We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bar 138 on Barrack

$$ - $$$
Bar, Australian, Fusion
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
138 Barrack St | Barrack Plaza, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
+61 8 9225 6388
Website
Today
12:00 - 20:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 20:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 35: English reviews
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We have visited Bar 138 previously & enjoyed our lunch & drinks, hence we organised to meet friends there last Tuesday only to be told, meals arent served Tuesdays.We had a drink & then went elsewhere for lunch. I thought to have the kitchen closed was strange so emailed them the next day & found out the chef had been... More 

Helpful?
Thank fej49
Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016

Went here for lunch last Monday. Put our order in at the bar and asked for two waters but had to help ones self at the bar to the water from a container. I thought this is a bar not a café and there was no ice. We ordered the Scotch Fillet with salad and chips which was cooked to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Illarius
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived around 12:30 for lunch the place was empty we walked over to the bar ordered a drink and ask for menus the guy behind the bar wasn't overly friendly. he said take a seat anywhere and order at the bar when you're ready. We picked a seat in the sun, looked over the menu and both decided on... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2016

Was in Perth on Monday and decided to stop by and have a quick bit. Ordered the Lamb Pizz. It was delicious. Staff were very friendly. Meals came out in no time at all . Nice to go somewhere where you can just sit and talk and have no competition from the music.

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2016

Can't fault the friendliness and efficiency of the staff but the food that we ordered wasn't good value for money. My daughter bought a chorizo pizza which, when it came, was deconstructed. Interesting concept but not what we were after. My husband paid $22 for a mushroom salad which was mostly lettuce and only a handful of mushrooms. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie R
Perth Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

We ordered the big plate as well and chips and a pasta. We paid $96 that included a bottle of champagne. I would have to say it wasn't a nice experience and I would never return. The guy at the bar who claimed to be the manager refused to give me his name because we sent a past dish back.... More 

Helpful?
Thank missymoo74
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2016

I ordered room service while staying at the Adina hotel. I ordered the steak cooked medium but it came out very rare and I basically just ate the bits I could cut off around the edges. The chips and salad however were great. I spoke with the hotel who arranged a half refund, since I was happy with half the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather B
traveller886622, General Manager at Bar 138 on Barrack, responded to this review

Dear Heather, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am concerned to hear that you did not have an enjoyable Steak with us (via room service) If this situation occurs you should please contact us immediately so we can rectify the order or provide a full refund rather than report it to the hotel after. Please... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

Decided to come here for lunch last week. The place seemed like a cool little bar with clean decor, a well set up bar, and newly renovated and very clean facilities. I ordered the $45 steak and my wife ordered the $22 Caesar salad. We won't talk about the 2 x $5 soda water which came from a Woolworths home... More 

Helpful?
Thank MFGhodsi
Matt C, General Manager at Bar 138 on Barrack, responded to this review

Dear MFGhodsi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I am concerned you did not have a good meal with us, should this occur with any food item it would be good if you are able to inform us immediately so we can rectify the situation with either a refund or replacement meal. More 

Moama, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2015

Met an old friend here for a catch up. Service was attentive and food was ok. Wasn't overly busy and got asked to finish up quite early as they were closing. Toilets were a bit of a hike to the 2nd floor next door in the gym. Decor was on trend and inviting. Good for a drink or two but... More 

Helpful?
Thank seviloj
Bar B, Manager at Bar 138 on Barrack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review, happy to hear you had a good experience. Apologies for the toilets being located on the 2nd floor as the ground floor ones are being renovated. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2014

This is a nice pub. Ok service. Nice sangria. Not far from shopping and other landmarks. The toilets were a bit gross. Air conditioning was well regarded

Helpful?
Thank Jodiecl
Bar B, Manager at Bar 138 on Barrack, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Jodie, happy to hear you had a good experience, great news is our toilets have been fully renovated now (as admittedly they were quite outdated) look forward to seeing you again sometime More 

Travellers who viewed Bar 138 on Barrack also viewed

 

Been to Bar 138 on Barrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$26
Cuisine
Bar, Australian, Fusion
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Seating, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Bar Scene
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 20:00
Thursday
12:00 - 20:00
Friday
12:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 138 Barrack St | Barrack Plaza, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Western Australia  >  Greater Perth  >  Perth
  • Phone Number: +61 8 9225 6388
Description
Conveniently located on Barrack Street between Murray & Wellington, we are the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed atmosphere, away from the busy streets of Perth. Contempory decor, spacious terrace with smoking area, private meeting & dining room, we have it all. Our Kitchen freshly prepares breakfast, lunch and dinner bringing many years of experience to our fresh locally produced and sourced menu helping to sustain our environment into the future.Stocking only premium WA wines, a great selection of premium beers, premium spirits and sumptuous cocktails freshly prepared for you, topped off with great service from a dedicated team of professionals BAR 138 on barrack prides itself with being different from the competition, being sustainable is our first priority so yes we do sometimes do things a little different. Breakfast 7 days a week from 7am-10am Lunch 12pm to 3pm and Dinner 5pm to 8pm Monday to Friday(closed on public holidays).

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bar 138 on Barrack staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?