We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ChaoBaby

123 The Orient | Trafford centre, Stretford, Trafford M17 8EH, England
+44 161 747 2345
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good31%
  • Average17%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“soups” (94 reviews)
“thai food” (60 reviews)
“papaya salad” (23 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Asian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
123 The Orient | Trafford centre, Stretford, Trafford M17 8EH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 736 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I visited Chaobaby in the Trafford centre at lunch time & it was beautiful to look at with plenty of seats, busy but not too busy Unfortunately we were seated at the front near the walk way so passers by kept looking at us (I'd...More

Thank Jenna T
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We have eaten at ChaoBaby a few times before, and always enjoyed it. However, this is the first time we have been since my husband developed a severe allergy to seafood. When I asked the waitress if we could be sure that at least the...More

Thank Brigid H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited on Monday afternoon. The food was fresh and tasty but in my opinion the selection wasn't the greatest. Not very much for vegetarians (veg, spring rolls, steamed broccoli, sticky noodles a'la pad thai with no veg in it or much taste). If only...More

Thank DanaManchester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great selection of food, very tasty and worth the money paid. Soups and salads are a favourite of mine but all the mains are delicious aswell. Staff are very friendly

Thank Gmaquez
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited 3 times in the last 3 months and each time I think, surely it will be better than the last visit, but each time it is worse. I think 3 visits is enough to realise that it is never going to improve,...More

Thank Joanne M
LM232013, Manager at ChaoBaby, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sawasdee kha Joanne, Thank you very much for taking your time to write us your review. We take on board all feedback to help us improve our service, so I appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you think. I've spoken with...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Used to love chao baby. Not sure if change of management/staff or just cost cutting on quality but this place has gone downhill. Soup/mains/rice everything tasted different. Not a patch on the usual quality. Such a shame. Will be staying away for a good whileMore

Thank kevandlisa2014
LM232013, Manager at ChaoBaby, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sawasdee khakevandlisa2014, Thank you very much for your feedback, we take on board all comments to help us improve our service so I appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you think. I'm really disappointed to hear that you feel we aren't...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this place on a Friday, there was a good crowd but we managed to find a table inside near the bar and chose to pay a £14 for eat as much as you can. It was worth a penny. Food was excellent, from...More

Thank shostito
LM232013, Manager at ChaoBaby, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sawasdee kha Shostito, Thank you for the great review. I'm really pleased to hear you had a great time dining with us, I'll be sure to pass on your compliments to our team. We hope to see you again soon at ChaoBaby. Kop khun kha...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thai buffet restaurant in the Trafford centre - have been here before and it was fine but this time was terrible. Good was average at best, uninspiring. Service was non-existent...asked for drinks twice but nothing came, hence the invisible comment, took ages to get the...More

Thank Keith R
LM232013, Manager at ChaoBaby, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sawasdee kha Keith R, Thank you for your review. We take on board all comments to help us improve, so I appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you think. I'm sorry to hear you were unhappy with your experience and felt...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited the restaurant in August. Overall we left the restaurant feeling unsatisfied with the food yet the service was spot on from the staff. Upon arrival we were seated but as we got to the food area there wasn't many options. We visit the...More

Thank Binasirha84
LM232013, Manager at ChaoBaby, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sawasdee kha Binasirha84, Thank you very much for your review and getting in touch with us by email. We take on board all comments to help us improve our service, so I appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you think. Your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff is very nice and friendly but that is it! Food: Poor variety (only two types of meat available: chicken and pork). No shrimps, no beef, nothing! And nothing like a Thai cuisine! Lot of recipients empty. Quality: The food is disgracefully bad. No...More

Thank Diogo T
LM232013, Manager at ChaoBaby, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sawasdee kha Diogo T, Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent visit to ChaoBaby. We take on board all comments to help us improve, so I appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you think. I'm sorry to hear...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Las Iguanas - Trafford Centre
697 reviews
.10 km away
Carluccio's - Trafford Centre
674 reviews
.09 km away
Tampopo Trafford Centre
544 reviews
.02 km away
Pesto
592 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aerial Extreme - Manchester
306 reviews
.37 km away
intu Trafford Centre
2,287 reviews
.06 km away
Chill Factore
1,406 reviews
.99 km away
iFLY Indoor Skydiving Manchester
144 reviews
1.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Miss L C
4 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Wayne W | Reviewed this property |
Not sure to be honest. Although there is plenty of veg and rice options
1
Vote
Nicola O
22 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Hannah_A2612 | Reviewed this property |
No very limited with anything gluten free unless it's fruit!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 123 The Orient | Trafford centre, Stretford, Trafford M17 8EH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Trafford  >  Stretford
  • Phone Number: +44 161 747 2345
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing