We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Inn

Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
+44 1629 813635
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (90 reviews)
“game pie” (15 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 190 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely stay for 2 nights. The food was good and great location. The room was nice although a little dark. The staff were so nice and friendly and we felt very welcome. Would like to come back made our trip very pleasant.

2  Thank Rolland D
thepeacockbakewell, It is nice to be important, but it's more important to be nice, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

All in all Rolland D we ticked the right boxes I feel, so thanks for saying it!

Reviewed June 4, 2017

We visited here during one night stay in Bakewell. Lovely pub, relaxing atmosphere and great food. Portions very generous but delicious! Good wine! The place was fairly busy and service was prompt and friendly. Would recommend.

3  Thank kat123750
thepeacockbakewell, Life is too short not to celebrate nice moments! at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Nothing more to add really kat123750, but we thank you sincerely for your thoughts as there is a saying that every nice piece of work needs the right person in the right place at the right time.

Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

Called in for lunch on the Sunday before bank holiday. As the weather was beautiful, we decided to sit in the garden. Bakewell itself was absolutely full to the rafters, so every pub/eatery was really busy. The menu here is extensive, the quality of the...More

4  Thank Susan K
thepeacockbakewell, There is a saying that every nice piece of work needs the right person in the right place at the right time, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

....and we look forward to your return Susan K as you no doubt appreciate the nice things in life! Thanks for saying it!!!

Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

Just go!! Best fish and chips I've ever had!! Beautiful home cooked food. Would 100% recommend. Right in the middle of the town too. Children's meal was large!!! And lovely!! Thank you so much. If we are this way again we will definitely be returningMore

3  Thank Birchy76
thepeacockbakewell, Quality is not an act, it is a habit, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Take the advice of Birchy76 and just come, because I give you my word we will deliver if it's good food you are after - and that's a promise! You know what's nice about Bakewell? Not only is it a beautiful town, but you have...More

Reviewed May 29, 2017

Cute place with generous seating to eat outside on a nice summers day! Wine quality very good. Ordered the Vegetarian Homity Pie and Steak & Ale Pie (came with a tiny pint of ale on the side). My friend and I both enjoyed our meals...More

2  Thank Sarah C
Reviewed May 28, 2017

Helpful staff found us a table on a very busy Saturday evening. Two (one would have been enough and perhaps price could then be reduced) thick pieces of gammon, egg, chips & salad but good quality. Attentive bar staff (allowed tasting) with a reasonable selection...More

1  Thank grahamleigh-jones
Reviewed May 28, 2017

The food came from a normal enough pub menu but the quality was high. The price of the food was high too but worth the extra on balance. Breakfasts were outstanding. The presentation was particularly good and the variety and fruits and yoghurt were good...More

5  Thank Steviegeeolchfa
thepeacockbakewell, Honest disagreement is often a good sign of progress, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Unfortunately Steviegeeolchfa contrary to your opinion, room 7 is worth every penny of the £125 you were charged for staying at a lovely 200 year old pub in the heart of the Peak District a lovely part of the world - at the week end...More

Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile

Wow - what an amazing meal and fabulous service! My husband and I had Sunday lunch here about 18 months ago when we visited Haddon Hall and loved it so when we decided to spend the week in Bakewell for my 50th birthday we decided...More

2  Thank Penny L
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile

Nice spot and good layout. Despite being very busy food arrived quickly, but salad garnish on a ploughman's and the beef sandwiches was merely a leaf. I am sure a relation to a salad, but distant. The cheese and chutney arrived with no chutney. At...More

10  Thank Rob J
thepeacockbakewell, Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

The only diissapointment Rob J is us at the Peacock, beacause you did not order a ploughman's sandwich - you for everybodies information ordered a cheese sandwich and that is not a cheese and chutney sandwich again for everybodies information - a sandwich we do...More

Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

The food is very good and the portions large making it good value. If the staff paid a bit more attention to the customers instead of wandering away from the bar to chat, I'd have been more happy. Reading other reviews it would seem a...More

1  Thank FoxOnTheRun
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Bakewell
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1,022 reviews
.16 km away
Bagshaw Hall
449 reviews
.28 km away
The Lathkil Hotel
191 reviews
2.43 km away
Hassop Hall Hotel
527 reviews
3.67 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ricci's
569 reviews
.06 km away
Eastern Court Chinese
110 reviews
.03 km away
Upstairs Cafe
196 reviews
.07 km away
Rajas
541 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Monsal Trail
1,236 reviews
.89 km away
Bakewell Old House Museum
198 reviews
.39 km away
All Saints Church
116 reviews
.29 km away
Thornbridge Brewery
85 reviews
1.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michelle B
December 12, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from thepeacockbakewell | Property representative |
Unfortunately if you are a dog owner/lover Michelle, we only allow dogs outside on the patio beer garden area. I hope that answers your question and we may see you during the summer months when it is more likely you can eat... More
1
Vote
SolihullStew
March 7, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RamblingRosie14 | Reviewed this property |
Go next door to the Queens. Dog friendly all year round!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$29
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 813635
  • E-mail
Description
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;