We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sequoia Restaurant

340 Main North Rd, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
+64 3-352 9165
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good25%
  • Average24%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (13 reviews)
“meringue” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
340 Main North Rd, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Tell me where else in Christchurch you will find such a HUGE range on offer? Seriously this place is fantastic value for money. We arrived and it was busy. The line was to the door but you could see by the experienced staff that this...More

1  Thank Darryl-Jo
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at Sequoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for choosing to come to Sequoia. We appreciate you.

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 1 January 2017

My family and i went for dinner here,we had'nt made a booking but the front desk staff were great and found us a place, even though we had a pushchair and a wheelchair. Excellent value for money, food was very good and the service was...More

3  Thank John S
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at Sequoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 5 September 2017

Buffet for dinner. Great choices. Value for money. Pity they didn't do buffet breakfasts during the week as they only do them at weekends.

1  Thank Harrilyn
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We went to Sequoia 88 for my daughters birthday tonight. Every plate of food the three of us tried was terrible. The asian food was bland tasted like packet food. I tried the roast veges, the potatoes were dry and the peas were shrivelled up....More

Thank RhythEmz G
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at Sequoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Seems like nothing was okay for you! We work hard to have our customers leave after a beautiful meal in a friendly relaxed environment. We are sorry your experience was disappointing.

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

went out for dinner with 3 friends, my 2 children plus another baby. One of my children is very young and still in a capsule carseat. When the waitress escorted us to our table which was beside a pillar she realised the baby would need...More

2  Thank Kourtney M
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This is a restaurant to suit all tastes as their buffet has roasts, fish, salads, soup, cold meat, fish and chips Asian foods deep fried foods etc and a lovely selection of desserts as well. It has live music to listen too while eating, and...More

2  Thank onawinner2016
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at Sequoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for being our guest.

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

There was 9 of us wanting different meals so decided to go for a buffet meal everybody was happy as there was a good choice for everyone from seafood,roast,salad and my fav sweet and sour with fried rice and more the desserts were good and...More

1  Thank wanderingalong12
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at Sequoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you. We see variety of choice and taking care of the needs of each person in a group as a strength. So pleased you enjoyed your experience.

Reviewed 2 June 2017

so we went to sequoia 88 lastnight because we got told they had changed there menu and got a new chef.even then it was so disgusting we couldnt eat because nothing at all there was nice it was cold,yuck and the desserts were the same..so...More

Thank Keita H
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at Sequoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Disappointed that you found nothing you liked. Very unusual to find someone who couldn't find some food they love at Sequoia. We have an enormous range of dishes. Hot ham, roast beef, salmon and other seafood, many Asian dishes, lots of salads and roast vegetables...More

Reviewed 23 May 2017

This is the first restaurant we've visited when we arrived in Christchurch. The buffet dinner was delicious with lots of variety. The staff were friendly and helpful. Service was great and we had a wonderful time there.

1  Thank arngyc
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at Sequoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thanks for dining with us and for the review.

Reviewed 16 May 2017

Smorgasbords tend to lean towards quantity rather than quality. With that in mind - stuff yourself! I haven't met a good food smorgasbord but not met any really bad ones either.

2  Thank CaptainCompass
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Coasters Tavern Redwood
52 reviews
.44 km away
Redwood Souvlaki
8 reviews
.15 km away
Curry Time Indian Restaurant
45 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
Willowbank Wildlife Reserve
785 reviews
2.20 km away
Groynes
53 reviews
2.46 km away
Northlands Mall
24 reviews
2.32 km away
Styx Mill Conservation Reserve
13 reviews
1.85 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kezzy B
22 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Sammy G | Property representative |
Hi there, yes we sure do. For functions, please pop into reception anytime for a free info pack, or give us a call on 033529165. Thanks
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19 - US$23
Cuisine
New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 340 Main North Rd, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-352 9165
  • E-mail
Description
A buffet restaurant, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Huge array of dishes. Ideal for groups. Appeals to all generations. Child friendly. Recently refurbished restaurant. Full bar service.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing