We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Indonesia Restaurant

409 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
+64 6-835 8303
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good18%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“rijsttafel” (365 reviews)
“ristaffel” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Asian, Indonesian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
409 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

As vegetarians we find the options In Napier to find tasty, interesting meat-free meals to be pretty limited. There are good Indian and Turkish options but if you want something different ... It's been a while since we visited Restaurant Indonesia and we weren't disappointed...More

Thank Gavatron07
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a few days of conference in Napier, we headed for a kind of Asian food. Indonesia Restaurant did not let us down. The chicken soup was very good. Main courses were not bad but there was too much Dutch influence from our perspective. Overall,...More

Thank Navadon S
Reviewed 4 July 2017

There is a lot of good food to be had in NZ; in fact, there is a lot to be had just in Napier... even Marine Parade street itself has more than its fair share of enticing restaurants! But Indonesia Restaurant is an excellent choice:...More

Thank ostranenie
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Came back for the second time and it's just as good as I remember. Got the supreme rijsttafel. So much food and such good value. The fish curry and the sweet and sour fish are amazing.More

1  Thank NiamhButtons
Hieke W, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you for your return visit. I'm happy to read also this second time it was as good as you remembered! Looking forward to you 3rd, 4th and 5th visit... once we are open again after our annual winter break, First of September! Kind regards,...More

Reviewed 24 May 2017

We had the Rijsttafel which is a type of buffet with about a dozen little dishes served together. Each dish was very tasty and was joy to eat. The service was fine, the decor and atmosphere was also good. We definitely enjoyed the meal and...More

Thank Roger W
Hieke W, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you for dining with us and writing a review. it is very hard for us to get the amount of food right. We aim for the majority... some groups finish everything and ask for more, for some it is just enough. In your case,...More

Reviewed 19 May 2017

Had the Rijsttafel so we could get a good feel for the food. We found the food average, thus the score?

Thank Johnnet9327
Hieke W, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Sorry to read your disappointment.... We gave you our best....It just wasn't good enough.... Maybe Indonesian food is just not your thing? Kind regards, Hieke & Peter (Owners) and Staff Restaurant Indonesia (Established 1983)

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic restaurant. I have slightly obscure food allergies (no tomato, potato or pepper) and they went out of their way to cater to this, making menu recommendations and alterations where possible. Really friendly staff explained the menu and the quirky but traditional decor made...More

Thank Sophie B
Hieke W, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

I am very happy we could help you choose an "exiting" meal for your partner and you. When you started to explain your food allergies it was a bit of a challenge for me to figure out a customized Rijsttafel.... but it worked well. No...More

Reviewed 11 May 2017

We have never eat Indonesian food before but the menu was explained in detail and suggestions made. A warm friendly environment and reasonable price. Next door to our accomodation too so even better

Thank eileen042
Hieke W, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

There is a first time for everything! Thank you very much for trying our Indonesian Cuisine. It was a pleasure serving you. Kind regards, Hieke & Peter (Owners) and Staff Restaurant Indonesia (Established 1983)

Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Six months ago we visited Indonesia Restaurant and were thoroughly impressed. We knew we had to eat there again when we returned to Napier on holiday. Last time we had two main meals but this time we opted for the famous Rijsttafel banquet. We had...More

Thank johnsobenj
Hieke W, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you for your returning visit. I'm very happy your dining experience was again "Incredible". I defiantly think the Rijsttafel is the way to go.....well worth it's money. I agree that it is a generous amount of food but please keep in mind that if...More

Reviewed 9 May 2017

We tried Indonesia Restaurant after trawling Trip Advisor for a dinner spot while we were on a short break in Napier. What a fantastic find. We had the recommended Rijstaffel - fish for me, supreme (meat and fish) for my husband. It was a delight,...More

Thank Kalangadoo
Hieke W, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Nice to read, you like how we are a bit different from most restaurants. Personally I find, quality, service and ambiance very important too! I'm happy we "hit the spot". It's always a pleasure serving people like...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
MINT Restaurant
420 reviews
.67 km away
Pacifica Kaimoana Restaurant
393 reviews
.63 km away
Thai Hutt Restaurant Napier
294 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
National Aquarium
1,043 reviews
.29 km away
Napier i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
184 reviews
.89 km away
Sunken Gardens
146 reviews
.77 km away
MTG Hawke's Bay
189 reviews
1.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
charmanda
1 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Hieke W | Property representative |
Thank's for your concern. It's not illegal but not the most hygienic, I agree. We do change the towel every day and have tried a paper towel dispenser. This unfortunately has blocked out ladies toilet twice within a year... More
0
Votes
Tom R
7 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Hieke W | Property representative |
Sorry justsaw your message now! YES we are open, you're most welcome!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$22
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Street Parking, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
05:30 - 21:00
Thursday
17:30 - 21:00
Friday
17:30 - 21:00
Saturday
17:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 409 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Hawke's Bay Region  >  Napier
  • Phone Number: +64 6-835 8303
  • E-mail
Description
Temporarily Closed We are on our annual winter break at the moment. Open again on the First of September. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing