We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Capitol Restaurant

10 Kent Terrace | Mt. Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-384 2855
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good34%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (14 reviews)
“lambs liver” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
10 Kent Terrace | Mt. Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Attentive service. steak was delicious and lamb shanks tender and delicious. fine selection of wines. A bit pricey for us but the food and service was excellent and made up for it.

Thank kevintK3881DX
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have dined several times over the past few years at Capitol. The service, atmosphere, menu and wine choices are always top class. It is certainly our go to restaurant for casual dining. We'll be back next visit to our "Capitol" city!!

Thank steviejoe69
Kate H, Owner at Capitol Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review. We're very grateful and pleased that you enjoyed your time at Capitol. Thanks again, Kate

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really love this stylish Italian bistro type restaurant. Its quite small but they manage to put on a mouthwatering array of local seasonal produce. My favourite is the squid but there's definitely something for everyone here. One of Wellys best easteries...

Thank Anthony G
Kate H, Owner at Capitol Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks Anthony We're really pleased that you're liking it! Best, Kate

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently we decided to go to Capitol as it had been highly recommended. My partner is ludicrously picky and so despite recommendation I thought the evening might end in disappointment. I was so wrong. The atmosphere is romantic. Almost too dim to take Instagram photos,...More

Thank PollyGillespie
Kate H, Owner at Capitol Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks Polly, Your lovely review is gratefully received. Kate

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Capitol is reliably good, and most of the time it is very good. It is also small, popular, crowded and fun. The bar is tiny and cramped, and really not a place to wait for a table. Most of the time they don’t take bookings...More

Thank JohnSB3
Kate H, Owner at Capitol Restaurant, responded to this review

Hey there Thanks for your review, and your frustration is over, as we have been taking bookings for a few months now. Thanks again, Kate

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On this occasion the food for our table of 6 took forever to come to us because of multiple orders of oysters apparently. Annoying that nothing was offered off the bill in those circumstances, especially given the price of the wine. Shame because this is...More

Thank DDFA
Kate H, Owner at Capitol Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant. I'm sorry your wait was longer than usual, and I trust that you did enjoy your meals when you received them. Regards, Kate

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I asked to sit at one of the many tables of four that were free but we were shown to a tiny table beside the entrance. Difficult to have a private conversation as we were very close to another table of three. Understand if the...More

Thank christine_edwards
Kate H, Owner at Capitol Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt squashed in our restaurant. We are a tiny space and you'll understand that in order to remain viable, we need to use our tables for the number of guests they accommodate. I'm glad you enjoyed your food and service. Many thanks...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is like the old faithful geyser: a reliable performer. The food is great. Service is okay. Always a good night. Take note: you don't want to be seated by the toilet

Thank John S
Kate H, Owner at Capitol Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to post this review. All the best, Kate

Reviewed 15 April 2017

I would highly recommend this restaurant if looking for somewhere in Wellington. We went for dinner and the interior was sophisticated with perfect music and candles on every table. The wait staff were perfect - timely, attentive, knew specials, but left us alone. The food...More

Thank holiday888
Kate H, Owner at Capitol Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to post this review. We're well pleased that you enjoyed your meal. Best, Kate

Reviewed 13 April 2017

At the end of a busy day it was a relief to see Bluff oysters had arrived so we treated ourselves. This restaurant is shoe-horned into a compact space but doesn't seem crowded. The food and wine were very good and satisfying for meat eaters...More

Thank GerryNZ_11
Kate H, Owner at Capitol Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks so much to your lovely review. See you again soon. All the best, Kate

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ortega Fish Shack
980 reviews
.08 km away
Sweet Mother's Kitchen
583 reviews
.05 km away
The Mt Vic Chippery
218 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Harbourside Market Wellington
81 reviews
.33 km away
St James Theatre
66 reviews
.37 km away
BATS Theatre
18 reviews
.08 km away
Kura Art Gallery
7 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Capitol Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 21:30
09:30 - 15:00
Monday
17:30 - 21:30
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 21:30
12:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
17:30 - 21:30
12:00 - 15:00
Thursday
17:30 - 21:30
12:00 - 15:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Saturday
17:30 - 22:00
09:30 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Kent Terrace | Mt. Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-384 2855
  • E-mail
Description
Capitol's menu is based in classical Italian style with a strong focus on local seafood and seasonal produce. Our food is fresh, pure and uncluttered, our service warm, inviting and knowledgeable, and our drinks list is carefully constructed.