We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
62 West Quay | Ahuriri, Napier, New Zealand
+64 6-835 8815
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 22:00
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 22:00
Fri 11:00 - 03:00
Sat 09:00 - 03:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,086: English reviews
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The Thirsty Whale lived up to its reputation. We enjoyed entrees of calamari and arancini balls then shared the seafood extravaganza. All were wonderful, paua patty was full of flavour, whitebait tasted like whitebait should and the prawns and scallops were cooked perfectly. The blackberry/blueberry crumple was lovely and finished off a great meal. Backed up by friendly service. Thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank CDW46
Ian C, Public Relations Manager at The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed all the seafood CDW46 the Seafood Extravaganza is one of our most popular dishes on the menu More 

Howick, Auckland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Thirsty Whale has a relaxing atmosphere, staff are consistently friendly and very helpful. Great location looking out over harbour and fishing boats. Prices are reasonable, food is good, not top end but just what we usually are looking for. On a weekend can get very busy, particularly dinner time and late evening. Can be quieter mid evening, daytime varies with... More 

Helpful?
Thank DavidMallowes
Ian C, Public Relations Manager at The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review DavidMallowes very much appreciated More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We were served by a waitress named Kat. She was outstanding and definitely made our night lovely! She helped us out through out the whole night

Helpful?
Thank Georgia H
Ian C, Public Relations Manager at The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Georgia glad you enjoyed your visit More 

Wilton, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As it was the Art Deco Festival weekend and masses of people were in town we tried to get reservations here but they were already booked so we decided to just pop in and see if we could get in. We were offered seating at the bar which was fine and were waited on very promptly. We were warned when... More 

Helpful?
Thank dillysm0m
Ian C, Public Relations Manager at The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

We have had a lot of great comments about the ribs dish lately dillysm0m glad your husband enjoyed them More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Arrived at the end of the day with no booking. Place was really busy but I had spotted a free table upstairs looking out at the harbour view- asked on a long shot if we could sit there. They said it was on reserve but they were happy to let us use it if we finished by a certain time.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura E
Ian C, Public Relations Manager at The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

We are delighted you had a very enjoyable visit Laura More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very very bad lighting in the restaurant section, feels like you are at the office. Please do something about this. The food was mediocre, overcooked fish and bad red wine. Apart from that, we survived.

Helpful?
Thank Laurent D
Ian C, Public Relations Manager at The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Your comments surprises me Laurent as we receive many great comments about our two fish dishes on the menu and our extensive wine list. Our staff strive to make customers leave our restaurant with an enjoyable experience and I'm sorry you were not one of the few that didn't. More 

Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We had dinner on Valentine's evening and we're warned about a delay due to the number of customers. We had finished our first drink, 55 minutes after ordering our meals and were told it would be another 40 minutes. At this we complained and our meals miraculously appeared almost immediately. The food was great and on this occasion was worth... More 

Helpful?
Thank Penny G
Ian C, Public Relations Manager at The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your meals Penny yes it was very busy on Valentines Day More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Scollops where a 10 out of 10 amazing well done. Had a table up stairs with the doors open looking across the harbour.....stunning night

Helpful?
Thank Cam350
Ian C, Public Relations Manager at The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the Scallops Cam150 yes it's nice upstairs on a stunning night More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So this place was awesome we had the super awesome Sylvie serve us - food was great service was quick - everyone enjoyed the food - to top it off we had the nice warm sun on us upstairs with the doors open - totally recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
Ian C, Public Relations Manager at The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

We have been getting a lot of great comments about the Ribs lately Jonathan glad you enjoyed them More 

Knutsford UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Located along the old wharf at Napier, which is still a commercial fishing port. There are several bars and eating places along the wharf. We picked this one based on other reviews. We had a hot, sunny but windy evening for our visit. They have tables on the deck out front, a large high ceilings interior and an upstairs area... More 

Helpful?
Thank TimBob_53
Ian C, Public Relations Manager at The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for the very detailed review TimBob_53 glad you enjoyed your burgers More 

Travellers who viewed The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
View, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 03:00
Saturday
09:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 62 West Quay | Ahuriri, Napier, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Hawke's Bay Region  >  Napier
  • Phone Number: +64 6-835 8815

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?