We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

No.4

$$ - $$$
Bar, New Zealand, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
4 Mansfield Avenue | Merivale, Christchurch, New Zealand
+64 3-355 3720
Website
Today
09:00 - 00:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 00:00
Mon - Wed 10:00 - 00:00
Thu - Fri 10:00 - 01:00
Sat 09:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 120: English reviews
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Lovely spot of lunch on my Monday off sat with some friends in a quiet corner. The waitress Kate was very accommodating and attentive! Such a relaxed vibe in the sun! Food is delicious as always! Beef cheek with a Mojito... Perfect!

Helpful?
Thank sead16
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this review

Hi Sead16, Sounds like a perfect lunch in my book, sipping on a Mojito while enjoying our Beef Cheek in the sun, two of my favorite things. Thank you for taking the time to review us, great to hear your thoughts and we hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, More 

Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food, pleasant surroundings, but be sure not to over purchase the wine it's expensive and you can't take what's left in the bottle with you. But a great meal and we will come back, we will just be a little bit more careful when ordering the wine.

Helpful?
Thank sylviajamiesin
Shaun H, Manager at No.4, responded to this review

Hello Sylviajamiesin, Thank you for your review, great to have you here, apologies for the wine, unfortunately our license just doesn't allow us to let be taken off site. We spend a lot of time on the food and the Chefs will be very happy to hear you enjoyed their work and we look forward to seeing you again! Kind... More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

No:4 is a great venue just off Papanui Road in Merivale - it has several sitting/dining areas inside and out, with fireplaces for the colder nights. I really like its interpretation of Kiwi/English pub style. It can get very busy and noisy in the evenings but I love it here as it has a great atmosphere rare in pubs these... More 

Helpful?
Thank DP2610
Shaun H, Manager at No.4, responded to this review

Hello DP2610, An amazing review, Thank you, we aim to cater for everyone and all are welcome, we have a fantastic team here who enjoy seeing our guests have a great time. We work hard to keep NO.4 appealing, we like to think we have the best of both worlds with our traditional interior and also our outside areas which... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tucked away of Papanui Rd this is a delight to visit and either eat, socialise or have a meal. Its old age charm and friendly staff, plus good food make it a must visit place when in Christchurch

Helpful?
Thank Lord_Jones1
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this review

Hi Lord_Jones1, Great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us, our Chef's take huge pride in what they deliver to our guests and love to hear your thoughts. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Christchurch! Kind Regards, More 

Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Expensive for what you get. Lots of food on the platter was bordeline tasteless. Pate was good as was chicken. Cocktails not great. Could imagine having a beer outside in the summer.

Helpful?
Thank JoCorkery
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this review

Hello JoCorkery, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, glad you enjoyed the Pate' as it's made in house, we always endeavor to ensure all our produce is locally sourced and support the surrounding area. Sitting outside at No.4 having a beer listening to some live music on a sunny Sunday afternoon is bliss, be great... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
344 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friday afternoon is a busy time, but we had made sure we had an area on the deck big enough to accommodate 15 or 16 people. A couple of "The Planks", extra bread, fries and the dumplings were ordered along with bottles of the Thatched Hut Sauvignon , a couple of bottles of Da Luca, and the ever popular Monteiths... More 

Helpful?
Thank Buckoinchch
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this review

Hi Buckoinchch, Glad your hear you and your team enjoyed your visit, the Planks are great for groups to pick at while catching up or talking shop. Look forward to seeing you all down here again soon! More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A wonderful setting, the menu is not extensive and it is very expensive. Three of us were dining, one had duck and two the lamb. Beautifully presented food, the lamb was slightly salty but the staff were wonderful with our (minor)complaint. The duck was 10 out of 10

Helpful?
Thank Anne0705
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this review

Hello Anne0705, Thank you for the review, great comments about the staff and the Confit Duck, we always ensure we get the best quality produce we can find and hope that reflects on the plate. More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Met friends for lunch seeking a quiet spot after all the noise in Aikmans Road We were shown to a private table by the window . the place was quiet. I ordered the pie of the day which we were told was a Mussaman curry pie. It was delicious. It came with 4 very chunky very nice chips and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rodney G
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this review

Hello Rodney G, Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, the chunky chips are a big weakness of mine! More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

It is great to visit a restaurant after a number of years (overseas) and find it has remained as you expect it would. We had booked an early table for dinner and the spring weather had brought out the bustling crowd of evening drinkers but the restaurant was quiet, pleasantly so for me. We were provided with a separate GF... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this review

Hi Pauline B, Great review, thank you, we have worked very hard on the food and it's nice to know you enjoyed it, the Chefs do cook a mean steak here, the best around I would say :). More 

brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

Booked a table for 4 on a recent visit. The bar is Monteiths and very popular. Staff were perfect, food was lovely. I had fish which was local and very fresh. Quite expensive, but well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank australia4169
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this review

Hi australia4169, Thank you for your review, great to here you were well looked after by our staff, they are lovely bunch who take pride in what they do, we hope to see you again. More 

Travellers who viewed No.4 also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to No.4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, New Zealand, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
10:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 00:00
Thursday
10:00 - 01:00
Friday
10:00 - 01:00
Saturday
09:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 Mansfield Avenue | Merivale, Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-355 3720

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from No.4 staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?