We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Food Alley

9 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-373 4917
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good37%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bento box” (6 reviews)
“chicken” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Asian, Vietnamese, Malaysian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

My son and I visited here for lunch. There was so many stalls and various different Asian countries represented. We settled for Japanese Bento boxes for our lunch and they were very nice. The mall is clean & tidy and was very busy when we...More

Thank Muirg
Reviewed 6 days ago

Our group of 4 went to the Food Alley before a show, hoping to find a great selection of food stalls. We were disappointed to find around a half of the stores had closed, or were about to close. It was only 7:30pm, admittedly on...More

Thank MYGM53
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So much range of restaurants to choose from. The food is cooked fresh and hot. Will visit next time in Auckland.

Thank Lucianne D
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I loved it here! If your visiting from Vancouver, B.C, it’s very similar to Yaohan in Richmond! Its great because they have Indian food, Malaysian food, Thai food, Filipino food, Chinese food and more!! I loved the Indian food because you can order from a...More

Thank awjose
FoodAlley, Manager at Food Alley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you! So happy you enjoyed dining with us. All of our kitchens accept EFTPOS (local banks), however the credit card facilities vary from kitchen to kitchen. However if you are travelling and using a credit card Cash is a better option when eating here....More

Reviewed May 11, 2018

Many years back we were regulars to Food Alley as the food was good and selection to suit many. So down in Auckland with friends we suggested a trip to Food Alley. It was to Taro Teppayaki, the Japanese eatery upstairs. Been there before and...More

Thank Warren Pat S
FoodAlley, Manager at Food Alley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Great to have you come back and visit us after all these years! We haven't changed too much ;-)

Reviewed April 27, 2018

I've eaten here numerous times (whenever I can) and love it. Great good, great value, great ambiance. It can get busy at peak times but even then the food is quickly served.

Thank lcj1031
FoodAlley, Manager at Food Alley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much!!

Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

My husband was told by one of the locals to come to food alley- great cheap food! He wasn’t wrong! So much choice/ lots of different shops in one place. It is so much cheaper than the restaurants! It is busy and full of lots...More

1  Thank theblondelady
FoodAlley, Manager at Food Alley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you!!!

Reviewed April 25, 2018 via mobile

If you have travelled overseas or you are from Asia then this food court will remind you of real Asian food. The building is not your usual modern and glitzy kind at your everyday Westfield Mall but the food is honest and tasty. Like good...More

Thank Breeze_NZ
FoodAlley, Manager at Food Alley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou!! - Yes we are street food vibe, and weve been cooked for 26 years ;-)

A TripAdvisor Member
32
Reviewed April 24, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely love the food super tasty and authentic! Really well priced and authentic could have been back in Bali. Definitely check it out and also the drinks place I thought was really cheap! Bonus.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
FoodAlley, Manager at Food Alley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wareong Wardani is fantastic, thank you!!

Reviewed April 18, 2018 via mobile

Came to Auckland for a few days and came.to.visit Food Alley - one of our old haunts when we used to live here 12 years ago. The range and diversity of food available here is staggering - this is why I have rated it a...More

Thank Bosco2012
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 67 hotels in Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Auckland
2,422 reviews
.06 km away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
637 reviews
.09 km away
Hotel Grand Windsor
134 reviews
.16 km away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
819 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Federal & Wolfe
161 reviews
.08 km away
Grasshopper Restaurant
288 reviews
.10 km away
Barista Cats Cafe
50 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
T Galleria by DFS, Auckland
14 reviews
.07 km away
The Big Foody Food Tours
187 reviews
.21 km away
Absolute Tours - Day Tour
206 reviews
.23 km away
Auckland City Tours
56 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
simranp719
April 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from FoodAlley | Property representative |
Hi - We do not take reservations, if you come outside lunchtime hours, you will have a better chance of seating 11 people all together. Thank you for your enquiry.
0
Votes
SusanOK77
December 30, 2016|
Answer
Response from FoodAlley | Property representative |
Hi Food Alley is Closed at Present until 4/1/2017 for Holidays. Our regular opening hours are 10.30 am - 10pm 7 Days. Thank you.
0
Votes
Allison D
October 22, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from FoodAlley | Property representative |
Hi - Most of our kitchens close at 9.30 on those nights. The food court closes at 10 pm. However some kitchens do close earlier this depends on whether they have sold out, or simply the pace of the trade on that particular... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$14
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Monday
10:30 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Tuesday
10:30 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Wednesday
10:30 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Thursday
10:30 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Friday
10:30 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Saturday
10:30 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Auckland Central
  • Phone Number: +64 9-373 4917
Description
Cooking 25 years. Cheap eats in the heart of Auckland CBD. Asian style street food. Cooked fresh to your order, served hot to your table. Open 7 days, fully licensed, Everyone welcome!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;