We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bull Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Regent Street, Rolvenden TN17 4PB, England
+44 1580 241212
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 221: English reviews
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

me and the other half popped in last week for lunch,very quiet for a Friday but didn't put us off (the weather may have had something to do with it) decided to have the lamb stiffado mash and veg, delicious and all cooked well, nice pint of 3 legs bitter(do miss the old dairy) but it was a good alternative,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan D
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Consistently good food. The tarte tatin is better than any equivalent I've eaten in France. Great beers. Friendly service. There's everythibg to like!

Helpful?
Thank nw12
Management response:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We hugely appreciate it and hope to see you again soon! The tart tatin served with home made ginger and marmalade ice cream is one of our house puddings and will certainly stay on the menu for the foreseeable future! More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had Sunday lunch here and were warmly welcomed. The food was served quickly and every member of our party couldn't fault any of it! We will certainly return :)

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
Management response:

Thanks Mark for writing such a great review - we very much appreciate it and hope to see you and your family again soon! More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

I have been meaning to write a review for ages for this beautiful place! I came here on business so was eating alone! From the moment I pulled up the experience was a pleasure! I was met in the car park by the pubs dog! A gorgeous friendly black lab (I think!) , when I came into the pub the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel E R
Management response:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We hope you'll come and see us again soon! More 

Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We both enjoyed delicious steaks with trimmings. Very helpful staff. Good atmosphere Will return and recommend to friends

Helpful?
Thank annB1943
Management response:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a good review - it's much appreciated by all! We hope to see you again soon! More 

Mayfield Sussex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We had lunch with friends here. The decor is very nice. Smart and spacious. Nice atmosphere.The staff were lovely. Very happy and helpful. They had a separate gluten free menu for one of our party, and she was very excited that the chocolate brownie was gluten free. Very delicious it was too. The menu is not vast, and a specials... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eileen W
Management response:

Thanks for your lovely review, we hope to see you again soon! More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Bull Inn Lodges (behind the pub) and ate in the Bull Inn on both nights of our stay. A little on the pricy side, but tasty and well presented. We were made to feel very welcome by the landlord and staff. Well stocked bar. Friendly pub dog.

Helpful?
Thank chrisdg2015
Management response:

Thanks for your lovely review, when it comes to pricing our food it's always tricky, but everything we do is homemade unlike most other pubs, so we consider our selves reasonably priced! Hope to see you soon! More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2017

This was a terrible experience. The landlord snapped at me for wanting to order my food slightly after he felt appropriate. Then I got an empty apology from the landlady. I don't recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Management response:

Empty apology for what?! Please don't darken our doors again! Your review is totally unreasonable and not consistent with others! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2017

My family and l decided at short notice to go out for lunch and we decided to go back to the Bull Inn in Rolvenden as we had a great meal there last time. Once again we received a great welcome from the staff and although we were running a bit late we were still given time to have a... More 

Helpful?
Thank mhcs
Management response:

Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We hope to see you again soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Really good to be taken back to eat here again. Another fantastic dining experience, especially as we all know what we like......! Really good to have kidneys, delicious. Very good evening, thank you all. Will be back.

Helpful?
Thank REJ3000
Management response:

Thanks for visiting us again, so glad you had a super time and we very much appreciate your fabulous review! More 

Travellers who viewed The Bull Inn also viewed

 
Rolvenden, Kent
 

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$14
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Regent Street, Rolvenden TN17 4PB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Rolvenden
  • Phone Number: +44 1580 241212
Description
he Bull Inn, is a Coaching Inn dating back to the 15th century, situated in Rolvenden at the heart of the Weald. With open fires and comfortable surroundings providing a refuse to weary travellers, locals and dogs alike.We pride ourselves on good home-cooked country pub food, using local produce wherever possible. We also offer prize winning wines and beers from local vineyards and the village’s own brewery ‘The Old Dairy’A warm welcome, daily specials and a monthly changing menu await you at The Bull.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bull Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?