We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Danny Doolans

) #167 of 1,868 Restaurants in Auckland $$ - $$$ Irish, ,
204 Quay Street | Viaduct Harbour, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-358 2554
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good45%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
204 Quay Street | Viaduct Harbour, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Afew Friends and I came in last week to grab some food and drink, the beer was great, the food was delicious and the bar staff were very friendly. As it was one of my friend’s birthdays we asked the bar tender, Alan about desserts...More

Thank Dan-4876
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to this bar in March, terrible service, dirty toilets and generally average. Location ok but no view at all.More

Thank jts212
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey jts212, we appreciate you taking the time to write us this feedback! We are quite disappointed you did not enjoy your experience in our little Irish pub. Unfortunately we do not have the best view of the water but being sandwiched inbetween 2 other...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food was quite average. Club Sandwich wasn't bad but I can not say it was good. Whereas the choice of beer is wide, choice of other alcoholic drinks could be widerMore

Thank N7Killer
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey N7Killer, we appreciate you taking the time to write us this feedback! We have just had a new women's bathroom built in so they definitely couldn't be called dirty, the men's bathroom is all made of wood so may appear worn & well used...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great band and atmosphere but the drinks were overly expensive, by far the most expensive we came across in town and the toilets were DISGUSTING!!! When patrons are paying a door charge to enter the toilets should at least be cleanMore

Thank Nicole L
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey Nicole L Thank you very much for sending us this feedback. That is strange that you would consider Danny Doolans to be one of the expensive outlets in Auckland as we make sure we are within a customer focused price range, our tap beer,...More

Reviewed 19 May 2017

good music load and live too busy very hard to get from one end of the bar to the toilets very rude staffMore

Thank Dean W
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Hey Dean W We appreciate you sending us this feedback, as you can imagine we are quite disappointed that your visit to Danny Doolans was so terrible for you. We would like to discuss this further with you, is it possible for you to forward...More

Reviewed 16 May 2017

Always we go dancing when we stay in Auckland. Great live music Much improved with non hostile bouncers and more womens toilets.

Thank kimreid0974
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey kimreid0974 We appreciate you writing us this review, hopefully you will get the chance to dance away many more nights! Thank you

Reviewed 5 May 2017

Dannys was a favourite while staying in Auckland. We sang, we danced, we drank and we ate... The food was SOOOO delicious, the music was unreal, fantastic sing alongs all night with their live bands each evening. Wish i had something just like it near...More

Thank sam_drew_lex
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Hey sam_drew_lex we really appreciate you writing us this great review, hope you get to pop in again Thank you

Reviewed 30 April 2017

Very compact but good atmosphere. The duo act was really good and it is always great to hear people who can play and sing. The knew how to play to the crowd and kept the place jumping. The lamb shanks were great.

Thank Refmanwpba
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Hey Refmanwpba We appreciate you writing our great review, glad you enjoyed our Live Music Thank you

Reviewed 20 April 2017

One of the many restaurants and bars at Viaduct Harbour. There were not very many customers when we were there, so it didn't have the vibrant atmosphere you would expect in an Iris pub. However, the Irish beer was very good and the pub food...More

Thank yellowperilhk
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Hey yellowperilhk We appreciate you posting our good review, hopefully you'll get the chance to pop in again Thank you

Reviewed 17 April 2017

The restaurant provides a good quality meal at a reasonable price . We had the Roast plus a Pint Special which was well presented & enjoyable . Although called an Irish Pub it was a little lacking in atmosphere on the evening we visited .

Thank David W
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Hey David W We are glad you enjoyed your roast & pint, we appreciate you sending us this feedback Thank you

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Soul Bar and Bistro
1,433 reviews
.06 km away
Oyster & Chop
345 reviews
.10 km away
Pride & Joy Ice Cream
109 reviews
.06 km away
Wildfire
552 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
New Zealand Maritime Museum
856 reviews
.14 km away
Coast-to-Coast Walkway
120 reviews
.08 km away
T Galleria by DFS, Auckland
10 reviews
.29 km away
Auckland Whale & Dolphin Safari
837 reviews
.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Danny Doolans staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 03:00
Monday
10:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 01:00
Thursday
10:00 - 01:00
Friday
10:00 - 03:00
Saturday
10:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 204 Quay Street | Viaduct Harbour, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Auckland
  • Phone Number: +64 9-358 2554
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing