We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

bel cibo

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
26- 30 Macrossan St | Saltwater, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
+61 7 4099 6330
Website
Today
12:00 - 00:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

941 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 927: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We did enjoy our cocktails. Well presented and a good selection. it might have been nice to deliver our water first so that we weren't parched by the time they arrived. The Linguine Aglio with Australian King Prawns was little too oily and lacking in the chilly department. My partner had two sides as a main, also drowned in oil.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jon C
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your cocktails & agree that water should be delivered promptly. It does seem that you don't like much EVO oil & I do wonder then why when you order the Aglio Prawns you just say light on the oil, no problems easily done. We add 1 Tblspof chilli, again if you need... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We came here for a casual and delicious meal in return we recieved the opposite . To start we ordered the antipasto which was quite a dissapointment as it was very small and you could taste that many items were they were picked out of a jar and the quality was poor .in addition the service was extremely slow .... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Adel A
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

thanks for your review although its quite a disappointing read. In regard to the antipasto plate, we prepare all of the vegetables in house, we make the tapenade & the grissini sticks. We do not make the cheeses, nor smoke the salmon, & neither do we prepare our own prosciutto. So its unfortunate that you didn't like it but if... More 

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

What a delightful dining experience beautiful fresh food - extremely well presented with excellent service and pride. Well worth going to.

Helpful?
Thank Gary F
Mentone, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dined here with family. Found the menu a bit limited but we all managed to find something. Food was very nice. Friendly staff. Fast service, reasonably priced but not cheap. Nice setting with open balconies. Clean.

Helpful?
Thank Youngjey2014
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review. I'm pleased to read that you all enjoyed your meals & had a good time dining with us. Cheers. More 

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A beautifull evening sitting at a table in the open. Food was enjoyable but as seems to be in port Douglas service was about getting fed and out the door. Downside of a nice meal

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon J
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review & I'm pleased that you enjoyed your meals & sitting outside on a beautiful evening. My apologies if you felt rushed as we have now come into our low period of the year, although Friday & Saturday night were still very busy generally guests take around the 1.5- 2 hour dining with us. We... More 

Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
399 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a recent road trip to Far North Queensland, while in the Cairns area, we visited Port Douglas and as it was lunch time, we strolled the street for a suitable lunch venue. We are pleased that we chose bel cibo on this occasion. We chose to have the set two course lunch, which included a glass of wine, for... More 

Helpful?
Thank pandd1946
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thank you for a great 5 star review. I'm very happy reading your review & glad you enjoyed such a wonderful lunch. Great to hear that you would return as that in itself is the best compliment. Cheers. More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a really good place to eat, the food's excellent and the service is second to none. Being out of season and early in the evening, it wasn't very busy when we arrived, but still, the staff were so friendly and attentive, and we weren't rushed through our meal even as it became busier later on. Surprisingly they also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent 5 star review. It's fantastic to read that you enjoyed such a wonderful dining experience with us & I'm happy to read we are worth 2 visits. Cheers. More 

Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time at this restaurant and the service was appalling. The waitress asked if we wanted water to which we said yes while browsing the menu. Thirty minutes later another waitress turned up and asked if we were ready to order our food when we hadn't been asked if we wanted to order any drinks while still... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mermaid540
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review but it's very disappointing that a lady in her late 50's can be so two faced once she gets behind the keyboard. Your everything I teach my children not to be. Once again I, we, the pasta chef are unconditionally apologetic that the a small piece of the pot scrubber was in the Carbonara you were... More 

Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed bel cibo sat at the front & watched the world go by with a nice breeze so we didn't need to sit in the aircon.Service was great as to the food I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant, the staff were very attentive & pleasant. Port Douglas has so many excellent eating places.

Helpful?
Thank Dawnwilmes
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with us & are happy to give us your recommendation. Cheers. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Situated in the very centre of Port Doulgas we found this restaurant to be very commode ting and very reasonably priced. There are quite a few restaurants that seem to take advantage of being in a tourist area regarding their prices but this one was very good. The meals were plentiful and the service was very good. We were able... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thank you for a Great 5 star review. I'm happy that you enjoyed your dining experience with us & are keen to return.Fantastic. Cheers. More 

Travellers who viewed bel cibo also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to bel cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$16 - US$26
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Kids, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 26- 30 Macrossan St | Saltwater, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Port Douglas
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4099 6330
Description
bel cibo is a stylish yet informal Italian restaurant in the heart of Port Douglas with superb food, great service & alfresco dining, on the mezzanine floor of the Saltwater building, perfect for watching the day go by or the activity along the Macrossan Street.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of bel cibo and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia

Having reviewed the negative reviews of this restaurant it is clear the owner cannot take any criticism at all. Maheno - OCT 2015 wrote that she was unhappy as they were charged for a side dish that came after the meal wash finished and the owner stated she must be mistaken it cannot be his restaurant. Impossible for such a thing to happen in HIS restaurant. He then goes on to try and shift the blame onto ANOTHER restaurant!?

I wrote a bad review for my experience at this restaurant earlier in the year and the owner attacks me for it. Even attacking my appearance in my profile pic!

@ KiwiChef, people are entitled to write their opinions and complain if they have had a bad experience. Your response to those opinions and complaints reflects your customer service skills, your ability to take and handle criticism and just your general maturity. You attack every person who has a negative opinion about their experience at your restaurant. I'm sure if I go again I might have a better or even a perfect experience, but the time I visited I didn't and you shouldn't attack people who don't praise you, your food, staff and venue.

Last thing, it's extremely low and scummy behavior to try and blame another restaurant for a bad review YOU received (as mentioned above). You actually say of the bad review "there is another Italian Restaurant in Port Douglas - Bucci, they seem to have many negative reviews on their TA page about food & service.I agree with you & just cannot fathom that happening here.Ciao" I notice it is not the first time you try to blame this restaurant. I'll be letting them know so they can report you.

I'm sure you're going to have a charming and professional response ready for me after hearing some hard truth. I feel sorry for the poor staff member you're going to force to reply to this.

I hope people catch on to you. Kiwi "Chef".

over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from bel cibo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?