We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverside Restaurant

Riverside, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EZ, England
+44 1308 422011
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“turbot” (26 reviews)
“seafood” (69 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Riverside, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EZ, England
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Had a dinner for 4 with friends. The fish was superbly fresh, local and beautifully prepared and cooked. Very friendly service, informal setting and decent wine list at sensible prices. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area; lunch would be great here too I reckon.

Thank Stuart F
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 4 days ago

There is an adage that says never go back because you may be disappointed And then there is the exception. My wife and myself had not visited this Restaurant for nearly ten years due to illness and other circumstances and wondered if the memories of...More

Thank graham955
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your lovely review, it makes working in a hot environment worthwhile when we get nice feedback

Reviewed 5 days ago

Half way through our holiday at West Bay we decided to treat ourselves and eat at this restaurant ........... and what a treat . It was such a lovely day that we asked if we could sit outside , the staff were really obliging. The...More

Thank Yvonne B
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for you kind review, the staff and myself greatly appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Reviewed 5 days ago

A nicely situated restaurant sitting on an "island" on the river. The prices cannot be described as cheap, but the food quality was generally very good. I had a starter of scallops followed by turbot. My wife started with bread and oils followed by mussels....More

Thank Stuartbuxton
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you you comments and we are very glad you enjoyed our food. Sorry you felt the mussels were a bit small but mussel size is dependent on the time of the year. Bread is offered at the beginning of the meal and at any...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here for a light evening meal on one of the hottest days of the year. Managed to get a table outside overlooking the harbour / bay. Was greeted by very friendly and efficient staff members, who genuiunely seemed happy to accommodate us, which always...More

Thank HamsterLondon
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed the visit with us and thank you for noticing our refurbishments. Your recommendation is appreciated

Reviewed 1 week ago

Specialty fish restaurant. Lovely location on the Brit near to the harbour with light airy rooms and simple modern decor. Couldn't choose from the set lunch menu because we don't eat shellfish/pig and as it was 32 C didn't fancy the soup. So went a...More

Thank Elcbee
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for you review, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Sorry you felt it expensive but as you say running a small business (rates, water, staff, VAT etc.) comes at a cost

Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I went to the restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. We were made very welcome and had a good table with a great view. The fish was beautiful and we enjoyed the evening. The only negative is the price.

Thank Laurencecole
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

thank you for taking the time to review us. We were really pleased that you chose us for your special occasion unfortunately the price is dictated by the market as we only buy top quality fish and pay our staff well over the minimum wage

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were lucky to pop in here for lunch. Lovely location on the river yet right in the centre of West Bay. The Dorset Crab salad was excellent as was the mussels. Lovely place both inside and outside. I would suspect in peak season booking...More

Thank alisonsher
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your kind review. It's greatly appreciated by all the staff

Reviewed 1 week ago

The headline sums it up: pretentious prices most certainly not backed up by what was on the plate. A good location and full marks for front-of-house but completely average service from the kitchen. Disappointing, and not worth a return.

Thank YetAnotherLondoner
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

sorry you felt we were overpriced and average - good luck in finding a venue more to your taste

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I had dinner there recently, the service was very good and the food was reasonable, we had a lovely table with a great view however it was incredibly expensive especially the wine - not cheap to eat there at all

Thank NettyPig3
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review, we at glad you enjoyed your time with us, our prices are in line with current market fish prices and our wine list is renowned to be one of the best and most reasonable.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rachel's
726 reviews
.20 km away
The Station Kitchen
466 reviews
.27 km away
Baboo Gelato Ltd
82 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
West Bay Harbour
821 reviews
.12 km away
Hive Beach
298 reviews
.45 km away
Lyme Bay Rib Charter
93 reviews
.20 km away
West Bay Canoes
78 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Falak A
Is it halal?
13 June 2017|
Answer
Response from neilriverside | Property representative |
Not being a follower of Islam myself I have researched this a little and as I understand it all meat from the sea is halal but, as we cannot confirm all of our ingredients are halal we would have to say no. I am sorry the... More
0
Votes
L-A S
Do you have a disabled toilet?
9 June 2017|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from neilriverside | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry and thank you to our customers for your answers. Yes we do have a disabled toilet, and good access to the building
1
Vote
Susan H
Dress Code ??
31 August 2016|
Answer Show all 14 answers
Response from Bob A | Reviewed this property |
Yes, not beach gear, but smart casual
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25 - US$64
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Riverside, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  West Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 1308 422011
  • E-mail
Description
the Riverside Restaurant enjoys a prime location with large picture windows overlooking the river Brit, but that is just one element of it's charm. It's also a pioneer in it's use of local produce to create truly special fish and shellfish dishes - along with alternative meat and vegetarian options which change on a daily basis.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing