We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nautilus Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
17 Murphy St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
+61 7 4099 5330
Website
Today
18:30 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 18:30 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,579 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,558: English reviews
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived at 8.20 for an 8.30 booking (which was the earliest we could get) and were shown straight to our table. The restaurant was probably less than half full so unless all the 7.30 people had cancelled they were obviously setting the pace of the room to suit the kitchen. Absolutely no complaints about that, from then on everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bernie M
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

What a magnificent restaurant in a magnificent location. You would never expect such an experience from a restaurant in the Main Street of Port Douglas. You enter through a pathway which makes you feel like you're in the heart of the rainforest. My husband and I chose the degustation menu with wine and we were not disappointed. The food, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sydneygirl0572
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a Mitchell star type Resturant in a bush type setting. A bandicoot did walk through whilst we were eating our fabulous meal. If you read the menu you will not be surprised. A great last night recommend five course with matching wines.👍

Helpful?
Thank Ian C
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was very good but portion sizes are small for what you pay. We did the 7 course meal & my Husband was still on the hungry side as we left. The man who served us when we paid our bill was very rude, continually avoided my question about whether they did gift vouchers (as we wanted to purchase one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited twice - once in torrential, tropical rain, and once in the dry when the awnings were drawn back allowing views of the sky through palm trees in the cocktail lounge area as well as the main restaurant. Busy, and service in the cocktail area isn't fast, but we weren't in a hurry. Restaurant service was excellent on both occasions... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bristolange
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No doubt, it's a beautiful place to eat. When we arrived, they said we cancelled our reservation, even thought I was pretty sure I confirmed it, but they were nice and accomadating and found us a table after a very short wait .. The disappointing part was that they were out of their coral trout and had only 1 mud... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ike2012016
AMGMPD, General Manager at Nautilus Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi IKE2012016 Nautilus sends everyone a confirmation text message in the morning before your booking, You replied to that message with a N'' meaning that you cancelled your booking via text at 1:02 pm. We apologise again, (as we did on the night) that we only had one mudcrab left. As I can see on your bill you ordered the... More 

Haverhill
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Set back from the main Port Douglas shopping street you are transported into the rain forest to eat. Meals are served outside, under canvas and during the rain it was essential. The tasting menu was well selected and presented, service was superb and the whole experience a treat.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy C
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The quality of the food really was not up to scratch and very expensive. The staff were as you would expect for the price you paid. Nice setting amongst the trees but overall a disappointing experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank llucarel
AMGMPD, General Manager at Nautilus Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed and comprehensive review, it really helps to understand how we should improve our business so next time we won`t disappoint you ..... Thank you also for having the courage of complaining to us on the night face to face (NOT) and congratulation for choosing this website instead. More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are a family of four and had dinner here as part of our time at Port Douglas. 2 of us had the Tasting Menu - which was excellent. Youngest daughter had the trout; she was thrilled with way it was presented and the way it tasted. She also loved the fact that the waitress took it off the bone... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mjameswindsor
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Readers will see from my profile, that I am in the top 1% on trip advisor for contributions. Please accept this review, as a serious critique, and hopefully the experience I had, was a "one off"! Unfortunately, this is the second time we have had a bad experience. My wife and I own a holiday house in Port Douglas, so... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Ronnie51_11
AMGMPD, General Manager at Nautilus Restaurant, responded to this review

I wont spend any time to respond to blatant lies on social media, especially because you used Tripadvisor to blackmail us about your wine bill before leaving our premises. Also, You don`t realise that you did caused a scene that night. As you mentioned You did notice one table moving somewhere else, well, not one table but two asked to... More 

Travellers who viewed Nautilus Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Nautilus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$77
Cuisine
Australian, International, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
18:30 - 00:00
Monday
18:30 - 00:00
Tuesday
18:30 - 00:00
Wednesday
18:30 - 00:00
Thursday
18:30 - 00:00
Friday
18:30 - 00:00
Saturday
18:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 Murphy St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Port Douglas
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4099 5330
Description
Elegant outdoor dining in the tropical rainforest of North Queensland. We specialise in romantic dinners for 2 to group functions and weddings.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Nautilus Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Nautilus Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?