 adults and 3 children really enjoyed everything about our experience. The friendly staff, excellent view, delicious food and value for money were second to none. Having been seriously...More

2  Thank nicclarke3522
Peter K, General Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Hello!, Thank you so much for taking the time not only to give us a fantastic review, but to make it 5 stars is amazing. I am so happy that you had a great experience with us, and the next time you are on the...More

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

This has been a favourite of ours in the past but we were so disappointed tonight. Waited quite a while for our food but it was very busy so we were ok with that. Waiting staff were doing their best. Children's meals came, 2 skinny...More

2  Thank garallie3
Peter K, General Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. I really appreciate your comments. I am sorry that that the service was a bit slow, but thank you for your patience, and recognising that it was a busy August evening. Like you I...More

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We booked three different dates for dinner while on holiday for a week. We had a lovely waitress on Saturday night (20 Aug) called Aimee. Every restaurant needs an Aimee. She is so friendly and just by talking to her you know she enjoys her...More

3  Thank Nichola W
Peter K, General Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Hello Nichola, 5 Stars! you are AMAZING! Thank you. I am really glad that you enjoyed your time with us, so much so that you dined 3 times in the one week! Aimee has already read your comments about her, and was beaming from ear...More

Reviewed 26 August 2016

top location overlooking a beach, huge picture windows. really friendly staff from the older lady at reception to the younger staff behind the bar and serving. food was delicious and hot, fresh fish. we felt really looked after and would highly recommend this lovely placeMore

1  Thank Donna M
Peter K, General Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Hi Donna, Thank you so much for your kind words. We try really hard to make everyone's experience pleasurable, and it is lovely to get some recognition. I am really glad that you enjoyed your experience with us, and hope to see you again soon....More

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Food is consistently very nice Staff are 50/50, always some staff who bring down the standard with their attitude. A bit longer than average waiting time for meal. Great portion sizes my mum and I share the three courses and it's more than plenty. Great...More

1  Thank WLM57
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

The food is above average and prices on a par with other restaurants. Service can be slow and basic but friendly. More of a family and friends place. If your on a date i would check out some of the other places portrush offers

1  Thank John L
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Portrush
The Port Hotel
284 reviews
.29 km away
Adelphi Portrush
753 reviews
.30 km away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
1,082 reviews
.37 km away
GolfLinks Hotel
197 reviews
1.82 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kiwi's Brew Bar
240 reviews
.26 km away
Cafe Koko
171 reviews
.21 km away
Panky Doos
88 reviews
.12 km away
Morelli's
107 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Barry's Amusements
542 reviews
.33 km away
Portrush West Strand
39 reviews
1.05 km away
Portrush Countryside Centre
28 reviews
.38 km away
Portrush Visitor Information Centre
31 reviews
.17 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Coral V
19 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Valerie W | Reviewed this property |
Yes at the downstairs bistro which is covered and has heaters...👍
1
Vote
Amy F
2 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Peter K | Property representative |
Hi Amy, The reservation tables fill very quickly and it is always best to book especially if you want one of the front seats by the windows
0
Votes
Reenie654
1 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Peter K | Property representative |
Hello, We have a single Disabled Toilet on street level (the same level as the restaurant) and also on the sub level, down a spiral stair case we have a bistro which has ladies, gents and another disabled toilet to service... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Monday
12:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Tuesday
12:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday
12:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Thursday
12:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Friday
12:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Saturday
12:30 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Causeway Street, Portrush BT56 8AB, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Antrim  >  Portrush
  • Phone Number: +44 28 7082 2811
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing