We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Throckmorton

) #5 of 30 Restaurants in Alcester $$ - $$$ , British,
Coughton Hill | Coughton Hill, Alcester B49 5HX, England
+44 1789 766366
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“faggots” (24 reviews)
“pate” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Coughton Hill | Coughton Hill, Alcester B49 5HX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 469 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

It's got food on the menu beer on tap. Staff that want to help . Nice but just lacks a spark to make it Great. Definatly go again but would love to sit out on the large terraceMore

Thank goldreviewer
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this reviewResponded today

Good afternoon, We are sorry to see that you only rated us 3 out of 5 for your Sunday visit. We pride ourselves on great service, tasty food and wonderful atmosphere but it seems this time we did not achieve our goal. We would appreciate...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

We ate here Sunday and had the 2 crs Lunch ,we decided to sit in the bar area as it was both very nice but also very quiet which we prefer . The pork roast was lovely, as was the crumble and custard much better...More

Thank SolihullTaz
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your lovely review and your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your food but were sorry to see that you thought the service was slow. I will be looking into this personally and hope you will return to us so thst we...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Had an amazing lunch menu deal yesterday 2 courses for £9.95 or 3 courses for £12.95. I had the faggots with creamed potato and mushy peas.Followed by the best crumble I've ever had in my life which was apple and plum. Lovely staff and nice...More

Thank Denartes
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your brilliant comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to us. We hope you will return again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As Mum was staying with us and with knowing what she likes thought we would give the Throckmorton a visit as had it been for a while , my father in law also joined us and he had the soup to start then he and...More

Thank jdoc1972
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you had a fabulous time here with us and are glad to hear that you will be telling your friends about us! Lovely to see a member of staff being mentioned as we like to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely surroundings food cooked fresh and was very tasty my husband and I had 3 courses from the early bird menu my daughter and son shared the nachos to start and both chose from the main menu . We all loved the food Service was...More

Thank Dottyds3
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this reviewResponded today

What lovely comments..... We hope you visit us again soon (with the dog!).

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a delightful visit to Coughton Court a National Trust property just down the road, we had booked lunch at this pub. There was a good selection of beers some local and a very extensive menu with several offers - e.g 2 courses for £9.95....More

Thank RichRoamer
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for such lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us went for lunch. Two had fish from the special menu and two ordered from the set price day menu. My husband and I had the set menu and had ham, egg and chips and then passion fruit creme brûlée and rubarb crumble...More

Thank Gillian W
Dave A, Manager at The Throckmorton, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for a great review. We hope you visit again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose the 3course menu with a glass of wine. Beckie was our waitress and was super efficient and very friendly. We had a light and airy table by a window and the table was clean and well presented. Linen napkins are such a bonus!...More

Thank Pat R
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your wonderful comments. They have all been passed on to the staff & chef (regarding the tagliatelli). Nice to see the staff that served you mentioned as we like to reward them :) We hope you visit us again soon!!!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well done to the Throckmorton team. I've visited this pub on and off for years. It has a lot going for it. Location. Great views to the back. Good interesting building. This visit everything seems to have moved up a gear. The food was much...More

1  Thank Mike H
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your wonderful comments and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our little dog was made very welcome and was given a biscuit on arrival. The staff were friendly and efficient and the food was lovely and there was plenty of it. Would definitely visit again.

Thank Q588GYmeganb
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Moat House Inn
729 reviews
1.87 km away
Kings Court
55 reviews
2.05 km away
Mt Everest
261 reviews
3.04 km away
The Little Lark
123 reviews
2.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Coughton Court
624 reviews
.52 km away
Studley swimming pool
7 reviews
2.90 km away
Purity Brewing Company
23 reviews
3.02 km away
Great Escape Classic Car Hire
81 reviews
5.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
secretsquirrel74
25 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Dave A | Property representative |
Yes we do as long as they are keft on their lead.
0
Votes
whiteshorts
26 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Susan B | Reviewed this property |
We have been to the Throckmorton on several occasions and have always found the staff to be helpful and friendly, I couldn't imagine any of them to be rude.
0
Votes
escapist123
29 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Amanda L | Reviewed this property |
sadly no
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$29
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Coughton Hill | Coughton Hill, Alcester B49 5HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Alcester
  • Phone Number: +44 1789 766366
  • E-mail
Description
We serve our fresh, locally sourced, homemade breakfast, lunches and dinner every day from 9am to 9pm Our menus offer exceptional value for money featuring several fixed price offers such as 'Fish Fridays' - 2 coucrses and a glass of wine at £15 or all our Pub Classics at under £10. We also serve restaurant quality specials and a fab Sunday Roast.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing