We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Vicarage Cafe, Restaurant & Bar

335 Halswell Road | Halswell, Christchurch 8025, New Zealand
+64 3-322 1224
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good32%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
335 Halswell Road | Halswell, Christchurch 8025, New Zealand
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely dinner this evening. We didn't book but were lucky enough to get a table for two in the Sun Room. We ordered the garlic loaf which started the evening off very nicely! Both of us had the chicken...More

Thank GruntaNZ
Reviewed 3 days ago

It has been a while since we have been for a meal but after last Friday it won't be so long next time. We had a fabulous meal starting with the garlic focaccia loaf , then the two vegetarian mains which we shared and finished...More

Thank 99Kris
Reviewed 1 week ago

For our 49th. Wedding Anniversary, we went back for a second visit back at the Old Vicarage and it was even better than the first time. It's a very busy place on Thursday nights but great staff lead by Kelly did so well despite the...More

Thank DONALDJOHN77
cjp72, Owner at The Old Vicarage Cafe, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

You're welcome! Thank you for visiting.

Reviewed 1 week ago

While a bit out of the way, well worth trip. The dining space in the house is very well done, with great themes throughout the rooms. Food was very good....well presented, and great taste. Wine list was very nice, and service was to standard.

Thank Tofino L
cjp72, Owner at The Old Vicarage Cafe, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for making a trip out of your way to come see us.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I love the Vicerage always have and always will - i did cheat on them for a while with white house black - and i thought the competition would be good - however they never let me down and i am terribly sorry i ever...More

Thank Hells_ak
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for lunch, six people, all felt the same . 4 different meals ordered. All vey bland tasteless food. Poor pub food at best. Lack of sauces and decent salads. Very underwhelming. Would not recommend for the food. Nice atmosphere and good service but very...More

Thank oneill42017
cjp72, Owner at The Old Vicarage Cafe, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your feedback and of course I'm sorry that you were underwhelmed by the meals you were served when you visited recently. We understand that the success of our business is directly connected to the quality of the product we offer so...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow, let's start by saying this my first impressions of the starters and mains, I was treated to crispy belly pork for starters, and for mains a succulent ribeye steak with bernaise sauce, a taste sensation to say the least, I'm so glad we chose...More

Thank almerfud
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Underwhelming lunch not much more to add except won't be back On the upside service was good What a shame as suggested this over another restaurant close by

Thank Lisa S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful venue with excellent service provided throughout. Perfect ambiance even with a private function taking place in the room next to us. Service was fast and the food was very tasty and presented very well. Sweet potato croquettes with a wonderful, sweet jalapeño chutney, pork...More

Thank Lee_A_B_1976
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We came here for a family meal with our kids and ate really well. It's a great setting, good bar, great food. Definitely worth having on the list - provided you have a car to get you there.

Thank barneyinkaz
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bicycle Thief
80 reviews
3.24 km away
Joe's Garage
87 reviews
3.21 km away
Mexicali Fresh Wigram
23 reviews
3.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
TranzAlpine Train
2,245 reviews
5.48 km away
Temple Basin Ski Area
10 reviews
5.42 km away
Air Force Museum
572 reviews
4.09 km away
Coastal Pacific Train
239 reviews
5.48 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
patann2016
What is on the lunch menu please
16 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from retep42 | Reviewed this property |
Their web site includes the lunch menu which has all the usual options as well as a kids selection. Prices for lunch are quite reasonable too !!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$27
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Wine and Beer
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:30
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 01:00
Saturday
09:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 335 Halswell Road | Halswell, Christchurch 8025, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-322 1224
  • E-mail