We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Raupo Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Cafe, European, New Zealand, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Symons St, Blenheim, New Zealand
+64 3-577 8822
Website
Today
07:30 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

764 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 741: English reviews
Nouméa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Light and savorous meals, decadent deserts, really nice welcome and perfect service : we were 11, with no reservation, it was not a problem.

Helpful?
Thank cathyNoumea
Barton-under-Needwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I went to Raupo for a relaxing lunch on a work day. The menu was v appetizing, sitting on the sunny terrace by the river. I chose crepes with scrambled eggs and truffle with tomato salsa, and iced coffee. Simple food has to be done well and this was excellent. Light crepes, soft not runny eggs subtle truffle, and lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank nick w
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The gluten free French toast was amazing! As was the GF chocolate caramel Clice. Washed down with luxury iced chocolate. Lovely setting, very friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Had lunch at Raupo recently, having enjoyed it occasionally since it opened. This visit was the poorest performance ever. Service was very slow, younger staff poorly trained but learning. Food was average at best. Limited style options and hardly any regional foods, just reheated items with eggs, chip or fries. Dissappointing preparation of said foods. However, the beverage selection is... More 

Helpful?
Thank tony1232017
RaupoCafe2014, Owner at Raupo Cafe, responded to this review

Good afternoon We are sorry to read of your experience at Raupo Cafe. It is stated in your review that you have enjoyed dining with us in the past so we are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience this time. We often hire new staff and training them takes time and, as you mentioned, they are still learning.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This bistro style restaurant is located by the river but in a slightly commercial area away from the main shopping streets. Staff were friendly but the service was slow. We had the garlic vienna (bread), the chicken for main course and a special dessert they had for Christmas, which was a chocolate log. The food was ok but nothing special... More 

Helpful?
Thank KarenRobS
RaupoCafe2014, Owner at Raupo Cafe, responded to this review

Good afternoon We are sorry you felt you did not get value for money whilst dining with us. On public holidays in Blenheim, most restaurants close so Raupo gets extremely busy, so we apologise if the service was slow. We try our best to stagger customers and orders so we can control the service, and will refrain from taking in... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
225 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely surroundings and building. The service was very good and the coffees were delivered within a short time frame.

Helpful?
Thank 911deb
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

As always I was very impressed with the tasty French pastry and delicious coffee. Impressive service too on a busy Sat. morning.

Helpful?
Thank James C
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

More of a bistro feel to this place than Hotel D'urville which is nearby. Camille looked after us very well. Quite busy so food took a little time to arrive but not a problem for us.

Helpful?
Thank Hugo P
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Together with friends we went there for dinner. The very friendly Italian waiter welcomed us and showed us a nice table on the terrace with a nice view down the river. I had the fish of the day which was a good portion, nicely prepared not overcooked and tasted just fine. Also the salad and vegetables were beautiful. We ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank wwth0mas
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Got a recommendation from a local so tried it out! Wow! Go hungry as the plates are quite large. Very good food - simply cooked, well executed. Really good meals. I had the pork belly and my husband had the steak. We had to split dessert and no room for any appetizers! Of course, fine NZ wines were enjoyed with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Knuknuk

Travellers who viewed Raupo Cafe also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Raupo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, European, New Zealand, Contemporary
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
View, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
07:30 - 23:00
Monday
07:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
07:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
07:30 - 23:00
Thursday
07:30 - 23:00
Friday
07:30 - 23:00
Saturday
07:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Symons St, Blenheim, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Marlborough Region  >  Blenheim
  • Phone Number: +64 3-577 8822

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Raupo Cafe and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Raupo Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?