We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro

6 William Street, Newtownards BT23 4AE, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9181 2101
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent89%
  • Very good7%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pineapple” (34 reviews)
“curry puffs” (19 reviews)
“thai food” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Asian, Thai, Malaysian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
6 William Street, Newtownards BT23 4AE, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Wecalled in here without a reservation and were made most welcome in a very busy lunch period. Food was delicious and we will be back. Thank you.

Thank Angela K
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review it is very much appreciated by the entire TukTuk team & we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Reviewed 5 days ago

First time for me at the Tuk Tuk last Saturday. We went with a couple who have been there before. Very friendly welcome and top quality service throughout from the guys serving the food. Good atmosphere in the room. I enjoyed the dumplings starter very...More

Thank Ian M
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review it is very much appreciated by the entire TukTuk team & we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Third visit and everyone first class! Food, staff and service amazing! Staff knowledgeable about dishes. Variety and flavours top class! Looking forward to our next visit!

Thank Linda B
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review & we look forward to cooking for you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food, very pleasant staff. Quirky surroundings . We had a meal for four and all were excellent. Full Vegetarian options available. Book early to avoid disappointment, restaurant is small. It has a great atmosphere. BYOB.

Thank Des D
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review it is appreciated by the whole Tuk Tuk team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As always great food, service and atmosphere. Had the curry puffs and yummy pineapple. Could select any dish from the menu and be completely satisfied.

Thank John M
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review it is very much appreciated by the whole Tuk Tuk team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After giving up on asian food because of MSG and 'take it or leave it' service I was persuaded to try Tuk Tuk. My ambition now is to eat my way through the menu. Service was prompt, personal and helpful. No long waits, bring your...More

Thank The o
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review it is very much appreciated by the whole Tuk Tuk team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Upon our first to Newtownards myself and my girlfriend visited Tuk Tuk. It was a superb evening, and I think our waiter James deserves a special mention as he served us extremely well and took time in carefully explaining the menu to pin point accuracy....More

Thank Cameron R
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review it is very much appreciated by the whole Tuk Tuk team But especially glad to hear that James took such good care of you

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our 3rd visit to Tuk Tuk, much anticipated and certainly did not disappoint. Our table was booked for 9.15 but the restaurant kindly called us to say we could come a little earlier, which was lovely. We had the JimJam and prawn rolls...More

Thank Lorraine R
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks from the whole Tuk Tuk team for taking the time to leave your review it is very much appreciated

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was my third meal at TukTuk and it never fails to impress. A wee bit pricey but for a special treat every so often it's brilliant. The pineapple dish is a must, try it between your group as a wee extra. And if they're...More

Thank hupyaboyya
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review it is very much appreciated by the whole Tuk Tuk team Remember to take advantage of the early bird offer before 7pm on Monday & Wednesday & before 3pm on Sundays

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate at Tuk Tuk recently for the first time on a recommendation and it didn't disappoint. As first timers we asked our waiter for a recommendation for starters and he suggested a surprise sharing platter. This was gorgeous - chicken satay skewers, duck spring...More

Thank daftmare
Garth L, Owner at Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review it 8s very much appreciated by the whole Tuk Tuk team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Strangford Arms Hotel
295 reviews
.40 km away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
1,177 reviews
4.61 km away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
1,212 reviews
7.25 km away
Marine Court Hotel
637 reviews
7.98 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Chef and Manager
272 reviews
.48 km away
Romas
301 reviews
.36 km away
Regency
91 reviews
.36 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kiltonga Nature Reserve
20 reviews
.90 km away
Ards Shopping Centre
13 reviews
.41 km away
Newtownards Library
13 reviews
.22 km away
Romas
12 reviews
.34 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kris G
October 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Garth L | Property representative |
Yes we do Sorry for slow reply
0
Votes
John A
April 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Garth L | Property representative |
We have quite a number of dishes on the menu & specials board that have no coconut at all, dishes like Thai crispy duck with Sok Mei sauce which is like a sweet plum sauce with the hint of fresh chilli through it or Thai... More
1
Vote
Ruthhal
January 23, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Garth L | Property representative |
Yes please free to bring any alcoholic drinks of your choice we do however supply soft drinks & mixers which we ask you not to bring with you
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
1:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Monday
11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday
11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Saturday
11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 William Street, Newtownards BT23 4AE, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Newtownards
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9181 2101
  • E-mail
Description
Every meal is cooked freshly only when it's ordered, not precooked, no artificial additives are even allowed in the building. all ingredients are hand picked each day and cooked by our chefs who come from south east asia themselves. the recipes they use are family recipes handed down from their parents and grandparents not something from a text book or catering college. Real asian cooking
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing