We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
About
Mokoia Restaurant is a definitive fine dining experience featuring creative Pacific Rim cuisine using fresh and flavoursome local ingredients. The restaurant specializes in healthy gourmet cuisine using unique indigenous foods and herbs. Executive Chef Ervin Y Garde has created a menu that he feels embraces the essence of contemporary New Zealand culture. Join us for breakfast, high teas, lunch and dinner, enjoy freshly squeezed beverages from our fresh juice bar and experience first class hospitality in a positively breath-taking lakefront location.
PRICE RANGE
US$16 - US$57
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Contemporary
FEATURES
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
253
52
29
26
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
253
52
29
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews avocado ice cream lamb scallops bread creme brulee salad fine dining dining experience birthday dinner a great evening recommend this restaurant presentation chef maori mains
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 7, 2020 via mobile

We went to Mokoia Restaurant to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The moment we walked in the door I knew we were going to be disappointed. The receptionist was wearing tracksuit pants & running shoes, the bar room had to be unlocked & was musty &...stunk. She made us paw through an extensive wine list only to tell us once we had chosen that they only had 2 wines available. The finest restaurant has become the worst!More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed September 20, 2020

Very disappointed with my experience. Website menu was not what was offered. We went to celebrate an anniversary and dressed for the occasion. Food was not fine dining. Humas from a packet, Duka from a packet, salad, I could have made myself, lamb not great....I understand limited options due to Covid, but do them well. Will not be returning.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 19, 2020

Good points- lovely room that felt warm and cosy. Waitress was very welcoming. Bad points(keeping in mind the room was half full)- The menu was nothing like the one online. Our bottle of wine didn't arrive until half way through our starter. My salmon starter...was poor quality and then took 20min to take the plates away. The mains turned up without cutlery, and the steak and lamb we had was only just warm and was of pack and save quality. So sadly disappointed after reading some of the great reviewsMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed May 13, 2020

Lovely small restaurant, but needs some updating. The food was excellent and the service was excellent.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 12, 2020

We had dinner here one night. It wasn't cheap , more of a special treat. It was handy , because we stayed at the hotel. I don't think we could charge it to our room.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
WaiOra_Manager, General Manager at Mokoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2020

Dear Corinne V, Thank you for taking the time to review on your recent dining experience with us. We apologies for any inconvenience occurred. At the same time, we are also pleased to hear from you. We have recently introduced a new restaurant system and...More

Reviewed February 8, 2020 via mobile

Last night we have the lamb rack in this restaurant, It’s really good, I think it’s the best cut of the lamb and so many components with this dish as well, The lamb sauce is especially excellent, thx u chef. We will visit again.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
WaiOra_Manager, General Manager at Mokoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2020

Kiaora and Thank you for your generous feedback. your comment has been shared with the team. We look forward to hosting you in near future. Warm Regards, Aayush Silwal Resort Manager

Reviewed January 21, 2020

We ate a group dinner here while staying at the hotel. Before our meal came out, they brought us two kinds of bread including one that was of a Maori origin. The bread was good, and it was served with six types of sauces/toppings for...lots of flavor options. We then enjoyed a hearty potato and leek soup. I then enjoyed the lamb rump which was served as tender chunks in a reddish sauce with peas. My wife really liked her hoki (flaky white fish in a lemony sauce). Four of us ordered four different types of bottled beer during dinner, and all of them were barely chilled so apparently their refrigeration does not work well. Service was pretty good, but when we attempted to pay using a credit card, we noticed they added on a 2% fee.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
WaiOra_Manager, General Manager at Mokoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2020

Dear Ksufan88, Thank you taking the time to providing us with a feedback on your last visit to Mokoia Restaurant. I would sincerely like to apologies in regards to the warm beverages served to you and your guests. Your comment has also been shared with...More

Reviewed December 21, 2019

We were a party of 10 and we were looked after brilliantly. Starters and main courses from the menu went down well and they allowed us to bring in a special cake we had ordered locally and this became dessert and cut and served by...the staff. A great evening.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
WaiOra_Manager, General Manager at Mokoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Dear Trevor S, Thank you very much for taking the time to providing us with your feedback. First off, happy belated birthday to your wife. Our team is delighted to hear regarding your dining experience. We look forward to hosting you near future. Thank you...More

Reviewed December 11, 2019

Awesome meal had the 5 course set menu was awesome - lovely food and service. Binod and Jeslin (man have the spelling wrong) were great and look after us well. Service was great

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 4, 2019 via mobile

The Angus fillet was not cooked as it should and was a bit hard, the sauce too strong. Not really worth the money.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
580 reviews
.01 km away
Cedarwood Lakeside
377 reviews
.25 km away
Santa Maria Motel
71 reviews
4.13 km away
Ambassador Thermal Motel
197 reviews
4.42 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Giovanni's
293 reviews
3.31 km away
Great Spice Indian Takeaway
71 reviews
1.25 km away
Lime Caffeteria
600 reviews
4.51 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Redwoods, Whakarewarewa Forest
5,102 reviews
4.11 km away
Government Gardens
1,174 reviews
4.15 km away
Lake Rotorua
1,055 reviews
4.51 km away
Sulphur Point
143 reviews
4.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Linda2990
December 31, 2016|
Answer
Response from RonLaw | Reviewed this property |
Probably around $140
1
Vote
Jacqueline O
September 9, 2016|
Answer
Response from Yvonne S | Reviewed this property |
Hi there, it would depend on what you want to spend. I think $120 would be generous, but you could google the menu and decide.
1
Vote
kooler07
February 7, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from goodbbboy |
The menu is with very selective items, carefully choosen and prepared in my opinion. Great day!!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing