We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

50 Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
+64 3-371 0250
Website
Today
06:30 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 06:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 156: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016

We were here for breakfast. We had both a la carte food and from the buffet. Started with the groper mash, it was ok, nothing special. The hot buffet foods looked like they had been sitting around for hours, and tasted like it. The continental food selection was poorly presented and not attractive. Service was good. White leather chairs looked... More 

Helpful?
Thank classicchch
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this review

Dear classicchch We are pleased to receive your positive comment regarding the service you received at breakfast recently, however we are very sorry that your overall experience did not meet with your satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2016

Nice dining area, with a pleasant outlook. We were there as a group for lunch. the service was good and the food very tasty. There was a special which included a soup and a choice from the light meals. I chose the lamb shank. Well presented and reasonable value.

Helpful?
Thank philippagoile
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this review

Dear philippagoile We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent dining experience in 50 Bistro. Our ‘Nifty 50’ menu is a particular favourite for our lunch guests and we are pleased to hear your appreciation of your meals, the service and value you received. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016

Waitress was shy and difficult to communicate with and didn't seem to understand simple requests which made it difficult to resolve things. None of our meals had sauce which was very strange and dry. Groper was as dry as a bone with a dry crumble, warm salad and caesar salad also almost no moisture at all. And the side of... More 

Helpful?
Thank AngeO67
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Ange067 Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Although you found the environment pleasant we are very sorry to hear that your recent visit to 50 Bistro did not meet your expectations in terms of the quality of your meals and the service you received. We certainly appreciate and have taken your comments on board and... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2016

Amazing food, and excellent service. Came out feeling entirely satisfied. The starters were amazing as were the desserts.

Helpful?
Thank Alsipan
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Alsipan We are delighted your recent dining experience in 50 Bistro was an enjoyable one and that both the food and the service met with your satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

chch
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Hubby thought he booked for Pescatore for my birthday but it was closed. The staff and in particular the waiter made up for the initial disappointment. The food was delicious and they provided some sorbet and petite dish to be a bit like the other restaurant. Many thanks to the staff again for the extra effort and at the end... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this review

Dear michelleaChch We are very pleased to hear that despite Pescatore not being open on the day you wanted to dine, your dining experience in 50 Bistro to celebrate your birthday more than made up for your disappointment and was such a memorable one, hopefully exceeding all your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2016

50 Bistro makes food fun. Their creative take on dishes and genuinely warm, friendly staff makes for a thoroughly enjoyable evening!

Helpful?
Thank Jess L
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Jess L We are thrilled you enjoyed such a pleasant dining experience with us recently and that you appreciated not only the dishes you ordered but the genuineness and warmth of the service from our team. We hope we might welcome you back on a future occasion. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Kind regards... More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2016

This was our first visit to 50 Bistro. The food was excellent the wait staff were a delight they could not do enough for us. The wine matched our food perfectly. A great place to have a celebration.

Helpful?
Thank Martin H
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Martin H We are delighted you chose to celebrate a special occasion in 50 Bistro and that your entire dining experience was such an enjoyable one. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

christchurch
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2016

I've been a number of times and the food/service are variable. Sometimes the food is excellent, which is why I return, but I've also had below average food. I'd not recommend any of the soups but the aged beef ($38)is usually great.

Helpful?
Thank quietisnice
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this review

Dear quietisnice It is always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests to 50 Bistro and while we are pleased to hear you enjoy the aged beef from our grill menu we are sorry that on occasion your meals have not met with your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2016

This was my second visit for lunch. Food and service very good despite waitress being trained. Only gripe is that on both occasions there have only been a few diners, making it seem quiet and sterile. The restaurant still offers quite a good value 2 course lunch when you are short of time.

Helpful?
Thank 435adeler
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this review

Dear 435adeler Thank you for choosing to return to 50 Bistro for lunch recently. It is pleasing to hear that the food and service met with your expectations. It is disappointing however you feel the restaurant lacks ambiance but we are pleased that overall you felt you received good value for your experience. Thank you for taking the time to... More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2016

The food was very good and tasty. I had a steak which was cooked perfectly to medium. My wife had the spaghetti bolognese which tasted terrific. The wait staff recommended that course. The recommended wine was very good as well. Overall a very nice evening with good food and wine

Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Douglas M We are delighted you and your wife enjoyed a pleasant dining experience with us recently and that your meals, the wines recommended to you and the service from our team were all to your satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Travellers who viewed 50 Bistro also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to 50 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$16 - US$40
Cuisine
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
06:30 - 22:00
Monday
06:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
06:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
06:30 - 22:00
Thursday
06:30 - 22:00
Friday
06:30 - 22:00
Saturday
06:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-371 0250
Description
Relaxed dining with inspired bistro fare 50 Bistro offers inspired bistro food with modern flavours, excellent wines and a great bar. The menu offers a large variety of dishes featuring classic’s twisted with our own 50 flair. Executive Chef, Andrew Brown, leads the kitchen team designing seasonal menus using the best local produce. The stylish interior flows out to a generous outdoor area, complete with fire tables that reflect the warm hues of the orange onyx wall inside, making 50 Bistro the perfect place to meet any time of the day for coffee, cocktails and bar snacks or a meal. With windows overlooking Hagley Park, breakfast in 50 Bistro is the ideal spot to start any day. Lunchtime brings with it a buzzy vibe offering great versatility and value with a selection of light meals and salads in addition to entrées and grills and desserts. Evenings bring heartier comfort dishes and a warm ambience, perfect for relaxing with friends.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 50 Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?