We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windmill

The Windmill London Road, Windlesham GU20 6PJ, England
+44 1276 451330
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good32%
  • Average17%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“crab” (10 reviews)
“chorizo” (7 reviews)
“sunday roast” (15 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Windmill London Road, Windlesham GU20 6PJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 599 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

This is our local and we wanted to see what the new decor was like so we popped in for a drink. We thought it very very smart and the fire would have been great if we could get near it. It had been commandeered...More

Thank Ross B
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Guys you need to improve your food! Seriously! Beautiful decoration, nice atmosphere but the food is disappointing. Windmill is my local pub and it’s such a shame that the food is not good. I had the burger and my wife had the southern fried chicken....More

Thank Ger r
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We went for an early dinner on a Saturday. Choice on menu was great, service was attentive but not overbearing. Despite being stuffed after the main courses we both forced ourselves to have a dessert - a crumble; gorgeous. Only downside was the room was...More

Thank stevenlowder
Reviewed 6 days ago

Dissapointed with this given it has just had a revamp of the interior and exterior they should really concentrate on improving the food and the service

Thank windleshamgirl
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been meaning to try this place after the refurb and some good reviews. A friend and I had been out all morning and happened to be passing about lunchtime so we decided to stop. Initially we were just going to have a coffee as neither...More

1  Thank WendyinAscot
WindmillManager, Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your detailed review. We have passed on your comments to the kitchen, but feel free to always ask for more bread free of charge. Our Sunday roasts are very large, so we really hope you could try us then. Perhaps a roast...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wow, what a busy place for a grey Wednesday lunchtime. All very pleasant, food, service and wine, would happily revisitMore

2  Thank Nick S
WindmillManager, Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thankyou for taking the time to leave great feedback. Getting into winter we will always have a roaring fire waiting to invite you in from the grey (or snowy!) weather, and we are busy at most times now with Christmas parties. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We haven’t been to the Windmill for over a year as we were unhappy with the quality of the food on a couple of earlier visits. I’m very pleased to say that the food has improved enormously. We had a little 18 month old with...More

2  Thank Colin C
WindmillManager, Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

I'm glad you are happy with the refurb and our efforts and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Customer service is a disaster when the manager is rude and ignores a queue at the bar because she thinks staff training is more important at 6pm in the evening.More

2  Thank tbhughes
WindmillManager, Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We are sorry you felt that way, however, as you can see by previous reviews, we were having some trouble with understaffing and recruitment. Sometimes team training is necessary, especially when it was that team members first day. We employ new staff so that there...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in initially just for one drink but after spying the wonderful dishes coming out of the kitchen, we stayed for lunch. Wonderful trio of roasts dinner! The staff were excellent and despite being very busy, the service was top notch and very welcoming. Highly...More

2  Thank AngieDava
WindmillManager, Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi AngieDava, Thanks for the great review, very pleased to hear that you would highly recommend The Windmill. See you again soon. Kind Regards, Nathan GM

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for early dinner. Could not fault the service they really made the visit enjoyable. The food was very good no one was disappointed- we were a mixed group of friends and family celebrating my daughters birthday and they were more than happy for...More

1  Thank juliette099
WindmillManager, Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi juliette099, Thanks for taking the time to leave your 5* review. Very glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. See next time. Kind Regards Nathan GM

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Half Moon
266 reviews
1.27 km away
The Bee
242 reviews
.25 km away
Casa Nostra
11 reviews
1.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Spa at Pennyhill Park
202 reviews
1.59 km away
Sunningdale Golf Club
35 reviews
3.24 km away
The Duke
11 reviews
3.27 km away
Ascot Racecourse
822 reviews
3.93 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Littlepixie46
27 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from TheAdamsFamily286 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, Yes there is an area for coffee, it is very busy so I would say definitely need to book. Regarding coeliac dishes, I know that we have asked for knowledge with Carbs as we have type 1 Diabetes in our family & Dairy... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Windmill London Road, Windlesham GU20 6PJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Windlesham
  • Phone Number: +44 1276 451330
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing