We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Peacock

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
01629 813635
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,125: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived, looked around, que at the bar with no staff behind it, read the replies to reviews on here, so glad we left and did not pass a cent over to these people.

Helpful?
Thank Thorspoon
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

As 6 weekend visitors we chanced upon The Peacock by accident as our 1st choice of venue was fully booked on a Saturday Night. The menu was varied and there was a good busy atmosphere with all staff cheerful and helpful. We chose variously from the Menu and the steaks and lamb looked excellent as did the traditional fish and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chescaislovely
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've been to the Peacock a few times and the food is always top notch. The staff are lovely and so helpful as well. It is a lovely pub, well decorated, clean with a welcoming atmosphere that can be a difficult thing to find. The food as stated is always great and I look forward to going back. Also worth... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beccy G
thepeacockbakewell, Dynamic activity and deep rest of the mind are complementary to each other, at The Peacock, responded to this review

As always is great to hear Beccy G as we pride ourselves in doing it exactly as you describe, so a massive thank you for posting your thoughts and experiences at the Peacock! Sound advice also during busy times, especially at the weekend (Sat & Sun) and oh those hot days when it can be absolutely manic - especially in... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a amazing meal this afternoon with friendly efficient staff who cleared a table for us quickly even though so busy as it's Bank Holiday Monday. Excellent value for money and a great choice of beers and ales too. Would very highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
thepeacockbakewell, A girl should be two things: classy and fabulous, at The Peacock, responded to this review

Fabulous is as good as it can get Lisa C, but thanks for posting and sharing your Bank Holiday experience at the Peacock with us! I'll tell you it is damned hard work keeping everything up to spec, especially on hot summer days and Bank Holidays! More 

UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

An article on page 18 of the Buxton Advertiser, 'War of Words over online review' (20/04/2017) reminded me once again of our unforgettable encounter last Summer with the Manager of this establishment. I note from subsequent reviews he has criticised people who have not raised their complaints face to face, little wonder, given that when you do, like I did,... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank UkReggie75
thepeacockbakewell, Sure, I've often been misrepresented - anyone frequently quoted has this experience, even at The Peacock, responded to this review

A quite unbelievable review from UkReggie75 who has jumped on the bandwagon of third party misrepresentation of a local rag and in turn states that I was rude in an incident a year ago, when nothing could be further from the truth, pot calling the kettle black comes to mind, and all I can say to your comments re; the... More 

england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On first arrival we were met with unresponsive attitude from the staff...Was going to stay for a meal but on first impressions decided to give it a miss. Only stayed for drinks which were very overpriced.. Sorry we will not be returning to The peacock..

Helpful?
3 Thank Ruthybaby72
thepeacockbakewell, Always laugh when you can. It is cheap medicine, at The Peacock, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Ruthybaby72, and I understand your point of view, especially when you are feeding a family and you are on a tight budget! We were more than likekely very busy at the time of your arrival and if that was the case we apologise for being busy and despite your criticisms we cannot during these busy... More 

Berkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Husband had the pie which came with a tiny little glass of beer! I had the chilli, which was in a tortilla basket and was delicious. Highly recommend and reasonable price too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
thepeacockbakewell, We like to make the mundane fabulous whenever we can, at The Peacock, responded to this review

Two great meals, with one great recommendation, so thanks for posting Caroline B - always appreciated! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Always have an amazing meal at the Peacock portion are generous so either share starters and dessert or go for one or two courses.

Helpful?
1 Thank Symone S
thepeacockbakewell, I love the Royal Family. The Queen, she's fabulous, and we are too, at The Peacock, responded to this review

Symone S - you have been many tines and many times you have an amazing meal, so thanks for letting the troopers know, as yours views are as important as ours! More 

Walsoken, Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We popped in on Easter Sunday afternoon for a roast dinner & both absolutely loved it. Hubby had the beef, i had the turkey - both delicious. fab creamy mash, yummy mashed swede and carrot, great yorkshire pudding, proper roast potatoes and well cooked meat. a hearty fresh and well cooked meal. definitely no pre-frozen catering supplies tosh here! Our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimie62
thepeacockbakewell, The ethic of conviction and the ethic of responsibility are not opposites. They are complementary to one another, at The Peacock, responded to this review

I can promise every reader out there, you will be hard pushed to find a nicer Sunday Roast than what we serve at the Peacock, so a big thank you to Jaimie62 for sharing the experience with all, and your compliments are taken humbly as we do pride ourselves in serving Sunday Lunch exactly as you describe! See you again,... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One of the better pubs if not the best in Bakewell! Quality food offering and good position in the centre of the town. Great beer garden even though the sun was intermittent . Staff were pleasant even though they were clearly very busy, will look forward to visiting and eating again. Good value for money too.

Helpful?
2 Thank andy b
thepeacockbakewell, I think that the Internet and print can behave in a complementary manner, at The Peacock, responded to this review

Lovely review coming in from andy b, so a big thank you for posting his thoughts which sum up the Peacock, even on a busy Bank Holiday when we can be tested to the extreme, so to come through with flying colours is always nice to hear! Good Value - yes that's a promise we feel we uphold too, so... More 

Travellers who viewed The Peacock also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Peacock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$28
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: 01629 813635
Description
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town.

We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal.

The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Peacock and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Peacock staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?