We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Boat Inn Restautant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Scarthin | Cromford, Matlock DE4 3QF, England
+44 1629 258083
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 206: English reviews
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Welcoming, excellent food and service provided to 9 members of a family of all ages. The food was of exceptional, quality ingredients , very generous portions. The landlady said it was her fifth anniversary there. Deserves to do well as they obviously enjoy what they do and take pride in their work. Our compliments to the chef!

Helpful?
Thank bigbudgie2016
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We didn't know the area nor the pub so were reliant upon our friends' local knowledge. They did not disappoint. We both had steaks, mine was a 16 ounce rump, and it was excellent. Sampled the Timothy Taylor bitter which was O.K.

Helpful?
Thank Jason H
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic little pub, dog friendly, cosy and in a lovely location. Food was fantastic and even the dog got a bit of leftover carvery. Low-cost but didn't scrimp on the portion sizes or quality, we over ordered and had to take doggy bag away with us.

Helpful?
Thank SamCatPickle
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Hearty meal after a busy working day was very gratefully received. Homemade traditional pie and chips with free pint and then a place to watch the football was a bonus. Range of drinks from local ales to commercial beers. Friendly landlady, not too familiar but enough to make you feel welcome. Very cosy warm atmosphere. I enjoyed it and would... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsB034
Surrey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have visited previously and had a lovely meal. This time it was the venue for a relatives Wake and the buffet was superb and beautifully set out.

Helpful?
Thank HappytripperSurrey
Derby
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decided to call after a long walk ordered a BBQ burger and a Chicken and Bacon Salad. The burger was just about acceptable, nasty white cob, small burger and obviously frozen chips, served with a dollop of coleslaw which had never seen a carrot and was basically a clump of badly cut white cabbage with a awful lot of mayo.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank marmaladecat
Dave M, Manager at The Boat Inn Restautant, responded to this review

You used to be able to e mail the reviewer and ask them pertinent things like in this case "did you complain ?" as they didn't because no one was aware of this issue before it gets posted on Trip Advisor. People come from far and wide for our coleslaw which we never put carrot in nor will we ever,... More 

walsall
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we enjoyed 4 different meals all delicious good portion sizes cooked fresh to order chicken in bbq sauce was gorgeous and gluten free dishes available too, would certainly return if in area , excellent value for money

Helpful?
Thank alipaulwalsall
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were expecting a lovely quaint pub and first impressions didn't disappoint. However even though it was early, 6:30pm, there was no vegetarian lasagne, no eggs for the mixed grill and no soup left. Our meals were OK, nothing special, with some of the salad leaves past their best. We wouldn't hurry back

Helpful?
1 Thank annaatebh
Dave M, Manager at The Boat Inn Restautant, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - we have over 70 items on the menu and we obviously run out of things every now and again. If I remember correctly we didn't have the first choice of soup, the alternative they didn't want. Apologies al the same . More 

Cromford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We used the Boat as a venue for a buffet. Lorraine and the all of the staff were brilliant and very helpful at all times. The food was excellent and amazing value for money. I would not hesitate to recommend the Boat and thank you to all for your hospitality.

Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferK7613
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visit The Boat whenever we are in Cromford. We always experience great service and the food is excellent and such good value. The staff and locals are always freindly. Last night we stayed to see the band Acoustic Union and a fantastic night was had by all.

Helpful?
1 Thank ajblackton

Travellers who viewed The Boat Inn Restautant also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Boat Inn Restautant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Scarthin | Cromford, Matlock DE4 3QF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Matlock
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 258083

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Boat Inn Restautant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?