We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Rafael Melgar lote 8-B | A unas cuadra del faro, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
+52 998 871 0774
Website
Today
11:30 - 02:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 02:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

929 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 621: English reviews
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I can't understand the negative reviews. We were promptly served, drinks and food came after normal waiting, everything was delicious. It is a cozy place with a great view of the sea, in deep shade. They had a locally made 7% IPA beer that was very good; best beer I have had in Mexico, far from the Sol and Corona... More 

Helpful?
Thank ErikE878
Manager L, Depto. maRKETING at El Merkadito, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Your comments are very much valued for us, we hope to see you back soon. More 

Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Where to start? Being ignored for ten minutes before asked if we wanted drinks. Another ten minutes (still no drinks), when we ordered an appetizer, calamari. Finally our wine and beer came and we ordered dinner. It was 50 MINUTES before we got our dinners. Never did get the calamari. My grouper was cold in places and almost tasteless, my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank leftagoodjob
Manager L, Depto. Marketing at El Merkadito, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience, we are taking action on the matter to get it resolved. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will help us to improve our service. Again, deepest apologies for what happened and we hope to see you back soon. More 

Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We thought this would be a nice place on the beach to enjoy our evening meal. What a mistake. We are seasoned travellers and I rarely ever write a negative review but this place stands out. We decided to eat a little early to beat the evening rush and were treated as though we weren't even there. There was a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel B
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Puerto Morelos is a quiet little town with a great vibe and atmosphere. Unfortunately, there are a few areas, like this restaurant, that PM could live without. I know of so many locals (including myself) who have gotten ill from eating at this place that I felt the need to warn others. Do yourself a favor and go elsewhere!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank RicoSuavito
Manager L, Depto. de Marketing at El Merkadito, responded to this review

We are sorry about the bad experience you had, we offer you an apologize, please send us a private message telling us in detail your experience in order to follow up on your case. El Merkadito has high quality standards and we always provide freshly cooked food to our customers. More 

Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Passed by this place! Smells like raw sewage. Saw dirty water/sewage outside. Would avoid this place. Asked people across the street about the smell and they commented that this place dumps sewage on the side of the restaurant. So we went around the corner to another place.

Helpful?
3 Thank Bob A
Manager L, Depto. Marketing at El Merkadito, responded to this review
Google Translation

Official Statement: We would like to express our opinion regarding to the critics presented today, El Merkadito is a restaurant... More 

San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Our second time to El Merkadito and it did not disappoint. The seafood is fresh and the restaurant provides great views of Puerto Morelos. I recommend the Aquachile, Tostadas de Ceviche and Pulpo Tacos. The drinks are good, well priced and the servers friendly. There is free Wifi and the restaurant is well situated on the beach. Make sure to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We love the location ..... and the food and drink are excellent, too. At times it can be crowded, resulting in a bit of a wait....

Helpful?
Thank Ellen P
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food is good and has been consistent. The octopus is my favorite here. My calamari appetizer was nothing to write about this year; excellent last year. As more good places open, I don't think it has kept up. Is not disappointing, but there are better and more exciting alternatives. Also, the music was very loud this year.

Helpful?
Thank Lee R
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We entered from the street, walked through the kitchen on our way to the back deck overlooking the beach. Great, friendly service even though all the tables filled up while we were there celebrating a birthday of a friend. We were a party of 5 and all enjoyed the items from the menu-the catch of the day was grouper and... More 

Helpful?
Thank bfeo
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were walking along the beach and noticed this restaurant was filled with people having lots of fun. The restaurant beside it was definitely better looking but it was empty!! We took a chance and ordered the tacos and a margarita. Both were excellent! And very reasonably priced. No shortage on the size of the margarita either. Good service with... More 

Helpful?
Thank vivisingh49

Travellers who viewed El Merkadito also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Merkadito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 02:00
Monday
11:30 - 02:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 02:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 02:00
Thursday
11:30 - 02:00
Friday
11:30 - 02:00
Saturday
11:30 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rafael Melgar lote 8-B | A unas cuadra del faro, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
  • Location: Mexico  >  Yucatan Peninsula  >  Quintana Roo  >  Riviera Maya  >  Puerto Morelos
  • Phone Number: +52 998 871 0774

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of El Merkadito and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question
Dallas, Texas
over a year ago
inver grove hts, minnesota
Dallas, Texas
over a year ago
Kentucky

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from El Merkadito staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?