We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox & Goose at Coombe Bissett

Blandford Rd, Coombe Bissett, Salisbury SP5 4LE, England
+44 1722 718437
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (9 reviews)
“salmon” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Blandford Rd, Coombe Bissett, Salisbury SP5 4LE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

we popped in for a meal whilst staying at The Old Dairy B&B. just round the corner. The food is great and a good menu to choose from. Recommend this place really great.More

Thank Baggy_11
Keith S, Owner at The Fox & Goose at Coombe Bissett, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. We are glad you enjoyed our food and hospitality and the new B&B, the Old Dairy has been getting good reviews whilst sending a lot of their guests to ourselves. Hope to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely pub. Went in after a day out of bowling wanting something to eat. The hospitality was brilliant very attentive. We were 4 adults and 4 children and had an enjoyable meal. The landlord Kieth and staff were very friendly. Will be back...More

Thank Thewhitehartbish
Keith S, Owner at The Fox & Goose at Coombe Bissett, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for the personnal comment about myself and the staff will appreciate you comments about their friendliness and hospitality they give to all our customers. Look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A return visit to the Fox and Goose, in the main the food was of good quality, good service and a warm welcome - as anticipated. The only thing that I want to note is that the ribs were a bit tough, not worth complaining...More

1  Thank incrediblehulk2016
Keith S, Owner at The Fox & Goose at Coombe Bissett, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your comments about the ribs, unfortunately we used a different supplier for these ribs and the quality was not as good as usual. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to celebrate 2 birthdays in one go. We haven't been to the Fox and Goose for some time, but decided to try it as we were disappointed with other local pubs in the Salisbury area. Warm welcome, nice atmosphere, friendly staff, served quick,...More

Thank Chris W
Keith S, Owner at The Fox & Goose at Coombe Bissett, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you returned to visit us and enjoyed your time with us. I will pass on your comments to the staff who always appreciate a positive and honest review. Regards

Reviewed April 15, 2018

Once again we have begun our travels between Bedfordshire and Dorset. As has become our custom we call into The Fox and Goose. We haven't visited since November 2017 but as soon as we walked in the door the staff immediately recognised us and gave...More

Thank Carole S
Keith S, Owner at The Fox & Goose at Coombe Bissett, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear Carole Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed another visit to us on your way to Dorset.It was good to see you both again. I look forward to seeing you again during the holiday season. Best regards

Reviewed April 13, 2018

Just out of Salisbury Hospital following a 48 hour starving for a procedure, I was ready to eat a table. Instead I had Shepherds Pie and waffle, ice cream and golden syrup. And a large glass of rose wine. My husband had the chicken curry....More

Thank Laurie L
Keith S, Owner at The Fox & Goose at Coombe Bissett, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit, especially after coming out of hospital. I'm sure the food was appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere of the Pub and we look forward...More

Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

Fox & Goose is always our pit stop for lunch when down this part of the coast. Friendly staff, lovely food, good sized portions and good prices. Would highly recommend this place, we always look forward to our visits, it starts off our holiday trip...More

Thank Serafina H
Keith S, Owner at The Fox & Goose at Coombe Bissett, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Thank you for your review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit. It is always good to see customers who return whenever they can and we are glad it starts your holiday in such a postive and enjoyable way. Look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed April 3, 2018

What a welcome fire in hearth smiling staff - gammon and chips great value and scampi with chips announced as a winner. So full no dessert but excellent coffee with mint chocolate!! The baked potato with tuna and celery went down well too.

Thank Murial T
Keith S, Owner at The Fox & Goose at Coombe Bissett, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. I will pass on your comments to the staff who appreciate positive and complimentary reviews like yours. Look forward to seeing you soon. Best regards

Reviewed March 31, 2018

My wife and I called into the Fox and Goose Public House for a late lunch and we weren't disappointed. I had the lamb steak, mash and vegetables, superb dish and the two waitresses helped while away the short time between ordering and having the...More

Thank vivandtedbeech
keithandsuesmith, Owner at The Fox & Goose at Coombe Bissett, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. The lamb steak from our locally family owned butcher is a favourite meal and we are glad you enjoyed the food, service and friendly hospitality from our staff. I shall pass on...More

Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

We stopped for lunch and it was rather busy but to be expected on a Sunday, The beef was off the menu, lamb was a chop rather than a joint so was the pork! As for prices a little on the expensive side for what...More

1  Thank Sanaphere
keithandsuesmith, Owner at The Fox & Goose at Coombe Bissett, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Thank you your review but some of your comments are a bit confusing. You are correct in that due to the pub being busy the Roast Beef finished very quickly. However the Lamb and the Pork you described as like a chop rather than a...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Coombe Bissett Hotels
The Old Mill Hotel
371 reviews
4.55 km away
Grasmere House Hotel
631 reviews
4.60 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
973 reviews
4.77 km away
Cricket Field House
447 reviews
5.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The White Hart
82 reviews
3.79 km away
Yew Tree Inn
166 reviews
3.93 km away
Old Mill Restaurant
188 reviews
4.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wilton House
296 reviews
5.24 km away
The White Horse
6 reviews
5.25 km away
Wessex Raceway / Virtual Warfare
32 reviews
5.36 km away
Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta
5,455 reviews
5.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bbtablet
September 30, 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from keithandsuesmith | Property representative |
Hi, you have to spend a minimum of £30 to be able to claim the £10 off the bill, eg if your bill is £31.00 you can claim the £10 voucher and you would owe £21.00. I hope this explains it clearly for you. Regards The Fox and... More
0
Votes
annje1661
May 23, 2015|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from keithandsuesmith | Property representative |
We can accommodate parties up to 32 people for pre- Christmas Day functions in December and there is plenty of parking. Regards
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Blandford Rd, Coombe Bissett, Salisbury SP5 4LE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury  >  Coombe Bissett
  • Phone Number: +44 1722 718437
  • E-mail
Description
A Village Freehouse in the picturesque village of Coombe Bissett 2 miles outside of Salisbury on the A354. Offering Local and National Real Ales, Wines from around the World and Homecooked Food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;