We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pheasant Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cumwhitton CA8 9EX, England
+44 1228 560102
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 100: English reviews
Cumwhitton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Great atmosphere over the Easter weekend, fabulous food and excellent service from the staff - we will most definitely be back soon.

Helpful?
Thank evemaceve
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review, your comments are of value to our team who work so hard to provide a good experience, hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Michelle More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in the village for a couple of nights, lovely local, good atmosphere and good food, staff very friendly. Would recommend booking if you want a table was very busy.

Helpful?
Thank ClazzaG
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments and taking the time to complete a review of your experience, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Michelle More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

An off the hoof meal out at an old favourite. Somewhere we hadn't been for some time but relitively local and although I had heard that the premises had been taken over, we were not disappointed. Hubbie had a glorious T - bone steak, I had homemade lasagne and our 7 yr old daughter had fish goujons from the children's... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DiBowman
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you comments we really appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you soon Kind Regards Michelle More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely food, at competitive prices. Our experience is that there is always a friendly welcome for couples and families alike. There is a wide ranging menu to suit all with a good selection of specials, I had a haggis starter with a peppercorn sauce it was delicious. Over the years we have visited the Pheasant many times, there is new... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sara m
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Hi Sara Thank you for your lovely comments we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience, hope to see you again soon Thank you Michelle, Tim, Nathan & Gemma More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very average food, not worth the drive from Carlisle. The food was also average and the staff were not very friendly. The starter of pate was not on warm bread as I have had better from Aldi, the steak was cold just like the staff, all in all it was very disappointing nothing like it was when Jon Van Lerop... More 

Helpful?
Thank zorron2017
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Hi Very sorry you have seemed to have had a bad experience, this is not at all how our staff and our food has been rated previously as you can read from the reviews below. You refer to the previous owner from nearly 15 years ago? if you would like to ring The Pheasant Inn to speak to me regarding... More 

Brampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We used to visit The Pheasant Inn regularly. It was one of our favourite places to dine - the food was very good and it was always packed and lively. You had to make reservations sometimes a week in advance to ensure a table. Recently, however, the Pheasant has come under new ownership, and our experience was a bit strange.... More 

Helpful?
Thank rj919
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for your review, I can assure you that the staff and myself have many years of experience and if you would like to contact me to discuss your experience I'm more than happy to if I knew your name as most people do provided reviews with a name? If you arrived on a Saturday at 5-45... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on Mother's Day for Sunday lunch and it was very good. Lovely pub grub at extremely good prices! Nice setting and lovely little beer garden. Very enjoyable meal, thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Hi Glad you enjoy your visit and thank you for your comments, very much appreciated. Regards Michelle More 

Kefalonia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Great welcome Wonderful meal especially the fried Brie to start ! Fish and chip special for my husband and sticky salmon for me. Unfortunately couldn't resist the gorgeous chips ! We shared the starter and dessert. But there was more than enough plus drinks it was less than £40 ! Would love to come back on steak night or even... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank withouttnekids
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for your comments, its good to hear you loved the food and you'll be back Kind Regards Michelle More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Every now & again you hit on a cracker,this was such an occasion. "In the picturesque village of Cumwhitton we came across the Pheasant Inn it was a cold day & we were both hungry" On entering we were greeted with a roaring log fire,the menu was varied but not over complicated something for everyone plus a specials board. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank John D
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely comments, I'm so happy you enjoyed the experience and we look forward to seeing you again Kind Regards Michelle More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Absolute top draw meal, location and service. Having met the new owners aswell I believe the business will go from strength to strength. Great ale and great meat. We will be back

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Hi Chris Thank you for your great response its much appreciated, I will let Nigel our Chef know you enjoyed the food and we look forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards Michelle More 

Travellers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

 
Warwick-on-Eden, Carlisle
Armathwaite, Carlisle
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12 - US$24
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cumwhitton CA8 9EX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Cumwhitton
  • Phone Number: +44 1228 560102

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Pheasant Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?