We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Elliot's Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Lodge Hotel | Lodge Road, Coleraine BT52 1NF, Northern Ireland
+44 28 7034 4848
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 113: English reviews
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

In for lunch with grandparents who both opted for the carvery which was generally tasty with the exception of the yorkshires. The rest of us chose of the lunch menu - very limited vegetarian options so given the main menu. Veg tartlet average at best and my chicken penne filling more than delicious. The pizza my son got was probably... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pforj
Norma W, Owner at Elliot's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Elliot's Bistro and may I apologise for the dessert incident which was completely unacceptable and should not have happened. I am also disappointed that you felt our menu choices were inadequate including our 5 vegetarian options. However like you said our lunchtime carvery is without doubt one of the most popular choices... More 

Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016

Main course of sea bass was very acceptable in terms both of quality and quantity. However it was served without the salad garnish as advised in the menu. Tried to catch the attention of a server but I was in a corner table by the back wall and the place was very busy so was unsuccessful in doing so. First... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank redhand
Norma W, Owner at Elliot's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on your recent visit to Elliot's Bistro. I am delighted to read you found our Sea Bass very acceptable in terms of quality and quantity! Once again, please accept our apologies that the rocket garnish was not served on this occasion and can assure you of our best service in the future. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016

Giving this 2 stars instead of 1 only because it has given us many a chuckle remembering our lunch here. We arrived early one day when we were up the North Coast for a drive. Really fusty smell as we walked in but were both starving. She ordered the "eastern promise" which sounded full of tasty spices. What arrived was... More 

Helpful?
Thank northstar20feb
Norma W, Owner at Elliot's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your lunchtime visit. I will investigate your issues with our team, but in the meantime I would like to discuss this with you in person, if you would like to forward your telephone number to norma@thelodgehotel.com Many thanks. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Rang beforehand to reserve a table and was informed that they do not take reservations, its a first come first serve set up! we are shown to a poky table stuck in the middle of 2 large tables of 6 people. ordered a cocktail and it was like water, had better elsewhere for 5.95 it was tasteless. ordered one starter... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona V
Norma W, Owner at Elliot's Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Fiona V, Thank you for taking the time to review our bistro, and may I apologise for your disappointment. Our Lodge Hotel reviews are generally very positive, therefore your review is disappointing to read. I will pass your concerns on to our team, but if you would like to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2016

The food was delicious and plentiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The service was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Anne W
Norma W, Owner at Elliot's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review regarding your dining experience in Elliot's Bistro. I will pass on your comments to our team. Hope to see you again very soon. More 

Castlerock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016

Went with 2 friends and two of us were vegetarians. The menu selection was very poor and had not changed in 6 months as far as i can remember. The sauce with the pasta dish ws so so rich and made the dish unpalatable. The other dish chosen ws sea bass and this ws average. But the service from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank David I
Norma W, Owner at Elliot's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. It has been rather disheartening to read your review, having received so many excellent reviews regarding the high quality service and food we provide. It is a shame you did not advise management when you were dining with us and we could have offered you an alternative Vegetarian dish and resolved your... More 

Derry
Level Contributor
137 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2016

Good menu, great service. However, tends to be cramped for Space so not great for conversation. Food served quickly and efficiently.

Helpful?
Thank OMGJ
Norma W, Owner at Elliot's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent experience in Elliot's Bistro. I am glad you found our menu good and our service great. We hope you visit us again soon. More 

Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2016

A great place to dine.The carvery is excellent as indeed is the other menu.The staff are pleasant and the service is excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
Norma W, Owner at Elliot's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely 5* review. Our carvery choices are indeed very popular both on Saturday night and Sunday, and our staff will be delighted to read your comments, as they strive to maintain a high standard of customer service at all times. More 

Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2016

Well this was a most enjoyable experience for 2 evenings. On entering the Bistro we were greeted and seated by a most pleasant member of the staff. We ordered drinks and were allowed time to make our choice off the very extensive and some might say quirky menu.The meals themselves were of the highest quality and hot / presented well... More 

Helpful?
Thank yellowchat
Norma W, Owner at Elliot's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted you enjoyed your dining experiences in Elliot's Bistro. I have shared your comments with all the team. We are extremely proud of our staff at the hotel and fully appreciate the value they add to our guests experiences with the standard of service that they provide. Once again thank you... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Were impressed with service from when we walked in. Staff were attentive, drinks and meals arrived promptly and were very enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank Anne J
Norma W, Owner at Elliot's Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Elliot's Bistro. I am glad you found our food and drink service of a high standard. I will pass your compliment on to our team. More 

Travellers who viewed Elliot's Bistro also viewed

Coleraine, County Londonderry
Coleraine, County Londonderry
 
Coleraine, County Londonderry
Coleraine, County Londonderry
 

Been to Elliot's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$31
Cuisine
British, Healthy, European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Lodge Hotel | Lodge Road, Coleraine BT52 1NF, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Londonderry  >  Coleraine
  • Phone Number: +44 28 7034 4848
Description
Elliot's Bistro has earned itself a well deserved reputation for its good quality food! Fresh, locally sourced produce has been an important part of the way we've done business since well before it became trendy! Elliot's offers a wide range of classic and contemporary dishes, a large choice of wines and cocktails, friendly staff and good value for money. We always have a good selection of vegetarian and gluten free dishes on offer and can cater for a wide range of other dietary requirements. We also serve Celia Organic Gluten Free beer. A buffet lunch proves popular each lunchtime, and with entertainment at weekends, it is definitely the place to be whether for a quiet business lunch or 'a good nights craic' on the Causeway Coast!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elliot's Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?