We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Peacock

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
+44 1729 813635
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,024 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 1,010: English reviews
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

First place we came to after parking car near river. Went for pension board offers, excellent, very tasty, generous portions, beautifully presented, good service, definitely not your usual 'pub grub '. Couldn't fault! Would love to go for one of their specials, all local produce.

1 Thank Ruth G
thepeacockbakewell, I follow three rules: Do the right thing, do the best you can, and always show people you care, at The Peacock, responded to this review

First place you came across as you came off the river Ruth G, but I tell you it's the only place. Trust me you made the right choice so thanks for posting lovely comments about the pensioners specials we have on offer during the week. Next time do try one of our daily specials off the board as I give... More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We found the peacock to be warm and welcoming, all in and around the bar was a pleasure to be in. The room we had was well decorated spotlessly clean. The Bed was something special not sure if all beds were like this bed but very comfy to sleep in. The breakfast was blooming great, I dare anyone to leave... More 

3 Thank tlappin1
thepeacockbakewell, The best way to pay for a lovely moment is to enjoy it, at The Peacock, responded to this review

A wee review with a massive statement and we thank you humbly tlappin1, as you illustrate the strengths to be found at the Peacock! We may only be a small pub, but we have Big Standards as you rightly say, and room 6 - your chosen abode, is certainly exactly as you describe - and the breakfast, yes they are... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent food and staff iam coming back. Best place in town.good selection of beers and food.rooms very good.

2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
thepeacockbakewell, The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched - they must be felt with the heart, at The Peacock, responded to this review

TONY - the best place in town is a tall order to live up too, but we believe, you believe and once anyone has been and sampled our food, beer and rooms at the Peacock, they believe!!! Thanks for saying it, and we'll see you on your return - and we'll still be as Good!!! More 

Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited The Peacock on many an occasion whilst visiting the area on our caravan breaks on our own and with friends. Every time The Peacock delivers. We called in on a cold sleety Sunday for a Sunday lunch and once again weren't disappointed. The service was very friendly and attentive, especially the guy (sorry didn't get your name)... More 

1 Thank Mogglets
thepeacockbakewell, Success isn't always about greatness. It's about consistency. Consistent hard work leads to success. Greatness will come at The Peacock, responded to this review

Yet again one of our regular customers comes up with an amazing review in response to the, Yes amazing Sunday Lunch we serve at the Peacock! A big thank you goes out to Mogglets for taking the time and thought to say it just right, because I can't really add to your comments as consistency is definitely the key and... More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Birthday treat a walk around Bakewell a fantastic Sunday lunch and a few hand pulled beers. Combo 3 meat lunch with loads of fresh veg only draw back was the plate was swimming with gravy so much that it went all over the table . Gravy in a small jug would be a better idea .

4 Thank Ian D
thepeacockbakewell, Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep, at The Peacock, responded to this review

Great Food deserves a Great review Ian D and all things being equal I feel you delivered! I will guarantee you will not find a better Sunday Lunch than what we pride ourselves in serving at the Peacock, but also we have to offer a slight apology if you felt we served you too much gravy with your 3 roast... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly the place is pricey. You can only sit down if you buy food. The manager/owner spoke to her staff in inappropriately in front of customers.

7 Thank Liah M
thepeacockbakewell, I haven't exaggerated anything, I've stuck to the facts, at The Peacock, responded to this review

If you are going to post a review Liah M, may I suggest you get your facts right - yes we are a nice pub, but where do you get the information you can only sit down if you buy food. If the Peacock is full, and full in the main with diners, then there may be no tables to... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for Sunday lunch having read reviews on here. Very busy and tables are close together but when you get you food you soon see why it is so busy! All our meals were excellent - we were told there would be a 20 min wait for food which is fine as when it arrived it was perfectly cooked and... More 

3 Thank KarenE1972
thepeacockbakewell, Appreciation is a wonderful thing: It makes what is excellent in others belong to us as well, at The Peacock, responded to this review

I don't think we can do better than serving you excellent food KarenE1972, so thank you for posting your complimentary comments as they are always appreciated! I can confirm the Sunday Lunch is not only perfectly cooked, but beautifully presented and we are often very busy during the 'peak time' of between 12.30 - 2.30pm, especially on Saturdays & Sundays.... More 

Manchester UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We popped in this pub on a weekend, 6pm Sat pm in Bakewell for a drink with a possibility of dining there attracted by the "olde worlde" exterior charm. Whilst my husband ordered the drinks and we waited for our friends I looked for a seat, nearly all the tables had signs " reserved for diners only" not reserved for... More 

9 Thank Yorkiegirl29
thepeacockbakewell, There's a natural law of karma that vindictive people, who go out of their way to hurt others, will end up broke & alone at The Peacock, responded to this review

I just think you got a case of a simple misunderstanding Yorkiegirl29 - is that such a travesty to post a nasty review picking on an individual in a fashion, condemning a lovely as how did you put it " olde worlde" exterior charm? You tell me, it obviously gave you an axe to grind, your prerogative, but if you... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

not very impressed. rip off prices. ignorant staff. went in to eat but unpleasant feel to the place. stacking glasses more important than serving customers. £7.40 for a lager and a coke. Didn't bother eating just left and found somewhere that wanted our business

9 Thank andy s
thepeacockbakewell, Nothing is to be gained by arguing with fools. Nothing can be gained by reasoning with ignorant people, at The Peacock, responded to this review

Your problem andy s is that you are a loser and once a loser always a loser, because your downright ignorance, and yes it is ignorance as you simply don't like paying for good food and drink!!! That in turn you feel gives you the so called right to condemn a hard working honest business because what did you say... More 

Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter had visited here previously and advised us to try so 6 of us drove for one and half hours just to visit this pub. We were not disappointed. The food was faultless and the staff very friendly. We were there for 2 hours or so but was not rushed. The puddings were brilliant, my husband loved the rice... More 

6 Thank Lyn C
thepeacockbakewell, Have faith in your intuition and listen to your gut feeling, at The Peacock, responded to this review

…..and what a review Lyn C for which we thank you humbly. You had faith, and faith was rewarded with good food and friendly staff, which we pride ourselves with at the Peacock with honesty and integrity! Thanks, and we will see you on the way back! More 

Travellers who viewed The Peacock also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Been to The Peacock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12 - US$27
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1729 813635
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town.

We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal.

The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Peacock and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Peacock staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?