We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Porto Vecchio

Triq Martino Garzes | Yacht Marina, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 2413, Malta
+356 2156 3317
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good27%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“fresh fish” (23 reviews)
“pork cheeks” (4 reviews)
“risotto” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Italian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Triq Martino Garzes | Yacht Marina, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 2413, Malta
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely atmosphere but it was very expensive. The menu has a very limited choice of items and it does not reflect the prices advertised on the website's menu. Will think it twice before going again

Thank jtovic
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love this restaurant normally over the years. This year we were there at the end of May and decided to go for Lunch. Ordered of the menu Fresh Sardines and could not believe it when we received anchovies on salad. I had requested salad. Don't...More

Thank carrigreche
Walter J, General Manager at Porto Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear sir/madam Please allow me to quote to you how our Insalata dish is composed on the menu and on our website: "GRILLED MARINATED PEPPERS, MARROWS, ARTICHOKES & CHERRY TOMATOES, BUFALA MOZZARELLA, WHITE SARDINES, AUBERGINE PUREE, SALAD LEAVES" The white sardines are marinated and delicious....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The venue and the setting of this place is just wonderful. Perfect place with a view of the Mgarr harbour. We came here for dinner,the place is great the food is great and nothing to complain about. The aljotta is super yummy and rich as...More

Thank stephiepepsi
Walter J, General Manager at Porto Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice and positive comments.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to this restaurant with some friends of ours and everyone ordered a different meal. His pasta dishes were a favorite of most of the group and I had ordered lamb. I had asked the waiter if it was New Zealand lamb that he...More

Thank ManchesterUnited1
Walter J, General Manager at Porto Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am sorry to hear that you did not like our lamb, but I can assure you that the lamb is definitely New Zealand lamb.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were a group of 8 adults and 2 children. We ordered a variety of starters and main courses which included both meat and fish dishes. The food and service were good. Nothing to write home about but good. One of the dishes was a...More

Thank Leslie C
Walter J, General Manager at Porto Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

As is written on the menu in the fish section, "PLEASE ASK FOR WEIGHT AND PRICE". Customers are told the weight and price of the fish chosen. It always depends on the fish chosen and even seasonality. If a 650gr fresh fish is consumed by...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very good food. Over priced and service is very very slow. What a pity. Over all the slow service ruined the night.

Thank RubenCaruana
Walter J, General Manager at Porto Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Our sincere apologies if you experienced slow service. It is definitely not normal, as you can see from other reviews.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last week we had a fantastic experience! Very attentive service. We ate Aliotta & Ta'Aliata, which was well cooked and tasty. We will definitely come again!

Thank SportBilly09
Walter J, General Manager at Porto Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind comments.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i got to Gozo late in the afternoon and found Tmun closed, so opted for this restaurant. I was with a foreign friend and wished to eat fish. We were also in a hurry so decided to go for 1 main dish. The waitress came...More

Thank VictorBonello
Walter J, General Manager at Porto Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am sorry it took some time for me to respond to your very negative comments, but we are very busy people, thank God. When customers ask for fish, our staff tell them the price and weight of the fish chosen. It is the customer's...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went with the family for dinner there and while the setting was gorgeous and the food was quite good, the only problem are the prices which are way too high in my opinion..

Thank Didier G
Walter J, General Manager at Porto Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

While we appreciate your comments, you have to appreciate that all dishes are individually priced on the menu. It is up to the customer for him/her to decide if our menu is expensive or not....before they order. Thanks for your review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food is finely prepared with a well varied menu : italian/local dishes. One can enjoy fresh fish or geat tasting steaks with a welcome service attitude. Out door tables are a gem. Recommended.

Thank Joyce M
Walter J, General Manager at Porto Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your very encouraging and positive review. Always a pleasure to serve you.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ta' Philip
164 reviews
.14 km away
Ta' Tona
518 reviews
.20 km away
Maxokk
259 reviews
1.40 km away
Country Terrace
668 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Gleneagles Bar
63 reviews
.21 km away
Amethyst Sailing Trips
30 reviews
.33 km away
Horatio's Upper Deck
49 reviews
.20 km away
Sail Gozo Tours
44 reviews
.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Terri W
1 August 2016|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from HCMM88 | Reviewed this property |
Usually closed on Wednesday
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$26 - US$39
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Triq Martino Garzes | Yacht Marina, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 2413, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Gozo  >  Mgarr
  • Phone Number: +356 2156 3317
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing