We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Craic Irish Bar

$$ - $$$
New Zealand, Irish, Bar, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
84B Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
+64 3-343 5367
Website
Today
10:00 - 03:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 03:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was lovely to find that my non- Pakeha friend was pulled away for passively being part of our calm group and our sober driver for being "too drunk". Nothing against the bar staff who were fantastic but it was a surprise to find someone doing nothing at all kicked out of your bar by one of your bouncers for... More 

Helpful?
Thank michaelaj454
Naomi F, Owner at The Craic Irish Bar, responded to this review

Hello michaelaj454 We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. We have investigated your claim with the security company that we contract to do our security at The Craic. The supervisor that night recalls the incident but contrary to your claim, your friend was assessed as being intoxicated and was asked to leave for that reason. The assessment tools... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The Craic Irish Bar is a bit of old Ireland, with old wood paneling, Irish accents from the sweet barmaids, and a friendly crowd. Food is simple but delicious. Music is always interesting and is centrally located in Riccarton, not far from Riccarton mall.

Helpful?
Thank nevslife
Naomi F, Owner at The Craic Irish Bar, responded to this review

Hello nevslife Thank you for review. We are delighted you enjoy great craic at The Craic. Marty and I absolutely love this little pub's and set out to create that Irish feel of being welcoming and offering great hospitality. We have live music five times a week plus a quiz evening We look forward to seeing you again Slainte More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We called in here with friends for a nightcap after our dinner. The bar was extremely quiet, which, we were told, it often is on a Monday evening. This suited us very well. There are various activities and attractions such as quiz nights, karaoke, etc, through the week. Sadly we have only been able to visit this bar on one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pepster56
Naomi F, Owner at The Craic Irish Bar, responded to this review

Hello Pepster56 Thank you for visiting us on Monday, yes it is usually quiet on a Monday but we are delighted you enjoyed great hospitality with Millan and Larissa serving you. We would love to host you again soon, or if you are travelling safe travels Slainte More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

If you would like to waste your money it is probably the best place to go. Poached eggs served with water,two small pieces of bacon and 1$ bread from pack n save

Helpful?
Thank S V
Naomi F, Owner at The Craic Irish Bar, responded to this review

Hi SV We are disappointed your poached eggs were not up to our usual standards. The price of $8 for two eggs on toast, choice of bacon or sausage is value for money leaving lots of money for a beverage on the side. Did you discuss this with the person in charge at the time as we would have rectified... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2017

If you are looking for a great place to eat which serves huge meals, this is the place. Free parking outside in the evening otherwise metered parking. Great steak, chicken and fish meals as well as others on the menu. Can get toasties and chips but be warned you get enough food for two people unless you havent eaten for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyer34
Naomi F, Owner at The Craic Irish Bar, responded to this review

Hello Frequentflyer 34 Thank you for reviewing The Craic. We are delighted you enjoyed your meals. There is also free carparking out the back, much easier at night time. We are also close to the bus station in case you want an extra tipple with your food. Our food is great pub grub and we look forward to hosting you... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
324 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017

My Pie Peas Spud meal was very disappointing with 4 tiny pieces of meat, very salty gravy and way too much chunky pepper in the potato. Only the outside edges were warm with the insides not heated at all. Near inedible. I often seek out Irish bars for meals but the offering here was poor. Food service at 7 pm... More 

Helpful?
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
Naomi F, Owner at The Craic Irish Bar, responded to this review

Hi Keen Photographer 11 I am sorry you had a disappointing meal - we will certainly improve next time you visit. Our pies are usually well received, so take your comments on board We want you to return to The Craic, so please do come back - you won't be disappointed Slainte More 

1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Food was cooked by bar staff , we were not told there was not a chef on duty ,, Food was disgusting the meals were cold , chips half cooked , steak was off ,, burger patty was dry ,, the best thing on the table was a basket of wedges n sour cream ,, the staff were friendly ,... More 

Helpful?
Thank penny j
Naomi F, Owner at The Craic Irish Bar, responded to this review

Hi Penny j We are sorry you were disappointed with your meals. We have completed a refurbishment and have a new menu with new cooks. Our food is fresh but take your comments on board seriously and will improve immediately We would like you to contact the writer at The Craic by phone Slainte The Craic Irish Bar More 

Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

Left the food on my plate, the eggs were dirty and sloppy. The chips under cooked and hard. Physically could not eat it. The service was extremely rude and sarcastic. A photo says 1000 words, so I've added a couple photos to show how shocking it was.

Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle2535
Naomi F, Owner at The Craic Irish Bar, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, Can you please contact the writer at The Craic ph 3434657. We would like to know who served this meal, what day did you come in. We will certainly look into this and rectify our service immediately More 

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Craic should be renamed quake, very devastating. A calm moment turned into turmoil by an agressive bouncer throwing out my partner for no reason ( assume he objected to his shaved head). Thrown out the door and kicked and punched. My partner had just had an operation and was defenseless against the monkey on the door. No explanation.

Helpful?
Thank Krustygollum
Naomi F, Owner at The Craic Irish Bar, responded to this review

Hello Krustygollum I am disappointed you didnt enjoy your experience at the greatest little pub in Riccarton, Christchurch, New Zealand. I would ask you to contact us at 03 3435367 and ask to speak to the Owner Marty or Naomi. We would dearly like to know when this happened and who the Bouncer was. We place our business in the... More 

Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

Bouncers were terrible, extremely rude and unhelpful and should be ashamed of the service they provide. As a Christchurch local I am never coming here again, I hope it doesn't send a precedent for service in the wider Christchurch region.

Helpful?
Thank Michael F
Naomi F, Owner at The Craic Irish Bar, responded to this review

Hi there I am so sorry you were disappointed with our Security at The Craic Irish Bar. We have had a discussion with Security and have had a change of management, and we can assure you - you will be the most welcomed at the Craic Irish Bar - the greatest little bar in Christchurch More 

Travellers who viewed The Craic Irish Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Craic Irish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$17
Cuisine
New Zealand, Irish, Bar, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Digital Payments, Delivery
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 03:00
Monday
10:00 - 03:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 03:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 03:00
Thursday
10:00 - 03:00
Friday
10:00 - 03:00
Saturday
10:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 84B Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-343 5367
Description
Craic Irish Bar is the greatest little pub in Riccarton, Christchurch. Home of the legendary Wednesday Karaoke nights where all the locals go and sing their songs on the dance floor. We offer entertainment six nights a week including the NEW Speed Quiz, Karefolkie, Karaoke, live bands and Quiz nights We serve up lashings of Irish fare with genuine Guinness, the greatest of beers and wines, spirts and splits. Go where the Irish and locals drink - you will be delighted Slainte

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Craic Irish Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?