We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Inn

Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
+44 1629 813635
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (90 reviews)
“game pie” (15 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

A nice stroll around Bakewell, we decided to have lunch at The Peacock Inn Great choice the cheese board was delightful only downside was it had no breads, just a few crackers and also only 1 butter served even though it was a sharing board...More

1  Thank Charlotte F
thepeacockbakewell, I believe your atmosphere and your surroundings create a mind state for you, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded today

Wot No Bread! - oops sorry about that Charlotte F, but one only has to look at the photo you downloaded of your cheeseboard to see how delicious it looked, and was!!! All you needed to do was ask and we would have supplied the...More

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Stayed here with 3 mates as we had an early start the following day for a cycling event. Pub is good, although food is a bit pricey but of a good quality. I cannot comment on breakfast as we were up & away before it...More

2  Thank RJW1881
thepeacockbakewell, Price is what you pay. Value is what you get, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Quality never goes out of fashion RJW1881, but thanks for the positive review as we are good, with food quality worth every penny!!! Breakfast is amazing too, but you'll just have to take that as read, as you explored the amazing Peak District on those...More

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Lovely food. Great room and comfortable bed. My only criticism is the archway rather than bathroom door - we had to make sure the bedroom curtains were firmly closed or those enjoying the beer garden would have had to endure the sight of us on...More

Thank TeachersPet74
thepeacockbakewell, The only thing worse than being blind is having sight but no vision, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Yes TeachersPet74 - Great Place just about sums up the Peacock and what it has to offer so thanks for taking time out to post the review! Modern bathrooms - maybe the style isn't to everyones taste, but that's fine as hopefully you embraced the...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

A very busy pub, we had booked on the recommendation of a friend of a friend. The food was pleasant but due to a hot day and a bank holiday weekend, we had to ask where it was? It quickly arrived after we asked. It's...More

5  Thank scouse123
thepeacockbakewell, The thing about tourism is that the reality of a place is quite different from the mythology of it, including Bakewell, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

The Peacock is a very busy pub scouse123, because it serves very good food - hence the recommendation of a friend of a friend!!! Also it was Bank Holiday - yes and if you recall the hottest early May Bank Holiday for forty years -...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped here on a visit to Bakewell for some lunch. The pub has ample seating inside and out. We sat outside as it was a lovely afternoon. The pub has a large choice of dishes so you can grab a sandwich, panini or something more...More

1  Thank gail h
thepeacockbakewell, When in Rome, live as the Romans do; when elsewhere, live as they live elsewhere, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We learned about honesty and integrity - that the truth matters, that you don't take shortcuts or play by your own set of rules... and success doesn't count unless you earn it fair and square, and basically the review coming in from gail h sums...More

A TripAdvisor Member
112
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited this pub with my husband and little boy while on a day trip to bakewell. We had an overall very nice experience, my husband wrote a review on trip advisor explaining how we enjoyed the food, staff were friendly and service was great...More

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
thepeacockbakewell, Some human beings lose their logic in their vindictiveness, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

First things first "A Trip Advisor Member" you need to find a sense of humour as you hide behind your pseudonym, and secondly you need to start telling the truth.... Your husband says you paid £10.20 for cider and you supported his statement with, you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had Sunday lunch here whilst visiting the area. Booking here is essential as it got very busy with long queues to order food. We arrived at 12 just as food was starting. Had a bit of a wait but it was worth it. One of...More

2  Thank Sue S
thepeacockbakewell, A satisfied customer is the best business strategy of all, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

No qualms from this corner Sue S as you post simple and honest thoughts of your visit to the Peacock, and as you state it can and does get very busy - even on opening hours at 12 noon, so yes booking is always an...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was visiting Bakewell for the day & pop in to here for cold Cider & Food, it was very busy but was service at the bar very quick both times, food was of a good standard & served reasonably quick & at a reasonable price...More

6  Thank Nick-Gemma
thepeacockbakewell, If you think Aspalls Cider is expensive, try ignorance, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Drinks, especially Aspalls Cider served ice cold is never expensive at £4.60 a pint - not £5.10 or £10.20 for two as you nonchalantly state Nick-Gemma, and when it is served with Good Food in a lovely setting then I can only reiterate that quality...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't usually write reviews but after a lovely day, we called in at Bakewell for a bite to eat and a couple of drinks. Can't fault the location, menu or the beer garden. So whilst ordering drinks at the bar I could not help...More

9  Thank Stanmorr
thepeacockbakewell, No matter how devastating our struggles, disappointments, and troubles are, they are only temporary, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dissapointing Stanmorr the man from Wickersley - the Riviera of the north, it is we that are dissapointed, and shall I tell you the reasoning why..... Bank Holiday - yes the hottest Early May Bank Hoiliday for forty years, and Bakewell and in particular the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited The Peacock on Sunday lunch time for my Mother in Laws birthday. It was very busy, as we expected on a Bank Holiday Weekend. We had reserved a table however, and so this wasn’t an issue. The pub is lovely inside, very traditional...More

3  Thank HAPPYGAL85
thepeacockbakewell, I believe that people should take pride in what they do, even if it is scorned or misunderstood by the public at large, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Nothing in the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge, you are not entitled to your opinion - you are entitled to your informed opinion. I'm afraid your...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Bakewell
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1,021 reviews
.16 km away
Bagshaw Hall
448 reviews
.28 km away
The Lathkil Hotel
190 reviews
2.43 km away
Hassop Hall Hotel
527 reviews
3.67 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ricci's
569 reviews
.06 km away
Eastern Court Chinese
109 reviews
.03 km away
Upstairs Cafe
195 reviews
.07 km away
Rajas
541 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Monsal Trail
1,234 reviews
.89 km away
Bakewell Old House Museum
198 reviews
.39 km away
All Saints Church
116 reviews
.29 km away
Thornbridge Brewery
85 reviews
1.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michelle B
December 12, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from thepeacockbakewell | Property representative |
Unfortunately if you are a dog owner/lover Michelle, we only allow dogs outside on the patio beer garden area. I hope that answers your question and we may see you during the summer months when it is more likely you can eat... More
1
Vote
SolihullStew
March 7, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RamblingRosie14 | Reviewed this property |
Go next door to the Queens. Dog friendly all year round!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$30
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 813635
  • E-mail
Description
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;