We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hyland's Burren Restaurant

The Square, Ballyvaughan, Ireland
+353 65 707 7037
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good32%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (11 reviews)
“bread” (6 reviews)
“long hike” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Square, Ballyvaughan, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 137 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2018

We ordered a half dozen oysters and two soups for dinner. The waitstaff wasn't that busy but it took 45 minutes for our food to arrive. The oysters smelled like a wet dish rag, they weren't served on ice and the last one of the...More

Thank Martha A
Reviewed August 19, 2018

This used to be a cosy, unpretentious place for reasonable food at a reasonable price. Our experience for a family dinner in the past week was bizarre. The restaurant was presided over by a matron-like figure who marched about supervising the staff, who are exceedingly...More

Thank Ludraman
Reviewed July 21, 2018

Super little pub with seats in the sun in the early evening. Seating limited and very popular; but it is worth waiting for a seat and customers move on fairly quickly. Did not eat but food looked attratractive and plentiful. Chips looked delish.

2  Thank Yvonne T
Reviewed June 27, 2018

Stopped in for couple of quick stouts with a cycling group last week and was treated to some great traditional music by local artists including the proprietor of the nearby Cappabhaile B&B Wonderful atmosphere, warm hosts, and lively atmosphere.

1  Thank Joe O
HylandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hyland's Burren Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Thank you joe for sharing such a very positive review of your visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

It was quiet when we arrived at 18.30. There's 3 areas where you can eat, the bar, the restaurant and in between. Plenty of space for a stroller. Unfortunately, it took quite a while before our food arrived. The kids pasta had been kept warm...More

1  Thank Maps710029
HylandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hyland's Burren Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. Please contact us as we need to understand why you did not receive your steak dinner as requested.

Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Not only was the food delicious and reasonably priced, it was SO pretty! From the appetizers to the dessert, everything was beautifully presented, and it was all part of the meal, not just for decoration. Fresh thyme sprigs with the lamb shanks. Caramelized sugar lace...More

Thank jenelda055
HylandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hyland's Burren Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of your dinning experience with us. We have passed on your praise to our chefs, who really appreciate such positive feedback to their efforts to delight our customers. Look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Ballyvaughan and decided to go out to dinner as a family- 2 adults and 2 young teenagers. We walked into Hyland’s as it said serves food daily. The reception we received was frosty. We were advised that they did not serve food...More

Thank Darren P
HylandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hyland's Burren Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2018

We are sorry that you and your family were disappointed that we were not serving food on the evening you called. Two of our chefs were unable to work for genuine short term reasons, so we had no option but to close our kitchen. This...More

Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

We were passing through and stopped for lunch here. There was lots of options on the menu and they had daily specials too. We had the open crab sandwich and steak sandwich. Both were very good and very filling. The crab was beautifully flavoured and...More

1  Thank 539gillians
HylandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hyland's Burren Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Thank you Gillian for posting such a positive review of your dinning experience with us. This is very much appreciated.

Reviewed February 21, 2018

We were sent by the folks at Monk's to Hyland's Pub to enjoy traditional Irish music. Musicians from all over Ireland and Wales were there. It was welcoming, upbeat, just a real fun place. Recently renovated, it was clean, well-painted, lots of wood, new candles,...More

2  Thank jklavier
HylandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hyland's Burren Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Thank you for registering such a wonderful review of your visits with us in February. It is always heartening to get such positive feedback from our customers. Look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Reviewed November 7, 2017

In the charming village of Ballyvaughan this restaurant was a real find. Very clean and comfortable with attentive table servers and a most enjoyable menu. Both of us had fish and chips which were among the best we have had in Ireland. Friends with us...More

1  Thank Joe D
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
Hylands Burren Hotel
298 reviews
.44 km away
Gregans Castle Hotel
543 reviews
5.21 km away
Rathbaun Hotel
178 reviews
13.72 km away
Royal Spa Hotel
85 reviews
13.72 km away
Nearby Restaurants
O'Loclainn's Pub
229 reviews
.36 km away
Tea and Garden Rooms
440 reviews
.20 km away
Monks Ballyvaughan
972 reviews
.24 km away
The Wild Atlantic Lodge
322 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
Burren Birds of Prey Centre
627 reviews
.00 km away
The Russell Gallery
40 reviews
6.02 km away
Hazel Mountain Chocolates
326 reviews
6.89 km away
Burren Exposure
122 reviews
.00 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hyland's Burren Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$45
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, European, Pub
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Square, Ballyvaughan, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Munster  >  County Clare  >  The Burren  >  Ballyvaughan
  • Phone Number: +353 65 707 7037
  • E-mail
Description
Dinning at Hylands Burren Hotel is located in picturesque village of Ballyvaughan, Co. Clare which is the mid point of the Wild Atlantic Way and is surrounded by the wonderful Burren district of Co. Clare. The hotel is family owned and managed by the Quinn family and is a member of the Burren Food Trail. We are committed to offering our guests good quality food using local ingredients as much as possible. You will be assured of a great welcome and a willinginess to serve you great food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing