We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ballarat Trading Company

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Steakhouse, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7 The Terrace | The Mall, Queenstown, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
03 442 4222
Today
08:00 - 02:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 08:00 - 02:30
Tue - Sun 08:00 - 04:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 575: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Arrived for a late breakfast around 10am and ordered our drinks and food at about 10:10 with a warning that the food might take 25 minutes. Not a problem really. We then proceeded to wait and watch other groups that had arrived after we had ordered receive their food and after 50 minutes enquires why ours hadn't arrived. The waitress... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt H
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went in for breakfast just before New Year. We waited to be seated while staff passed us several times and didn't acknowledge us, while trying to work out an error with another table. We were about to leave when someone came to us and gave us a table. We ordered straight away. Those who came in after us, received their... More 

Helpful?
Thank muriel143
Tracy P, General Manager at The Ballarat Trading Company, responded to this review

Hi Muriel143, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have investigated into this to ensure this does not happen again and can only apologise for your experience. We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and quality produce in a relaxed homely atmosphere at The Ballarat Trading Co and would love to welcome you back please feel free to contact me... More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely atmosphere but was a bit disappointed in the service. The staff were so intent on asking everyone to put up a revue on trip advisor that they skimped on service. The dip was so hot i couldn't eat it. The scallops were first class though and absolutely delicious :)

Helpful?
Thank JuliaMilley
Tracy P, General Manager at The Ballarat Trading Company, responded to this review

Hi Julia Milley, Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and we appreciate your valuable feedback. We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and quality produce in a relaxed homely atmosphere at The Ballarat Trading Co. I am glad you enjoyed the scallops one of my favourite entrées and I am disappointed to hear about... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The smashed avo was cold and hard. It tasted like it had been prepared earlier and thrown in the fridge. I would prefer not to eat cold and unloved chunks of tough avo. Very unappealing and unpleasant to eat. Additionally, the toast was dry and stale. The butter was rock hard. The eggs were poached nicely. I also ordered a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brendosaurus
Tracy P, General Manager at The Ballarat Trading Company, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback which we have passed on to the chef. I am sorry you did not enjoy the taste quality of the smashed avocado breakfast as we always have great feedback on this popular breakfast dish. We do not do freshly squeezed orange juice nor dose it state this in our drinks menu and can only... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I only stopped for wine , but the service was excellent and the atmosphere fantastic. Sit outside in the street to watch all the excited people about there travels and the view of the lake.

Helpful?
Thank sueminor
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
227 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

located in the area called the mall near the lake , it's near stores, and restaurants. The inside is dark with wood trim that gives you the man's club feel from the early 1900's. The food was very good, and the service was great. Nikki J was always smiling, and very accommodating.

Helpful?
Thank scott a
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently had a meal here. The food was pretty average and slightly overpriced, however the service we received was excellent. Thanks to Nikki J for being so attentive, friendly and doing so with a big smile!

Helpful?
Thank fLIPPINm3NTAL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have spent a week in Queenstown and Loved this place the food was excellent we ate at least 1 meal here everyday. The staff are amazing and Kristy, Beth, Julie,and Lorna made us so welcome and part of the family. Loved the place Well done to all the staff here amazing

Helpful?
Thank Bestabuddy
HULL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ate at the Ballarat for breakfast on our first day and ate there every day after that. Great atmosphere, good quality food at reasonable prices and very friendly staff to make us feel at home and welcome. A big thank you to Beth, Julie, Lorna and Kirsty.

Helpful?
Thank NJCHull
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great value breakfast. Had a smoked salmon bagel which was great - very good smoked salmon and tasty cream cheese. My wife had poached eggs that were really well done and service was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Trev_2810

Travellers who viewed The Ballarat Trading Company also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Ballarat Trading Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$29
Cuisine
Steakhouse, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 04:00
Monday
08:00 - 02:30
Tuesday
08:00 - 04:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 04:00
Thursday
08:00 - 04:00
Friday
08:00 - 04:00
Saturday
08:00 - 04:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 The Terrace | The Mall, Queenstown, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Queenstown
  • Phone Number: 03 442 4222
Description
A friendly pub for both tourists and locals alike, situated in the heart of Queenstown. Our aim is to have really good simple food and great service, in a welcoming environment

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Ballarat Trading Company staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?