We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barn

Mwyndy | Pontyclun, Llantrisant CF72 8PJ, Wales
+44 1443 222333
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good19%
  • Average11%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible18%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (43 reviews)
“grill night” (4 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 p.m. - 11:30 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mwyndy | Pontyclun, Llantrisant CF72 8PJ, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 402 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Terrible service from the manager Waited over 50 minutes for our food ( only a toasted sandwich and sides ) when asked about the wait the response was a kitchen issue to which no one came to say. Order came wrong, when the correct then...More

Thank Jodie B
OsianL3, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Jodie B, I do believe that this issue was resolved at the time of your visit. I apologise again that you did not enjoy your experience with us, however I also would like to add that I had to apologise on behalf of you...More

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Been here a course me times. Great setting for family and friends. Always a great menu choice and staff always happy to help. Not over priced and portion sizes are more than adequate. If you want a good serving of food at a fair price...More

Thank Nikki M
OsianL3, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Nikki M, Thank you for your kind words. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. It was a pleasure meeting you and look forward to seeing you back here again soon Regarda

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Just got back from awful experience at The Barn. 2 of us went for Wednesday deal: Curry with a drink for £7.95 and it was bland. 2 others had Veggie Smoked Cheddar Wellingtons. They were tasteless with no cheese flavour which is just bizarre. They...More

Thank John K
OsianL3, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi John K, Apologies that your experience wasn't a happy one. We strive to please everyone and unfortunately we weren't successful at this time. In regards to the food unfortunately the items are out of our hands as we use a supplier for said items;...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just walked out of there now and will never ever go back! Woman behind the bar was rude! No customer service at all! Waited 50 mins for food that was cold, they couldn’t reheat it properly obviously!! No apology, nothing! Another table had their starts,...More

1  Thank Leanne F
OsianL3, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi leanne, Could you contact me on Barn.pontyclun@phoenixpub.co.uk to discuss this visit further as I have never heard of such complaint from my staff. Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at seven there was one staff serving i was the only person waiting to be served . it still took her 15 mins to serve me as the phone was ringing all the time . when i was asked what i wanted i...More

1  Thank tracey w
OsianL3, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Tracey w, I offer you to contact me regarding this complaint as this does not add up to any event that happened on the date you said you were here. The fact that you said you waited 90 minutes for food simply does not...More

Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

After coming here as a late birthday lunch on a Sunday it was literally shocking. The tables were dirty and the bar was the same yet there was 3/4 female members of staff too busy talking an on there phones. As for the food we...More

1  Thank mrsbev2010
Osian L, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Hi mrsbev2010, I do believe that this issue has been sorted and that a return meal has now been eaten and enjoyed. May I thank you for coming back and giving us another chance and I am so pleased you came back 😊 Was a...More

Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

Attended a family meal all prearranged. The service was terrible. Meals came out in dribs and drabs. Incorrect meals. It took 2 hours to get my meal after complaining. Burger buns where just white not toasted. My mam who’s birthday it was did not get...More

1  Thank jaypricewales
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

We chose this place for a family meal because on their website they offered 2 courses for £6.50 before 5pm. Arrived at 4.30pm to be told the kitchen wasn’t opening until 5pm as the chef had had to deliver supplies to another pub so wasn’t...More

Thank Amy Y
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Have normally had an enjoyable experience here however on the last two occasions we have had an awful experience! We were told to take a seat on a table that had not been cleaned from the previous guests, we didn’t mind as we thought they...More

Thank CJJ96
Reviewed July 3, 2018 via mobile

Popped in recently having taken the dog for a walk passed cemetery. Cracking beer garden out the back where You can take the dog (although he did groan at the peacocks) cracking pint, really friendly staff. Good park/play area for the kids.More

Thank Craig W
Osian L, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Hi Craig w, Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit recently and that the dog did too! I look forward to seeing you back soon, and I'm sure the peacocks look forward to seeing the dog also!,...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
635 reviews
1.22 km away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
567 reviews
2.77 km away
Scotts Hotel
26 reviews
3.21 km away
Vale Resort
1,836 reviews
3.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Miskin Arms
449 reviews
1.09 km away
The Cross Inn Hotel
84 reviews
1.53 km away
Leekes Department Store Restaurant
24 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Giles Gallery
33 reviews
2.12 km away
Hensol Golf Academy
6 reviews
2.76 km away
The Royal Mint Experience
1,230 reviews
3.68 km away
Hendrewennol Fruit Garden
163 reviews
6.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Diane M
October 23, 2016|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from OsianL3 | Property representative |
We serve food all day from 12 noon until 9 o clock. On Sunday we serve until 8 o clock.
0
Votes
Tracey S
September 30, 2015|
Answer
Response from Philtonteg | Reviewed this property |
I think I have seen something on the menu about gluten free meals,but my advice is to ring them sorry l can't be more helpful
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mwyndy | Pontyclun, Llantrisant CF72 8PJ, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Rhondda Cynon Taff  >  Llantrisant
  • Phone Number: +44 1443 222333
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing