We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ice House Restaurant

The Quay | The Ice House, Ballina, Ireland
+353 96 23500
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good29%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“chowder” (9 reviews)
“salmon” (9 reviews)
“seafood” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Irish, European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Quay | The Ice House, Ballina, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Meat dishes were great, The risotto and fish dishes were not really great. The service was very good.More

Thank Wama10
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review and valued feedback of our restaurant at the Ice House. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your overall dining experience with us recently and that the level of service you received overall impressed you, however I...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice ambience and staff - relaxed and casual, nice menu for 2 or 3 course option and good value.More

Thank l0l66
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of our restaurant at the Ice House. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your recent Sunday lunch and enjoyed the ambiance and service you received from our team during your visit. We look forward to looking...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I found the food here nice,but I thought it was expensive for what I received,the choice was good but what I ordered wasn't cooked the way it should of been,I had quail and pheasant,both tasted nice but were overcooked,my partner had calamari which was frozen,I...More

Thank Ourlads
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of the restaurant here at the Ice House. I am sorry to read that some aspects of your recent dining experience with us did not meet your expectations on this occasion, I will discuss your feedback with...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When our group arrived at the Icehouse for lunch the small reception area/foyer was full of large blue linen trolleys, not a great first impression. The bar setting is nice with views of the river. The food served in the bar is expensive and is...More

Thank conor m
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of the restaurant here at the Ice House. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. I would like to discuss your experience in more detail if you wouldn't mind...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great rooms though getting a bit tired. Some great staff though others less so, especially in the restaurant where service was functional. Food good but unfortunately the restaurant is far too hot so left early. Overall a nice hotel in a lovely setting but overpricedMore

Thank TBRJ
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to read that on this occasion you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, we will take your valued feedback on board and discuss your experience with our relevant teams, on a positive...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Revisiting the Ice House restaurant after a few months when we really enjoyed our dinner. Restaurant was nicely busy, we were shown to our table given our water, menu and then left on our own for nearly fifteen minutes when I asked if we could...More

Thank Paul M
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of the the Ice House. I am sorry to read that your return visit did not meet expectations on this occasion, I will look into the comments you have highlighted in your review which contributed to your...More

Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Went to the ice house on a spa package which included tea/ coffee and scones on arrival a treatment and lunch fabulous location we had tea and scones on arrival they were fabulous I had a back n head massage and mini facial its was...More

Thank MaryPmcdonnell
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to read that on this occasion you did not enjoy your overall dining experience with us, we will take your valued feedback on board and discuss your comments with our relevant teams, on a...More

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Had an eveing meal in the restaurant and breakfast the following morning..absolutely delicious food and great staff. The ambience was just beautiful.More

1  Thank 14,108
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review and valued feedback of the restaurant at the Ice House. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your dining experience's with us, our chef and indeed our entire team will be delighted with your positive comments. We...More

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed an excellent lunch in the bar with very pleasant views of the river. The food was verygood quality and reasonable value. The hotel is a great place for an afternoon or night away. The stroll down to view a concrete ship near the...More

1  Thank JS19772017
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of our restaurant at the Ice House. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your recent bar lunch and that your experience was enhanced by our wonderful location over looking the river Moy - our team will...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Consistent and fine dining each time. 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts were highly enjoyed during our stay at the hotel. Thank you to the staff.More

1  Thank Andrew M
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of the restaurant at the Ice House. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your dining experience and indeed your stay with us, our chef and our entire team will appreciate your comments. We look forward to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dillons Bar & Restaurant
495 reviews
1.50 km away
Belleek Castle Restaurant
313 reviews
.74 km away
Crockets on the Quay
370 reviews
.52 km away
The Everest
187 reviews
1.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Belleek Castle Museum
177 reviews
.75 km away
Connacht Whiskey Company
49 reviews
.66 km away
Gore Knox Monument
6 reviews
.81 km away
Rachel's Irish Adventures
21 reviews
.49 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ice House Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$71
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Quay | The Ice House, Ballina, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Mayo  >  Ballina
  • Phone Number: +353 96 23500
  • E-mail
Description
Our funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design at the Ice House combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled view from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and Ireland's best boutique hotel spa guaranteed to soothe, the Ice House is unlike any other hotels in Mayo. Discover the best of both worlds here in Ballina and make the Ice House your escape to the extraordinary. Breakfast you'll want to get out of bed for, lunch to linger over and dinner that's sure to delight...Let our restaurant menus whet your appetite and here at the Ice House, let us take care of everything else. There's simply no better restaurant in Ballina.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing