We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Deanery

The Old Deanery Hotel & Restaurant Minster Road | Minster Road, Ripon HG4 1QS, England
+44 1765 600003
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good18%
  • Average19%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“fruit cake” (5 reviews)
“tasting menu” (2 reviews)
“clotted cream” (4 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 AM - 9:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Old Deanery Hotel & Restaurant Minster Road | Minster Road, Ripon HG4 1QS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wonderful time the staff couldn’t do enough for us. Brett the duty manager was wonderful even though we only had a small bag he instead on carrying it to our room we were highly delighted with our room it was very clean...More

Thank Lynndilou R
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We visited this hotel to have an afternoon tea as a gift experience but we were very disappointed. The tea room is a dismal yellowy white and has bare floorboards which are noisy and therefore the room lacked any warmth or colour . The fire...More

3  Thank Geoffrey N
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The charm has been ripped out of this old house so it now looks uniformly like so many carpetless, white walled restaurant with brown seats and decor. Nice fire in the bar and comfortable sofas. The food was a strange take on "modern" with strange...More

Thank Clementine849
Reviewed 30 September 2017

If you wish to have a meal in a restaurant with a good choice on the menu and good value for money don't visit the Old Deanery. I have waited 1 week to give them chance to respond to my feedback, given after the meal,...More

Thank Jenny T
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We last ate at The Old Deanery almost 40 years ago and remembered it fondly from then. So when we wanted a special place to share with six friends, we knew just where to go. The staff could not have been more accommodating. One friend...More

Thank TechTraveller
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We were highly recommended to try the old Deanery so We did. Our disappointment started as we arrived the menu was extremely limited. We struggled to order, as the starters arrived the asparagus was burnt and the tips were missing we asked and was recommended...More

Thank Peter W
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

The Old Deanery is always good for a business lunch or one with friends Good lunch menu but we nearly always get sandwiches. The posh fishfinger butty in rustic ciabatta is truly lovely. Served with hand cut proper chips Smoked salmon and cucumber also a...More

Thank Pauline G
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Had a very enjoyable lunch here, just sandwiches but very nice ones, salmon and cream cheese with the best chips ever. Will definitely be returning - not an extensive lunchtime menu but something to suit everyone.

Thank car01092015
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We went to an English sparkling wine and Yorkshire food event - both food and wine were excellent. Thanks to pNick and all the great staff at the Deanery for a superb evening.

Thank menthee07
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I rang to book our afternoon tea, and was told there was no need. When we arrived we were asked why we hadn't booked!!!. The food was served on a mish-mash of China, the tea was in a tea pot that leaked all over the...More

2  Thank Kim S
Chris B, General Manager at The Old Deanery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Many thanks for your review - we welcome all types of feedback whether positive or negative. Unfortunately, as your review had previously stated before being edited, this visit actually took place in 2016 and so does not accurately represent our service & afternoon tea experiences...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Prima Pizzeria & Ristorante
448 reviews
.16 km away
Manchega
117 reviews
.18 km away
Chimes Cafe
179 reviews
.13 km away
The Royal Oak
664 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ripon Cathedral
914 reviews
.09 km away
Workhouse Museum
288 reviews
.34 km away
The Ripon Hornblower
195 reviews
.26 km away
Ripon Cathedral
392 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Loo C
18 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chris B | Property representative |
We serve breakfast 8.30am - 9.30am on a Saturday. We look forward to welcoming you to The Old Deanery soon. Kind regards Chris General Manager
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$37
Meals
Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Old Deanery Hotel & Restaurant Minster Road | Minster Road, Ripon HG4 1QS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Ripon
  • Phone Number: +44 1765 600003
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The Old Deanery
Description
The Old Deanery restaurant is spread out over 3 dining rooms, allowing you to dine overlooking our stunning gardens or the magnificent Ripon Cathedral. Open for lunch, dinner & available to book for private dining, celebrations & weddings.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing