We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barn

Mwyndy | Pontyclun, Llantrisant CF72 8PJ, Wales
+44 1443 222333
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good18%
  • Average11%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (46 reviews)
“beer garden” (11 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mwyndy | Pontyclun, Llantrisant CF72 8PJ, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we booked a 4 course Christmas dinner..actually it's 3 with a coffee and forerro rocher. The atmosphere was pleasant, so was the layout and the staff very friendly BUT they need a new cook. The food was much to be desired. I like Al dente...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank Julie J
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Christmas Day meal cost £49.95 per head for my wife and both our parents. We arrived at the pub entrance to see the floor and a table next to the front door full of cigarette stubs - no astray smokers just used the table....More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank David F
Reviewed November 27, 2018 via mobile

Came here last week with my family was a large group. (40 adults 7children) amazing food , staff was so friendly and couldn’t help enough . Children made a huge mess and I offered to help clean it up but staff was more than happy...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Navigate07019077852
Reviewed November 27, 2018 via mobile

Friendly and welcoming family restaurant, offering lovely food at decent prices. £8.50 for a 3 course meal!! Staff are very attentive and the food was cooked swiftly. From burgers, wraps, curries, steaks, Sunday lunches, and mixed grills, there is something for everyone. They also offer...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Ameliajf12
Reviewed November 27, 2018 via mobile

Had a family meal with my young daughter and had a wonderful experience. They have a lovely outdoor area with slide that my daughter loved! We will be back soon.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Wander43510860729
Reviewed October 31, 2018 via mobile

Called in with my friend for a two course lunch. Took 50 mins for simple food to arrive then asked for our desserts and these took a good half hour. When they arrived we just about to good we stayed and had to wait for...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank johnmO2902OA
OsianL3, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2018

Hi John M, Apologies for your bad experience. I hope your next visit is a happy and joyous visit. Regards Osian

Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

Osian and all staff went over and above. Very friendly, helpful and obliging, nice food, lovely location. Thank you. The Batchelors

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Jemma B
OsianL3, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Hi jemma B, Was a pleasure to be able to help you celebrate a family occasion. Thank you for the kind words and I look forward to seeing you and your family here again soon. Regards Osian

Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

Called in on a Saturday afternoon and were seated straight away. Ordered our food (a sandwich and a curry) then waited for half an hour before the waitress came to say that they didn't have the curry I'd ordered. When I asked why it had...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Z7771YXadamp
OsianL3, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Hi Adam P, Sorry that your visit wasn't a good one. Should you wish to visit us again I am certain you will enjoy your time with us. Kind regards Osian

Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

Terrible service from the manager Waited over 50 minutes for our food ( only a toasted sandwich and sides ) when asked about the wait the response was a kitchen issue to which no one came to say. Order came wrong, when the correct then...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Jodie B
OsianL3, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2018

Hi Jodie B, I do believe that this issue was resolved at the time of your visit. I apologise again that you did not enjoy your experience with us, however I also would like to add that I had to apologise on behalf of you...More

Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

Been here a course me times. Great setting for family and friends. Always a great menu choice and staff always happy to help. Not over priced and portion sizes are more than adequate. If you want a good serving of food at a fair price...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Nikki M
OsianL3, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2018

Hi Nikki M, Thank you for your kind words. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. It was a pleasure meeting you and look forward to seeing you back here again soon Regarda

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
662 reviews
1.22 km away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
579 reviews
2.77 km away
Scotts Hotel
27 reviews
3.21 km away
Vale Resort
1,900 reviews
3.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Miskin Arms
476 reviews
1.09 km away
The Cross Inn Hotel
87 reviews
1.53 km away
Leekes Department Store Restaurant
28 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Giles Gallery
34 reviews
2.12 km away
Hensol Golf Academy
7 reviews
2.76 km away
The Royal Mint Experience
1,284 reviews
3.68 km away
Hendrewennol Fruit Garden
163 reviews
6.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Diane M
October 23, 2016|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from OsianL3 | Property representative |
We serve food all day from 12 noon until 9 o clock. On Sunday we serve until 8 o clock.
0
Votes
Tracey S
September 30, 2015|
Answer
Response from Philtonteg | Reviewed this property |
I think I have seen something on the menu about gluten free meals,but my advice is to ring them sorry l can't be more helpful
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mwyndy | Pontyclun, Llantrisant CF72 8PJ, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Rhondda Cynon Taff  >  Llantrisant
  • Phone Number: +44 1443 222333
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing