We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Elmars in the Valley

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8731 West Swan Rd, Henley Brook, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6055, Australia
+61 8 9296 6354
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 20:30
Wed - Thu 11:00 - 16:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 158: English reviews
western australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Yesterday we lunched at Elma's and were very impressed with the location, service, food and the whole experience We chose to have the "tasting plate for two", very good decision. An Upper Reach white and a pilsner topped off the plate. Presentation great, quality of food terrific and outdoor setting fabulous. Price was good for the quality of the visit.... More 

Helpful?
Thank patto46
Perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Yummy yummy yummy Best lunch I've had in a long time Great and friendly service by all staff. Lots of tables for big families.

Helpful?
Thank carerontherun
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Came for lunch with the family and the service was good. Food was pricey though. Overall an enjoyable experience for folks who were visiting from out of town.

Helpful?
Thank Dave E
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to Elmars for lunch yesterday. Lovely venue but extremely ridiculed by the exorbitant prices and very very poor service. Got short changed twice at the Cash only bar. Ordered a beer and a lemonade and was charged 25 dollars – until I questioned the prices of each. The bar man very well knew what he done. Where in Perth... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Simba M
Perth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Now here is something I don't understand and its beginning to be a trend which is scary and feels like a bit of a rip off!!! Make sure you bring plenty of cash before you come here. They only accept cash at the bar and for payment for the food, and of course in the modern World you aren't anticipating... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank wilathgamwuwa
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We love light beers and were pleasantly surprised that they had some! A wonderful place for a cold beer!

Helpful?
Thank Garry T
Diana T, Manager at Elmars in the Valley, responded to this review

Hi Garry, Thanks so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our range of beers, we actually brew Elmar's beers right here in our microbrewery in the Swan Valley to the standard of Bavarian Purity Law, so we are very happy to be recognised for this! More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

I decided to pop in for lunch today and came out feeling very disappointed with the whole experience. Was asked when entering where I would like to sit, the day nice, so I said outside. Was told I would have to order and pay at the bar if I wanted to sit outside. Fair enough, I did that but was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim T
Diana T, Manager at Elmars in the Valley, responded to this review

Hi Kim, We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback and we are very disappointed to hear our service did not meet your expectations on this occasion. As our outdoor area is bistro style and we do not offer table service, as you were advised, we cannot provide multiple meal services however we are pleased to know you enjoyed... More 

Ellenbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

As a local resident, and Elmar's being a well-established German Venue for Oktoberfest year after year, we were terribly disappointed with the lack of services available. The ticket purchase process was thorough, requiring our names on each ticket & charged a fee by Moshtix to change names (if need be), giving the allusion the event would be equally thorough and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristy A
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

I've tried to post on their Facebook profile..... It had to be vetted first which means it won't get on there.... Out and out the worst organised event I've been to in 4 years in Perth! Money was priority over safety! Security was minimal while idiot content was extremely high!! After a mere 5 hours, fights were breaking out left... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christian P
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

If you enjoy standing in line for hours to get an overpriced beer or cold sausage, Elmars Octoberfest is the place for you. Or you could also line up to get money out of the ATM for all those people that enjoy queuing you will love this Octoberfest. Maybe they should change the name to the queuing fest.

Helpful?
Thank NVus2
Diana T, Manager at Elmars in the Valley, responded to this review

Hi, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and comments with us on your recent Oktoberfest experience. We apologise for the inconvenience, and understand your frustrations. To reduce queue times for drinks, our event staff opened up our inside bar on the day, this was in addition to our 3 bar lines in the beer garden. The... More 

Travellers who viewed Elmars in the Valley also viewed

Henley Brook, Swan Valley
Caversham, Swan Valley
 
Henley Brook, Swan Valley
Henley Brook, Swan Valley
 

Been to Elmars in the Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
German, Bar, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 16:00
Thursday
11:00 - 16:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8731 West Swan Rd, Henley Brook, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6055, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Western Australia  >  Greater Perth  >  Swan Valley  >  Henley Brook
  • Phone Number: +61 8 9296 6354

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Elmars in the Valley and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Perth, Australia
9 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Elmars in the Valley staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?